Notices

Dual Battery set up

Old 07-14-2014, 07:37 AM   #1
yeah...im a newbie
Andrew K is on a distinguished road

Name: Andrew
Andrew K's Tacoma Gallery
Dual Battery set up

anyone on here have a dual battery set up?

im brainstorming about having a second battery to assist with accessories for those long nights on the beach, with out having to worry about killing my main battery.

I have been on several boats that have a selector switch that allows the captain to switch between batteries (to advoid draining both), but also allows them to be able to charge both at the same time.

so ideally i would be able to drive up to Assateague, having both batteries charging off the alternator while driving, then hit the beach and once im settled in my spot, change the switch to the aux battery for accessories, lights, chargers, etc.
Old 07-14-2014, 10:00 AM   #2
yeah...im a newbie

before posting i searched and couldn't find much on this topic, then after i posted, i saw the similiar threads at the bottom. lots of good info. sounds like to me using an isolater is better than the selector switch ive seen on the boats? anyone with any thoughts?

also does anyone have a diagram that shows the connectivity?
Old 07-14-2014, 10:34 AM   #3
RND2 is on a distinguished road

RND2's Tacoma Gallery
I would have to look around and see if I can find my old drawings but its super easy. Theres plenty of kits on the market pre maid but tend to be pricey and can be made for the fraction of the cost. Mine was used for the winch mainly but could be swithed to use either batteries or both at the same time
Old 07-14-2014, 10:36 AM   #4