Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Technical Chat

Notices

Trany temp guage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2009, 08:23 PM   #1
qwert [OP] qwert is offline
Junior Member
qwert is on a distinguished road
Joined: May 2009, #17870
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
qwert's Tacoma Gallery
Trany temp guage

Can anyone tell me if there is a port on the 09 Taco TRD trany for an add-on temp guage?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 02:48 AM   #2
DDD DDD is offline
Shine bright like a hymen
DDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
DDD's Avatar
Name: Derek
Joined: Mar 2009, #14416
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Age: 92
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,342
DDD's Tacoma Gallery
The automatic transmission has a temperature sensor. I believe it is just connected to the computer. It probably won't work with an off the shelf gauge.
Look at this.

If I really wanted to add a temp gauge to monitor the fluid's temp. I would add it to the inlet hose on the trans cooler. Its just a rubber hose, you should be able cut it and splice in a sending unit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 03:02 AM   #4
DDD DDD is offline
Shine bright like a hymen
DDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
DDD's Avatar
Name: Derek
Joined: Mar 2009, #14416
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Age: 92
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,342
DDD's Tacoma Gallery
After reading this it may be possible to use the existing trans temp sensor and connect it to a Auto meter gauge.

Someone smarter than me needs to read that PDF and find out if the resistance on the stock sensor is the same as an "off the shelf gauge". It looks like the stock sensor sending unit has a resistance between 79k ohms and 156k ohms.

But, I agree with Anathollo. If it is that important to you, just get a Scangauge. TW member 3n1 still sells them for $150 shipped.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 03:27 AM   #5
Old & Forgetful
Janster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Janster's Avatar
Name: Jandy
Joined: Mar 2007, #1138
Location: Lancaster, PA
Age: 46
Gender: Female
Posts: 12,769
Janster's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anathollo View Post
Yep, I spliced into the rubber hose to run my autometer trans temp gauge. It would be cheaper in the long run to just buy a scangauge 2 and have it read the trans temp for you. There's an old group buy for them and you can still get them for a 150$ shipped which is cheap!
The Scangauge does not read trans temps. The company has not been able to get cooperation from Toyota to allow them to access the computer to get that information. I've been wanting this feature ever since I bought my Scangauge 2 years ago. It's like they gave up trying ....
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 04:47 PM   #6
Member
salsataco is on a distinguished road
Joined: May 2009, #16707
Gender: Male
Posts: 53
salsataco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anathollo View Post
Yep, I spliced into the rubber hose to run my autometer trans temp gauge. It would be cheaper in the long run to just buy a scangauge 2 and have it read the trans temp for you. There's an old group buy for them and you can still get them for a 150$ shipped which is cheap!

Any chance we could see pics and get part #'s?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 10:57 PM   #7
DDD DDD is offline
Shine bright like a hymen
DDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
DDD's Avatar
Name: Derek
Joined: Mar 2009, #14416
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Age: 92
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,342
DDD's Tacoma Gallery
On second thought, a sending unit needs to be grounded. Connecting it in-line with a rubber hose would not give you a ground.

I think your best solution would be to cut the steel lines that carry the fluid to the cooler. Then add a fitting such as the one pictured below.

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp Guage help BlueTaco07 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 01-16-2011 03:16 PM
Temp Guage Dancin Around Famouskmksrh26 1st Gen. Tacomas 13 04-14-2010 01:10 PM
temp guage bluetaco80 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 03-16-2010 02:48 PM
ATF Temp Guage Wildboar1945 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 03-06-2010 01:09 PM
Temp Guage? MTLTaco 2nd Gen. Tacomas 4 05-17-2009 03:40 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.