Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Technical Chat

Notices

Wiring garage door opener as control panel button

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2013, 08:07 AM   #1
dinki [OP] dinki is offline
Junior Member
dinki is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2013, #101620
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
dinki's Tacoma Gallery
Wiring garage door opener as control panel button

I hope this is the right place to put this.

I just purchased a 2013 Tacoma Prerunner and I am loving it. I'd like to modify my Clicker brand garage door opener remote



to a switch on the control panel. The idea is I press the new button I'm adding which sends the signal to the garage door remote and the door opens and I don't have to see the ugly remote. I'm familiar with electronics so what I plan to do is solder some leads onto the contact pad for the opener and run the wires to a switch that will be located in an empty button spot on the control panel. I'd then tuck the opener under the dash somewhere.

Can someone tell me what the easiest place is to add the button? I'd prefer not tearing the dash board apart. I'm thinking near the anti-skid/traction button on the left side of the steering wheel would be a good spot?

Does anyone know if I can purchase a push button that would look stock? I'm guessing they make replacement parts that could be popped into place?

Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 08:22 AM   #2
SoCal Tacomas
Jerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Jerez's Avatar
Name: Roderick
Joined: Feb 2010, #30488
Location: Ontario/Chino Area (CALI)
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,943
Jerez's Tacoma Gallery
Idk where to purchase a button that looks stock but awesome idea/mod
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 08:46 AM   #3
dinki [OP] dinki is offline
Junior Member
dinki is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2013, #101620
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
dinki's Tacoma Gallery
I did a bit more research and it seems like you can pop out the switch blanks above the coin tray by pushing them out from the back. I'm pretty sure the opener will fit in the coin tray so I could 'mount' it there.

I'm thinking of adding a little headphone jack type plug to the opener with the leads off the jack connecting to the contacts of the opener. Then I'd just have to wire a male headphone wire plug to the switch so I can easily disconnect to change the battery from time-to-time.

I just need to find a stock momentary switch to fit in the control panel and I'd be set. Anyone know where to buy one?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 08:46 AM   #4
Somebody call for a Wambulance?
Mitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Mitch's Avatar
EMS: Paramedic
Name: Mitch
Joined: Jun 2011, #58964
Location: Tigard, OR
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,454
Mitch's Tacoma Gallery
You could just wire up a universal home link sender. Its been done. I believe its in the easy mod thread
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 08:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
CIAGDDS is a jewel in the roughCIAGDDS is a jewel in the roughCIAGDDS is a jewel in the roughCIAGDDS is a jewel in the rough
Joined: Aug 2012, #85649
Location: Corona, Ca.
Gender: Male
Posts: 131
CIAGDDS's Tacoma Gallery
I have done both methods (Homelink and wiring a remote to a switch). The switch method works better in my opinion. The Homelink always seemed to have a delay and didn't seem to work as far.

Here is my current setup. I wired it to the rocker switch that says Trunk Monkey. It is a regular rocker switch from OTRATTW.com but they also have momentary switches.

  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 09:09 AM   #6
dinki [OP] dinki is offline
Junior Member
dinki is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2013, #101620
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
dinki's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch View Post
You could just wire up a universal home link sender. Its been done. I believe its in the easy mod thread
I'm not familiar with home link sender but I do have just about all the parts I need for doing it this way. Thanks for the information.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CIAGDDS View Post
I have done both methods (Homelink and wiring a remote to a switch). The switch method works better in my opinion. The Homelink always seemed to have a delay and didn't seem to work as far.

Here is my current setup. I wired it to the rocker switch that says Trunk Monkey. It is a regular rocker switch from OTRATTW.com but they also have momentary switches.
Thanks for the information and the link to OTRATTW.com ... I poked around a bit and think that http://www.otrattw.com/proddetail.ph...S001-1ZZ00-000 might be what I need.

Can you tell me if all switches listed on ORTRATTW.com will fit the Tacoma dash? The one I'm looking at is in the Carling Tech Contura X and XI series.

Did you tie the led output from the opener to your lighted switch so that it lights up when you press the button? Can the opener supply enough power to light the LED on your rocker? If so, I might go that route.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 09:14 AM   #7
Senior Member
CIAGDDS is a jewel in the roughCIAGDDS is a jewel in the roughCIAGDDS is a jewel in the roughCIAGDDS is a jewel in the rough
Joined: Aug 2012, #85649
Location: Corona, Ca.
Gender: Male
Posts: 131
CIAGDDS's Tacoma Gallery
I know the Contura V switches fit you just have to do a little trimming with a razor blade. I think there are some threads on here about it. My switches are hooked up to my dash lights so when I turn on the headlights the switches light up. I'm not sure if the remote will power the led.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 10:36 AM   #8
Somebody call for a Wambulance?
Mitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Mitch's Avatar
EMS: Paramedic
Name: Mitch
Joined: Jun 2011, #58964
Location: Tigard, OR
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,454
Mitch's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by CIAGDDS View Post
I have done both methods (Homelink and wiring a remote to a switch). The switch method works better in my opinion. The Homelink always seemed to have a delay and didn't seem to work as far.

Here is my current setup. I wired it to the rocker switch that says Trunk Monkey. It is a regular rocker switch from OTRATTW.com but they also have momentary switches.

Do you have a write up of how you wired that?

Also did you change the LEDs to white?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
CIAGDDS is a jewel in the roughCIAGDDS is a jewel in the roughCIAGDDS is a jewel in the roughCIAGDDS is a jewel in the rough
Joined: Aug 2012, #85649
Location: Corona, Ca.
Gender: Male
Posts: 131
CIAGDDS's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch View Post
Do you have a write up of how you wired that?

Also did you change the LEDs to white?
Yes, I changed them to white. I don't have a write up, but there are tons of them on google. All you are doing is bypassing the switch on the remote with your own, you just need two wires and a switch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:50 PM   #10
Somebody call for a Wambulance?
Mitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shedMitch is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Mitch's Avatar
EMS: Paramedic
Name: Mitch
Joined: Jun 2011, #58964
Location: Tigard, OR
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,454
Mitch's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by CIAGDDS View Post
Yes, I changed them to white. I don't have a write up, but there are tons of them on google. All you are doing is bypassing the switch on the remote with your own, you just need two wires and a switch.
Sweet. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:04 PM   #11
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
The idea works.
I did the same thing with a small button hidden under the lip of my motorcycle fairing. Velcro'd the remote to the inside, remove one of the speakers to change the battery.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage door opener works for gate but not for garage. Suggestions? 2013baja 2nd Gen. Tacomas 6 04-09-2013 11:43 AM
Garage Door Opener ImpulseRed008 Garage / Workshop 15 10-31-2011 05:03 AM
garage door opener audi2000 2nd Gen. Tacomas 6 06-24-2009 02:55 PM
Garage door opener help??? off road yota Off-Topic Discussion 3 04-10-2009 06:15 PM
Garage Door Opener ProtoJ 2nd Gen. Tacomas 21 01-30-2009 08:21 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.