Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Off-Topic > Technology

Notices

renting internet equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2013, 04:37 AM   #1
Senior Member
wanna tacoma is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2012, #89420
Location: NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 722
wanna tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
renting internet equipment

I was wondering if any of you rent equipment for internet through you ISP? I can upgrade from the 15 Meg that I have now to the 30 Meg for $20 more a month. So I would need a new modem to be able to use the DOCSIS 3.0 and I would need to buy a new wireless router (either way BC mine is crapped out). They rent the modem/dual band wireless router for $10 a month. Free replacement if something happens or do I buy a new modem and router for $250 and take my chances on it breaking. Can't figure out what I want or need.
I have
1 laptop, wireless printer, 2 smartphones that use wifi, a nook tablet, and play Xbox live with my brother across country regularly. Didn't know if I needed the 30mbps also for streaming video
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:49 AM   #2
subaru of america
rickmeseke is one of the sharper tools in the shedrickmeseke is one of the sharper tools in the shedrickmeseke is one of the sharper tools in the shedrickmeseke is one of the sharper tools in the shedrickmeseke is one of the sharper tools in the shedrickmeseke is one of the sharper tools in the shedrickmeseke is one of the sharper tools in the shedrickmeseke is one of the sharper tools in the shedrickmeseke is one of the sharper tools in the shedrickmeseke is one of the sharper tools in the shedrickmeseke is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Ricky
Joined: Nov 2012, #90811
Location: Brunswick, GA
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 969
rickmeseke's Tacoma Gallery
if your going to be STREAMING video, its not your download speed to look at, you need to look at your upload speed.

and $250 for a modem/router?! Thats ridiclous. A modem through your isp should be under 100, and alot of them now a days are built in routers(as mine is). I paid 80 bucks to upgrade to it because its wireless and has 4 ethernet ports(although I only use 2 of the ports for my ps3/desktop), I have 15mb download and I run ps3/two laptops, two smart phones WIFI, two tablets, and always stream netflix on my ps3 and never have an issue with speed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:57 AM   #3
Senior Member
JayC06 is on a distinguished road
Name: Jay
Joined: Oct 2010, #45118
Location: fairhaven ma
Age: 41
Gender: Male
Posts: 140
JayC06's Tacoma Gallery
Most cable companies give you the modem now and you just buy a router a good one is about 60 bucks. Which cable co do you have?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:24 AM   #4
Senior Member
wanna tacoma is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2012, #89420
Location: NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 722
wanna tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
I have Suddenlink Cable. I was looking at teh Zoom modem for $90 which is the DOCsis3.0 and the cisco EA4500 according to cisco that what they recommend. I haven't looked at other brands b/c that all I have ever had. but if I stay with my current 15mbps then the 2.0 modem that I have is all I need so then I would need just a router
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 07:19 AM   #5
Senior Member
JayC06 is on a distinguished road
Name: Jay
Joined: Oct 2010, #45118
Location: fairhaven ma
Age: 41
Gender: Male
Posts: 140
JayC06's Tacoma Gallery
I wouldn't the zoom. If you get new modem go with Motorola, Cisco, or ubee. The Cisco routers are good. I have one. Just my experience I work these all day.broadband tech. Never heard of your provider though
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:02 AM   #6
E-Dub
lysias55 is on a distinguished road
 
lysias55's Avatar
Name: Evan
Joined: Jan 2009, #12385
Location: Cherokee, North Carolina
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 55
lysias55's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via ICQ to lysias55
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickmeseke View Post
if your going to be STREAMING video, its not your download speed to look at, you need to look at your upload speed.

and $250 for a modem/router?! Thats ridiclous. A modem through your isp should be under 100, and alot of them now a days are built in routers(as mine is). I paid 80 bucks to upgrade to it because its wireless and has 4 ethernet ports(although I only use 2 of the ports for my ps3/desktop), I have 15mb download and I run ps3/two laptops, two smart phones WIFI, two tablets, and always stream netflix on my ps3 and never have an issue with speed.
You should run a wireless bridge to your ps3. Since it doesn't have a N adapter. I noticed improvements on upload/download speeds
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:26 AM   #7
Senior Member
wanna tacoma is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2012, #89420
Location: NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 722
wanna tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayC06 View Post
I wouldn't the zoom. If you get new modem go with Motorola, Cisco, or ubee. The Cisco routers are good. I have one. Just my experience I work these all day.broadband tech. Never heard of your provider though
Is the EA4500 too much or should I step down to the EA3500? I've got the E1550 now. The person I talked to at Office Depot yday said I would be fine with the E2500. With gaming I didn't know if that would be enough
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:29 AM   #8
E-Dub
lysias55 is on a distinguished road
 
lysias55's Avatar
Name: Evan
Joined: Jan 2009, #12385
Location: Cherokee, North Carolina
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 55
lysias55's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via ICQ to lysias55
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanna tacoma View Post
Is the EA4500 too much or should I step down to the EA3500? I've got the E1550 now. The person I talked to at Office Depot yday said I would be fine with the E2500. With gaming I didn't know if that would be enough
Try a E4200 the A stands for Apps. The E4200 also has this feature with the update. Buy a good used one or check amazon
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:43 AM   #9
Senior Member
2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Grant
Joined: Apr 2012, #77911
Location: San Diego ca
Gender: Male
Posts: 483
2ski4life7's Tacoma Gallery
I am pretty sure if you got just a new router it would be fine. The one you mentioned you had, was pretty old tech from what I could tell. It has a max throughput of 100Mbps and the EA4500 your looking at has a max throughput of 450+450Mbps. (Mbps and not MBps). Moving up to a Docsis 3.0 modem is not a bad idea either though.

I have 12MBps download and its always been fine. Use xbox 360 live, two laptops, desktop, and two phones.

Most companies now days will charge $8-15 per month for the modem/router. The modem/router combo is nice, the docscsis 3.0 motorola one I bought was pretty crappy though. Might have just been the internet provider. I would say cisco has better modems but I still think Asus and Netgear have better routers.

Although once you start spending over $100 on a router you should get better performance regardless. Video bridging is also another idea if your really into streaming video but that will run you at least $200 more dollars.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:13 AM   #10
Senior Member
wanna tacoma is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2012, #89420
Location: NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 722
wanna tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
yeah the ISP wil rent you a modem/router combo with the DOCSIS 3.0 for $10 a month. So I'm just wondering if that is the better option versus having to pay all at once a new modem and router. I asked what brand and its some brand I've never heard of. Starts with an A I believe.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:19 AM   #11
Senior Member
wanna tacoma is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2012, #89420
Location: NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 722
wanna tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
What new cisco router took the E4200 place?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:21 AM   #12
E-Dub
lysias55 is on a distinguished road
 
lysias55's Avatar
Name: Evan
Joined: Jan 2009, #12385
Location: Cherokee, North Carolina
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 55
lysias55's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via ICQ to lysias55
EA4500 then I think they have a model out that can handle the new AC standard which surpasses N
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:40 AM   #13
Senior Member
2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Grant
Joined: Apr 2012, #77911
Location: San Diego ca
Gender: Male
Posts: 483
2ski4life7's Tacoma Gallery
Ya I believe the EA4500 took its place. Those are quite expensive though. The nice thing about having a modem and a seperate router is that most of the modems are dual band 2x2 systems. Where as most of the new routers are single band 3x3 systems. I.E. you have 3 antennas for 2.4GHz and 3 antennas for 5GHz which allows better coverage.

The new AC standard is significantly faster than N. The other thing is you would rent the modem over say a 2 year agreement pay 240 dollars and not own a thing. However the modem/router could also be outdated by then.

The only modem brands I know of are Asus and Actiontek. It is probably an Actiontek.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:23 AM   #14
Senior Member
wanna tacoma is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2012, #89420
Location: NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 722
wanna tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
I'm so confused as to what to do its frustrating.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:32 AM   #15
E-Dub
lysias55 is on a distinguished road
 
lysias55's Avatar
Name: Evan
Joined: Jan 2009, #12385
Location: Cherokee, North Carolina
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 55
lysias55's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via ICQ to lysias55
I had the same option. I bought my own (E4200) and haven't looked back.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:37 AM   #16
Senior Member
2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Grant
Joined: Apr 2012, #77911
Location: San Diego ca
Gender: Male
Posts: 483
2ski4life7's Tacoma Gallery
What are you looking to do? I realized you did a speed test through LAN on your modem and you are getting good speeds but your wifi not so much? If that is the case I would:

Buy a new router only. If your set on the EA4500 its pretty nice. The EA3500 should do well too.

Or rent the docsis3.0 modem from your internet provider and see how well that works. That would be the cheaper option and if it doesn't work to your standards I would go out and buy a new modem or router. I wouldn't sign any contracts for the modem but I dont think they do that just for the plan. You can pry replace anytime you want. Youll just have to tell them and deal with all that BS.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:38 AM   #17
Senior Member
2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Grant
Joined: Apr 2012, #77911
Location: San Diego ca
Gender: Male
Posts: 483
2ski4life7's Tacoma Gallery
You could pry also ask for a new Docsis 3.0 modem only. They should upgrade it for you free. Haggle with them.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 12:11 PM   #18
Senior Member
wanna tacoma is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2012, #89420
Location: NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 722
wanna tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
I think I'm leaning more towards the rental just to see how it is along as I don't have to sign a contract which I don't think I would need to. So if I got the Docsis 3.0 route my Mbps should be above 30?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:15 AM   #19
Senior Member
replica9000 is one of the sharper tools in the shedreplica9000 is one of the sharper tools in the shedreplica9000 is one of the sharper tools in the shedreplica9000 is one of the sharper tools in the shedreplica9000 is one of the sharper tools in the shedreplica9000 is one of the sharper tools in the shedreplica9000 is one of the sharper tools in the shedreplica9000 is one of the sharper tools in the shedreplica9000 is one of the sharper tools in the shedreplica9000 is one of the sharper tools in the shedreplica9000 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
replica9000's Avatar
Name: Jason
Joined: Apr 2008, #5782
Location: State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,884
replica9000's Tacoma Gallery
Who is your ISP? When I first had Cox Communications for internet, I paid $200 (in 1999) for a Motorola modem. I guess when they started using Scientific Atlanta, they just started giving them away for free.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:56 AM   #20
Senior Member
2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2ski4life7 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Grant
Joined: Apr 2012, #77911
Location: San Diego ca
Gender: Male
Posts: 483
2ski4life7's Tacoma Gallery
Docsis is a standard, it allows more channels and throughput but your dl speed will still be set by your plan.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Renting vs. Buying your home Leggo Off-Topic Discussion 47 08-12-2012 07:27 PM
transformers 3 out today--worth renting? sofiasdad11 Entertainment 4 09-30-2011 11:10 AM
I've been renting a Heep Grand Cherokee BenWA General Automotive 15 03-11-2011 06:55 PM
Renting a Scan tool: roxspin72 Performance and Tuning 6 09-30-2010 08:49 PM
Renting a U-Haul: Will they let me hook it up? aaronk Towing 6 12-01-2009 09:10 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.