Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Technical Chat

Notices

DIY: Wiring after-market lights

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2008, 05:47 PM   #41
rhoppas [OP] rhoppas is offline
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
I am not sure what to tell you except to trace each wire and look for a place that is touching the metal of the truck. Pay special attention to the wires hooked to the positive terminal of the battery. I suspect that one of those is grounding out to the truck metal. If the lights are wired directly to the battery, not using a relay, there aren't that many wires and it might be just as quick to just run new wires. You can waste alot of time tracing wires down. That way you also know it is done right. It is not that hard to do, it just takes a little time (a good Saturday afternoon project).
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 06:40 PM   #42
I love tight cracks
climber-420 is a jewel in the roughclimber-420 is a jewel in the roughclimber-420 is a jewel in the rough
 
climber-420's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2008, #9583
Location: Above the Mile High City
Gender: Male
Posts: 122
climber-420's Tacoma Gallery
thanks for all your help rhoppas. might just be better to take the lights off, and the wiring and put some hella 500's on there with new wiring.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 06:45 PM   #43
Devout Atheist
piercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
piercedtiger's Avatar
Name: Jon
Joined: Oct 2007, #3284
Location: B.F.E., NY
Age: 34
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,228
piercedtiger's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to piercedtiger
Quote:
Originally Posted by climber-420 View Post
thanks for all your help rhoppas. might just be better to take the lights off, and the wiring and put some hella 500's on there with new wiring.
It's always a pain in the ass to figure out someone else's wiring.... I've done it. I hate it. Just rip out all the wires after the the lights, and redo it yourself with new wire, relay(s), and switch. Then you know it's done right.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 07:41 AM   #44
Attack Life.
mpreiss is a jewel in the roughmpreiss is a jewel in the roughmpreiss is a jewel in the rough
 
mpreiss's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2008, #11166
Location: Capon Bridge, WV
Age: 27
Gender: Dude
Posts: 166
mpreiss's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by philly74 View Post
hey ... i got aftermarket halo head lights ... and i can't get them to work ....


when i got them installed they hooked everything up to the signal light...
not what i wanted... the guys are stupid but they are going to fix it for free !!! so i just wanna tell them how to do it... just let me know if u think this is going to work...

as u can see the 3 LEDs are on a series
and i cant get all 3 LEDs to work all at once...
the only way i can get the LEDs to work is if in one of the slots i have a bulb...
the bulb doesn't light up ...
but the 2 LEDs that is in the series will ...
if i try to hook up all 3 LEDs in the series not one will light up ...
now remember the eyebrow light is also hooked up to the the signal light
and it will run a LED or a Bulb ...
so the way i see it right now is
the Signal light can run 3 LED's at once
but not in a series ...

so what i was thinking of doing was to cut the wires in the series and have each LED slot on its own !!!

i got 3 orange or amber LEDs so i would like to keep the 3 LEDs hook up to the signal light ... put the halos on there own power supply with the eyebrow light

this should work no??? or any ideas???

Hey Philly74- is that how all those types of halos are made or were yours just messed up? And did you get them all working good now.?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 08:57 AM   #45
Member
Troubletoo is on a distinguished road
Navy: HM2
Joined: Mar 2009, #14996
Location: Houston
Gender: Male
Posts: 39
Troubletoo's Tacoma Gallery
Hey Philly74, I think that I have the same lights as you but I haven't hook it up yet. Iam still doing some research before going at it. If you have any suggestion or have figure it out, please let me know. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 07:31 PM   #46
Attack Life.
mpreiss is a jewel in the roughmpreiss is a jewel in the roughmpreiss is a jewel in the rough
 
mpreiss's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2008, #11166
Location: Capon Bridge, WV
Age: 27
Gender: Dude
Posts: 166
mpreiss's Tacoma Gallery
i have these lights installed now and mine worked out great. Let me know if i can help you. Check out my pics they should be in there.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 10:24 PM   #47
Member
Troubletoo is on a distinguished road
Navy: HM2
Joined: Mar 2009, #14996
Location: Houston
Gender: Male
Posts: 39
Troubletoo's Tacoma Gallery
Needs Help

Hey mpreiss,
If you can be of any assistant, I would be forever be greatful. I've got these lights for a few days now and I still can't find very much information on how to install them. I can get the lights mounted on my truck with no problems, but it's the wiring that Iam a little hesitant about. Please let me know how you did it, cause I would love to get these on asap. Oh if you have any recomendation on what type of light bubs I should use, cause yours looks pretty bright. Thanks

Vincent
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 04:51 PM   #48
Senior Member
BioMed80 has a brilliant futureBioMed80 has a brilliant futureBioMed80 has a brilliant futureBioMed80 has a brilliant futureBioMed80 has a brilliant futureBioMed80 has a brilliant futureBioMed80 has a brilliant futureBioMed80 has a brilliant futureBioMed80 has a brilliant futureBioMed80 has a brilliant futureBioMed80 has a brilliant future
Joined: Sep 2008, #9176
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 34
Gender: Guy
Posts: 158
BioMed80's Tacoma Gallery
Not sure if this has been posted before, but I've had a heck of a time trying to find it. Here are the wiring posts for the Toyota switch (p/n 00550-35976). They don't come with any instructions. Hope this helps. I found this on a Rav4 site. LOL. I believe the switch will illuminate only when turned on if wired this way.

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 07:15 PM   #50
rhoppas [OP] rhoppas is offline
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
I suppose it could dangle. You would just want to make sure it doesn't make contact with anything to short out the connections. And you would have to make sure that, over time, the wires do not come loose from the relay connectors. i would think you could find someplace to mount it about anywhere....just to be safe.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 11:04 AM   #51
Member
Atron22 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2009, #26341
Location: San Felipe Peublo, New Mexico
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 59
Atron22's Tacoma Gallery
Awesome!!! Thanks, this is what I have been looking for. Step by Step wiring or more clearer directions. Very Very Helpful.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 02:47 PM   #52
Member
Atron22 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2009, #26341
Location: San Felipe Peublo, New Mexico
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 59
Atron22's Tacoma Gallery
why am I blowing te inline fuse? I wired it according to the way you did yours step by step. So why am I blowing the inline fuse?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 03:02 PM   #53
rhoppas [OP] rhoppas is offline
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
You apparently have something different. You probably have something grounded that shouldn't be. Are you using a lighted switch with 3 terminals? You may have the ground hooked to the wrong terminal. Verify which terminal is the ground.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 06:17 AM   #54
Member
Atron22 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2009, #26341
Location: San Felipe Peublo, New Mexico
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 59
Atron22's Tacoma Gallery
Yeah I have a lighted switch with 3 terminals. So verify from the switch and not the relays.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 08:10 PM   #55
Member
Atron22 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2009, #26341
Location: San Felipe Peublo, New Mexico
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 59
Atron22's Tacoma Gallery
Ok. so I wired the lights again and I am still blowing the inline fuse. I am running the Pro Comp 100 lights and the inline fuse that came with the switch kits is using a 30A fuse. would running a different fuse work? How would I bypass the relay and run it straight from the battery?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 08:23 PM   #56
rhoppas [OP] rhoppas is offline
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atron22 View Post
Ok. so I wired the lights again and I am still blowing the inline fuse. I am running the Pro Comp 100 lights and the inline fuse that came with the switch kits is using a 30A fuse. would running a different fuse work? How would I bypass the relay and run it straight from the battery?
PM sent...
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 08:49 PM   #58
Member
Atron22 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2009, #26341
Location: San Felipe Peublo, New Mexico
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 59
Atron22's Tacoma Gallery
Ok the diagram is similar to how i have it wired, except the wiring going to the negative terminal of the battery. Those would be the white wires from the lights, right?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 08:54 PM   #59
Member
Atron22 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2009, #26341
Location: San Felipe Peublo, New Mexico
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 59
Atron22's Tacoma Gallery
What did you use to connect the two white wires from the lights to the negative terminal of the battery?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 08:57 PM   #60
rhoppas [OP] rhoppas is offline
Land of Oz
rhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shedrhoppas is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rhoppas's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2007, #2564
Location: Topeka, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,311
rhoppas's Tacoma Gallery
I have mine connected to a good ground in the front of the truck. I have nothing connected directly to the battery (in step 10).
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Running Board Lights / Ground Lights larryde09 Lighting 29 09-12-2014 06:37 PM
after market fog lights vtragweed Lighting 27 02-18-2014 02:34 AM
DIY grill/lights + wiring details savoy 2nd Gen. Tacomas 12 07-14-2011 12:16 AM
Wiring head lamps DIY ? savoy 2nd Gen. Tacomas 4 05-26-2011 12:04 PM
Fog lights after market Joel Fox 2nd Gen. Tacomas 7 10-29-2007 12:52 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.