1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dual Battery Question

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by MJonesTrumpet, Jul 23, 2010.

1. Jul 23, 2010 at 7:01 PM
    MJonesTrumpet

MJonesTrumpet [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Michael
    Central PA
    Alright just a bit of background before I ask my questions: I'm no electrical expert but I did pay attention in my science classes. I currently run a Die Hard Platinum Marine PM-2 battery in place of my stock battery that 'mysteriously' died on me at 25k miles (long story). I liked this one because I knew I would be adding a lot of extra power sucking devices and this particular battery had 4 terminals. I now will be adding a lot of extra lighting (3 hellas on an avid off-road light bar and 2 whelen landing lights behind the grill) which will majorly suck battery life when all in use. To add to that, I already upgraded my stock stereo and added bed speakers and run my CB almost all the time when I’m in my truck. I'd also at some point like to add a viair on board air compressor too, so I'm thinking with all this, I should probably run dual batteries. Now for the questions. What I would like to do (not sure if this is the best way to go about this, please feel free to drop your two cents! :)) is run a Die Hard Platinum Automotive P-1 in a parallel circuit. I thought the P-1 would be best because it had identical specs as far as reserve capacity and cold cranking amps. Am i correct in that the batteries have to have the same specs, or do they not?, or do they literally have to be the exact same battery?:confused: Next question, if I run my set-up this