Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Off-Topic > Technology

Notices

DVI-HDMI to LCDTV, ...no audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2012, 02:25 PM   #1
wileyC [OP] wileyC is offline
Senior Member
wileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
wileyC's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2011, #65685
Location: Centerville, OH
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,830
wileyC's Tacoma Gallery
DVI-HDMI to LCDTV, ...no audio

...well, i'm sure many have experience this, you pipe your video to your monitor/TV through a DVI-HDMI adapter and HDMI cable, only to find out you don't get audio on the monitor/TV speakers.. ...this depsite, also conecting your PC audio line out to the monitor/TV as well...

...doing a little web search-fu, it seems that a lot of folks w/ Nvidia-based graphics H/W (inlcuding little 'ole me ) have problems getting the hardware to either encode the music over the DVI-HDMI or through the PC audio out (mini-stereo jack)... problem is something to do w/ the monitor/TV anticipating audio only through the HDMI cable input, so when the source is switched to this input, it ignores any audio coming over the PC audio line...

BTW, i know my PC audio line is functioning properly, because i will get audio if i connect headphones directly to the PC audio out on the PC, ...just not on the headphone out on the monitor/TV... my old monitor/TV had a DVI recepticle so, this was never a problem, ...my new one doesn't so, i have to go through DVI (graphics card Geforce 9800GT) to HDMI (small adapter) to HDMI cable.. stupid TV thinks audio is coming over the HDMI, but it isn't...

so, now you're sick of reading through this, but i'm almost there ... seems there are only two ways to get this to, work:

(1) go inside the computer, and use an SPDIF cable/connector to interface the motherboard to the graphics card (apparently this supposedly will actually encode audio on the DVI output, and over the HDMI cable to the monitor/TV (i.e. the way "HDMI" is supposed to work)..

(2) open the registry editor and insert some new keys for forcing the computer to override the EDID data it queries from the monitor/TV at startup.. seems that on some forums, folks have been able to do this, so the computer thinks the TV is a "dumb" monitor, and doesn't know you are connecting through an HDMI input - then the monitor/TV doesn't anticipate audio over HDMI, and magically reverts to enabling it's PC audio input port for audio (effectively video on DVI-HDMI and audio over PC audio mini-stereo)..

so, anyone been through this, just curious if it's worth the risk trying (2) - i'd really like to get use of the TV speakers..

PS... i always new HDMI would be a PITA, especially a few years back when the big box stores would tell ya how great digital copy protection was
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:08 PM   #2
I've seen things you people wouldn't believe ....
OZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
OZ-T's Avatar
Name: Peter North
Joined: Dec 2009, #27584
Location: British Columbia
Gender: Dude
Posts: 10,859
OZ-T's Tacoma Gallery
HDMI isn't a pain in the ass when your computer has an HDMI-out .

Wasn't DVI abandoned ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
tostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tostidos's Avatar
Name: Chris
Joined: Dec 2010, #48149
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,622
tostidos's Tacoma Gallery
DVI I believe doesnt support audio, and HDMI supports both audio and video. Unless you can change your settings on your PC to have audio go out the normal audio port and video out HDMI. But if that is not an option you will not get sound thru DVI.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:12 PM   #4
Senior Member
tostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shedtostidos is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tostidos's Avatar
Name: Chris
Joined: Dec 2010, #48149
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,622
tostidos's Tacoma Gallery
And HDMI is the simplest thing ever. Get a new PC with HDMI out. it works like a champ.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:15 PM   #5
welcome to the incredibuild
Twistedfreedom is one of the sharper tools in the shedTwistedfreedom is one of the sharper tools in the shedTwistedfreedom is one of the sharper tools in the shedTwistedfreedom is one of the sharper tools in the shedTwistedfreedom is one of the sharper tools in the shedTwistedfreedom is one of the sharper tools in the shedTwistedfreedom is one of the sharper tools in the shedTwistedfreedom is one of the sharper tools in the shedTwistedfreedom is one of the sharper tools in the shedTwistedfreedom is one of the sharper tools in the shedTwistedfreedom is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Twistedfreedom's Avatar
Name: Adam
Joined: Sep 2011, #63386
Location: Spokane, WA
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,815
Twistedfreedom's Tacoma Gallery
I'm pretty sure DVI doesn't carry an audio signal at all
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
Geode is one of the sharper tools in the shedGeode is one of the sharper tools in the shedGeode is one of the sharper tools in the shedGeode is one of the sharper tools in the shedGeode is one of the sharper tools in the shedGeode is one of the sharper tools in the shedGeode is one of the sharper tools in the shedGeode is one of the sharper tools in the shedGeode is one of the sharper tools in the shedGeode is one of the sharper tools in the shedGeode is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Geode's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2009, #23175
Location: Illinois
Age: 47
Gender: Male
Posts: 253
Geode's Tacoma Gallery
I picked up a new video card recently to pipe video/audio to my home theater via hdmi. Long story short, my desktop computer (Pentium4) is 8 years old and not actually compatible with my new video card (nvidia GeForce GT440). The specs say so, but I can't avoid the BSD's with the card.

I did several clean installs of the OS trying to get it working (WinXP SP3)...No joy.

An interesting side note is that the GT440 doesn't require messing with the S/Pdif connection, it is integrated into the video card.

Anyone interested in my "new" GT440 video card?.....lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:23 PM   #7
Senior Member
pudge151 is one of the sharper tools in the shedpudge151 is one of the sharper tools in the shedpudge151 is one of the sharper tools in the shedpudge151 is one of the sharper tools in the shedpudge151 is one of the sharper tools in the shedpudge151 is one of the sharper tools in the shedpudge151 is one of the sharper tools in the shedpudge151 is one of the sharper tools in the shedpudge151 is one of the sharper tools in the shedpudge151 is one of the sharper tools in the shedpudge151 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
pudge151's Avatar
Name: Sean
Joined: Apr 2010, #34558
Location: Connecticut
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,031
pudge151's Tacoma Gallery
DVi does not carry sound. you will need HDMI to HDMI connection or you need to run seperate audio cable
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:54 PM   #8
Senior Member
njbran82 will become famous soon enoughnjbran82 will become famous soon enough
 
njbran82's Avatar
Marines: 0317
Name: Nate
Joined: Mar 2011, #53337
Location: Vicksburg, MS
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
njbran82's Tacoma Gallery
On my sony tv i run the exact setup you explained... dvi to hdmi (i have a macbook). My tv has the option of selecting audio source (hdmi or aux) under sound settings. So i run a cord from my headphone jack on macbook directly into my tv's pc/aux audio input.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 04:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
khx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
khx73's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2011, #63950
Location: Saint John NB, CAN
Gender: Male
Posts: 596
khx73's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by wileyC View Post
...(1) go inside the computer, and use an SPDIF cable/connector to interface the motherboard to the graphics card (apparently this supposedly will actually encode audio on the DVI output, and over the HDMI cable to the monitor/TV (i.e. the way "HDMI" is supposed to work)..
Wouldn't (1) be the easy choice?
I was checking out this article:
http://www.brighthub.com/computing/h...les/27727.aspx
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 06:01 PM   #10
wileyC [OP] wileyC is offline
Senior Member
wileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
wileyC's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2011, #65685
Location: Centerville, OH
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,830
wileyC's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by njbran82 View Post
On my sony tv i run the exact setup you explained... dvi to hdmi (i have a macbook). My tv has the option of selecting audio source (hdmi or aux) under sound settings. So i run a cord from my headphone jack on macbook directly into my tv's pc/aux audio input.
that's what i was hoping would work for me too, ..but w/ this new LCDTV i don't see an equivalent "input" selection.. there is an "RGB-PC" input selection that uses VGA and mini-stereo PC audio, but the 3 HDMI input selections bear no indication of split video/audio sources...

BTW, the LCDTV's manual (it's an LG 32LK450) gives a hint at at "HDMI-PC" input selection, ..but i dont' see it anywhere on the input selection menu...
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 06:06 PM   #11
wileyC [OP] wileyC is offline
Senior Member
wileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
wileyC's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2011, #65685
Location: Centerville, OH
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,830
wileyC's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by khx73 View Post
Wouldn't (1) be the easy choice?
I was checking out this article:
http://www.brighthub.com/computing/h...les/27727.aspx
thanks, that article summed it up very well! i need to see where to get a SDPIF cable, and hopefully i can then get the audio over the DVI-HDMI...
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 06:09 PM   #12
wileyC [OP] wileyC is offline
Senior Member
wileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
wileyC's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2011, #65685
Location: Centerville, OH
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,830
wileyC's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twistedfreedom View Post
I'm pretty sure DVI doesn't carry an audio signal at all
i didn't think so either, but turns out some graphics cards will do it... it seems like my graphics card (2-3 yrs old, twin DVI) might be able to but i have to connect an SDPIF cable from it to the motherboard... i think some of hte newer graphics cards have HDMI output connections on them, and have their own driver-supported audio codecs...
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 06:14 PM   #13
Senior Member
tbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tbturner47's Avatar
Name: Travis
Joined: Apr 2010, #35484
Location: Lenoir, NC
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,136
tbturner47's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by wileyC View Post
i didn't think so either, but turns out some graphics cards will do it... it seems like my graphics card (2-3 yrs old, twin DVI) might be able to but i have to connect an SDPIF cable from it to the motherboard... i think some of hte newer graphics cards have HDMI output connections on them, and have their own driver-supported audio codecs...
dvi doesn't carry audio. The spdif cable connects to your graphics card, not the dvi port.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 07:46 PM   #14
wileyC [OP] wileyC is offline
Senior Member
wileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
wileyC's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2011, #65685
Location: Centerville, OH
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,830
wileyC's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbturner47 View Post
dvi doesn't carry audio. The spdif cable connects to your graphics card, not the dvi port.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#Co...ility_with_DVI
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 07:56 PM   #15
Senior Member
tbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtbturner47 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tbturner47's Avatar
Name: Travis
Joined: Apr 2010, #35484
Location: Lenoir, NC
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,136
tbturner47's Tacoma Gallery
Copied from the link you posted...

Since the DVI specification does not support audio-transport, an interoperability problem arises when an HDMI-source drives a legacy DVI-display (such as a PC monitor), or conversely, when a DVI-source drives an HDMI-display. While HDMI and DVI compliance rules ensure that a DVI video-connection can be successfully negotiated and established (via a mutually supported display mode), the audio signal must still be transported through means outside of the DVI connection. Typically, an HDMI equipped source will provide additional outputs for audio-only, such as line-level analog and SPDIF, which provide a baseline audio program (such as stereo PCM.)
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 08:24 PM   #16
wileyC [OP] wileyC is offline
Senior Member
wileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
wileyC's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2011, #65685
Location: Centerville, OH
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,830
wileyC's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbturner47 View Post
Copied from the link you posted...

Since the DVI specification does not support audio-transport, an interoperability problem arises when an HDMI-source drives a legacy DVI-display (such as a PC monitor), or conversely, when a DVI-source drives an HDMI-display. While HDMI and DVI compliance rules ensure that a DVI video-connection can be successfully negotiated and established (via a mutually supported display mode), the audio signal must still be transported through means outside of the DVI connection. Typically, an HDMI equipped source will provide additional outputs for audio-only, such as line-level analog and SPDIF, which provide a baseline audio program (such as stereo PCM.)
this also quote:

Features specific to HDMI, such as remote-control and audio transport, are not available in devices that use legacy DVI-D signalling. However, many devices output HDMI over a DVI connector (e.g., ATI 3000-series and NVIDIA GTX 200-series video cards),[5] and some multimedia displays may accept HDMI (including audio) over a DVI input. In general, exact capabilities vary from product to product.

and ..

DVI connectors on PC video cards have also been increasingly able to take advantage of HDMI features such as audio output.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 09:50 PM   #17
Senior Member
khx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
khx73's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2011, #63950
Location: Saint John NB, CAN
Gender: Male
Posts: 596
khx73's Tacoma Gallery
Could it be by use of extra pins in the DVI connector, video cards are allowing the transport of audio out the DVI connector - which of course is only going to be used if the connected cable & device is aware of it. Like DVI-to-HDMI cables or adapters.
See this thread...
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=75963
It is mentioned a few posts in.

Of course you still have to ensure the audio is getting to the vid card to get sent out the DVI port in the first place.

tbturner47 is correct in stating that the DVI spec does not do audio. However, that's not to say you can't get around it by the above method.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:14 AM   #18
Senior Member
myname150 has a brilliant futuremyname150 has a brilliant futuremyname150 has a brilliant futuremyname150 has a brilliant futuremyname150 has a brilliant futuremyname150 has a brilliant futuremyname150 has a brilliant futuremyname150 has a brilliant futuremyname150 has a brilliant futuremyname150 has a brilliant futuremyname150 has a brilliant future
 
myname150's Avatar
Joined: Jul 2010, #39827
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,401
myname150's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by wileyC View Post
this also quote:

Features specific to HDMI, such as remote-control and audio transport, are not available in devices that use legacy DVI-D signalling. However, many devices output HDMI over a DVI connector (e.g., ATI 3000-series and NVIDIA GTX 200-series video cards),[5] and some multimedia displays may accept HDMI (including audio) over a DVI input. In general, exact capabilities vary from product to product.

and ..

DVI connectors on PC video cards have also been increasingly able to take advantage of HDMI features such as audio output.
^ That bit. Some video cards may support it, but not most. My 8800GTS has Dual DVI ports out, but they don't carry audio, just video. More recent video cards now have an actual HDMI port on the card, and when you install the drivers (like with nVidia) if you do the "Custom Installation" you'll see that an HDMI Audio Driver is installed along with the Graphics Driver.

Like the person said above me, if you do have a card with a DVI port that can handle audio, there maybe extra pins to support the audio but then the receiving end has to be able to receive it too. If it were just straight DVI (PC) -> DVI (TV/Monitor), the TV/Monitor has to support receiving audio via the DVI port too which I doubt many do. Otherwise your video card may have come with a cable that's DVI on the PC end, and DVI/Audio on the receiving device end, like a TV/Monitor

A cable like this may have come with your video card:

The top plug is DVI, the bottom plug on the left, Green, is Audio.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:28 PM   #19
wileyC [OP] wileyC is offline
Senior Member
wileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shedwileyC is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
wileyC's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2011, #65685
Location: Centerville, OH
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,830
wileyC's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by myname150 View Post
^ That bit. Some video cards may support it, but not most. My 8800GTS has Dual DVI ports out, but they don't carry audio, just video. More recent video cards now have an actual HDMI port on the card, and when you install the drivers (like with nVidia) if you do the "Custom Installation" you'll see that an HDMI Audio Driver is installed along with the Graphics Driver.

Like the person said above me, if you do have a card with a DVI port that can handle audio, there maybe extra pins to support the audio but then the receiving end has to be able to receive it too. If it were just straight DVI (PC) -> DVI (TV/Monitor), the TV/Monitor has to support receiving audio via the DVI port too which I doubt many do. Otherwise your video card may have come with a cable that's DVI on the PC end, and DVI/Audio on the receiving device end, like a TV/Monitor

A cable like this may have come with your video card:

The top plug is DVI, the bottom plug on the left, Green, is Audio.
yeah, it seems that my current video card (got about 2-3yrs ago) was from right around the time they were experimenting w/ this capability... in fact, then cards w/ HDMI out connections where rare, if at all present... i don't think my card is set up for the audio over DVI-HDMI... my card has dual DVI-I (which handles both digital video and analog VGA), and an S-video port...

my feeling is that the monitor/TV is the problem though, because in the TV manual it says there is a way to hook up DVI (DVI-HDMI to the HDMI input) and use PC audio input (3.5mm mini-stereo) for sound... it also refers to this as the "HDMI-PC" input selection (which supposedly allows the video over HDMI, but sound over PC audio), but i don't see this option at all.. i have 3 "HDMI" input options, and an "RGB-PC" option, ..but don't see where this "HDMI-PC" option is on the input selection screen...


anyone have a late-model LG LCDTV in the same situation?... seems that the info in the manual is misleading or downright incorrect... or is there a firmware update i can do for the TV?...
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:38 PM   #20
I've seen things you people wouldn't believe ....
OZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shedOZ-T is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
OZ-T's Avatar
Name: Peter North
Joined: Dec 2009, #27584
Location: British Columbia
Gender: Dude
Posts: 10,859
OZ-T's Tacoma Gallery
If you used a cable like this http://www.mycablemart.com/store/car..._detail&p=1409 similar to what is show above , can you not configure your tv inputs to accept video over hdmi and the audio over the RCA jack ?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI from computer-tv help mntbiker2008 Technology 5 06-27-2011 09:41 PM
DVI-I to HDMI myname150 Technology 7 01-18-2011 08:42 AM
Some HDMI cables and stuff jeremydp Buy / Sell / Trade 3 06-07-2010 03:07 PM
What Price HDMI? danb86 Audio & Video 16 03-08-2010 08:16 PM
Hdmi kbp68 Audio & Video 14 12-29-2009 05:33 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.