Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Off-Topic > Technology

Notices

Wifi + rain = IRRITATED USER!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2013, 11:17 AM   #1
SHHHH, this is interesting
07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
07TacoRidah's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2009, #26923
Location: Pasadena CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,865
07TacoRidah's Tacoma Gallery
Wifi + rain = IRRITATED USER!

is there any way to keep my wifi signal from my computer at a level to where I'm NOT feeling I'm on dial up? It drops NASTY and I mean NASTY (raining right now but it sounds like it's just drizzling NOT pouring rain). I have my browser set to Google as my homepage on start up, but even THAT has problems loading.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:19 AM   #2
LRGRNR
Sandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Sandman614's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2010, #45273
Location: Boone, NC\Cary, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 7,006
Sandman614's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07TacoRidah View Post
is there any way to keep my wifi signal from my computer at a level to where I'm NOT feeling I'm on dial up? It drops NASTY and I mean NASTY (raining right now but it sounds like it's just drizzling NOT pouring rain). I have my browser set to Google as my homepage on start up, but even THAT has problems loading.
Is the wifi in your house or are you borrowing it off a neighbor? Who's your provider? If it's in your house you would have a problem with your provider.

(This will not speed up your internet, but it may feel like it) You can try Googles DNS servers, but that would just speed up DNS lookups. I prefer them over service provider DNS servers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:33 AM   #3
SHHHH, this is interesting
07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
07TacoRidah's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2009, #26923
Location: Pasadena CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,865
07TacoRidah's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman614 View Post
Is the wifi in your house or are you borrowing it off a neighbor? Who's your provider? If it's in your house you would have a problem with your provider.

(This will not speed up your internet, but it may feel like it) You can try Googles DNS servers, but that would just speed up DNS lookups. I prefer them over service provider DNS servers.
my house. I think it's Charter. dam, just sucks cause at time I need to do money related things online and when I try to do things, every now and then the signal drops and I'm stuck waiting for something to load/transfer ... or just stuck and I have to do things all over again and then have to verify that nothing was messed up in the process while I had issues. thanks though, other than talking to the provider, nothing else I can do huh?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:35 AM   #4
Look away, I'm hideous!
joneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
joneill03's Avatar
Name: Johnny-5
Joined: Oct 2009, #24912
Location: Chantilly, VA
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,351
joneill03's Tacoma Gallery
Is it your wifi or your internet? Try to wire a laptop or something into your router through ethernet and see if it does the same thing. If it does, it's your internet.
edit: if its your wifi, try changing the channel on the router. Sometimes you get signal interference on certain channels.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:37 AM   #5
Senior Member
97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of
 
97Blk_one's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2008, #5970
Location: Memfrica
Gender: Male
Posts: 732
97Blk_one's Tacoma Gallery
Can you use Ethernet direct to your Computer? More reliable then WiFi...
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:37 AM   #6
SHHHH, this is interesting
07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed07TacoRidah is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
07TacoRidah's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2009, #26923
Location: Pasadena CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,865
07TacoRidah's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by joneill03 View Post
Is it your wifi or your internet? Try to wire a laptop or something into your router through ethernet and see if it does the same thing. If it does, it's your internet.
I think it's more to do with the router. I used to have one of my old comps wired via ethernet to the router and when it rained I would still have problems with my connection dropping here and there. I broke the mb of my laptop a year ago don't really have much to test on (all the comps in the house have been password only .. lil nephew reasons)
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of97Blk_one has much to be proud of
 
97Blk_one's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2008, #5970
Location: Memfrica
Gender: Male
Posts: 732
97Blk_one's Tacoma Gallery
Best solution...borrow your friend computer...
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:40 AM   #8
Look away, I'm hideous!
joneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
joneill03's Avatar
Name: Johnny-5
Joined: Oct 2009, #24912
Location: Chantilly, VA
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,351
joneill03's Tacoma Gallery
is the router yours or the cable companies? If yours, look for a firmware update. There may have been a bug and its been fixed since you bought it. If its the cable companies, call and tell them you need a new one cause it keeps dropping. It also could be a modem issue.
I have FiOS and the router is an all in one type that verizon provides, so if anything goes wrong, they send a new one, but companies are all different.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:42 AM   #9
Look away, I'm hideous!
joneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
joneill03's Avatar
Name: Johnny-5
Joined: Oct 2009, #24912
Location: Chantilly, VA
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,351
joneill03's Tacoma Gallery
Also another suggestion. You mention when it rains is the only time it happens? Is there a possibility there may be a bad connection outside your house somewhere and when it rains the water gets into the wiring and causes problems?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:52 AM   #10
AKA ::1
127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
127.0.0.1's Avatar
Air Force: 12th TIS
Joined: Dec 2012, #93641
Location: /etc/hosts
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,172
127.0.0.1's Tacoma Gallery
1) hardwire to the router via ethernet

problem the same or different ?

2) see 1

3) #1 problem with wi-fi at home is not rain, it is using a microwave
they are very dirty EFI sources and can kill wifi. but to be a nuke problem
would mean someone is only using it when it rains, hence, item 1 is the
first thing to prove/deny
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:57 AM   #11
Look away, I'm hideous!
joneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoneill03 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
joneill03's Avatar
Name: Johnny-5
Joined: Oct 2009, #24912
Location: Chantilly, VA
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,351
joneill03's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07TacoRidah View Post
I think it's more to do with the router. I used to have one of my old comps wired via ethernet to the router and when it rained I would still have problems with my connection dropping here and there. I broke the mb of my laptop a year ago don't really have much to test on (all the comps in the house have been password only .. lil nephew reasons)
^^
Quote:
Originally Posted by 127.0.0.1 View Post
1) hardwire to the router via ethernet

problem the same or different ?

2) see 1

3) #1 problem with wi-fi at home is not rain, it is using a microwave
they are very dirty EFI sources and can kill wifi. but to be a nuke problem
would mean someone is only using it when it rains, hence, item 1 is the
first thing to prove/deny
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:59 PM   #12
LRGRNR
Sandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Sandman614's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2010, #45273
Location: Boone, NC\Cary, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 7,006
Sandman614's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07TacoRidah View Post
my house. I think it's Charter. dam, just sucks cause at time I need to do money related things online and when I try to do things, every now and then the signal drops and I'm stuck waiting for something to load/transfer ... or just stuck and I have to do things all over again and then have to verify that nothing was messed up in the process while I had issues. thanks though, other than talking to the provider, nothing else I can do huh?
Pretty much, Rain would not interrupt WiFi in your house. If you were borrowing it from a neighbor the story could be different. To rule out the devices in your house get a long ethernet cable and string it from your computer to your Wireless Router. If it still drops connection take the Wireless Router out of the equation and plug your computer directly into your Modem (This assumes they are separate devices). If you find your wireless router is the cause you can try updating the firmware (assuming you own it).
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 01:03 PM   #13
OldPhart
bldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
bldegle2's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2013, #102169
Location: floyd, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,008
bldegle2's Tacoma Gallery
rain=moisture...

check all exposed and/or covered connections on the way into the house, more than likely you got some water playing with a connect or three...it could even be on the pole outside, something your provider would have to fix...

Call them, explain everytime it rains the signal goes wonkers, your paying for the service...

Good luck....
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 01:06 PM   #14
LRGRNR
Sandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Sandman614's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2010, #45273
Location: Boone, NC\Cary, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 7,006
Sandman614's Tacoma Gallery
Step 1:
Rule out everything on your end first. This includes Your computer, Wireless card, wireless modem, cable/dsl/satellite modem, wires inside the house. Anything outside the house is not your responsibility and you should not change any fittings or cables outside.

Step 2:
Quote:
Originally Posted by bldegle2 View Post
Call them, explain everytime it rains the signal goes wonkers, your paying for the service...
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 01:25 PM   #15
AKA ::1
127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed127.0.0.1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
127.0.0.1's Avatar
Air Force: 12th TIS
Joined: Dec 2012, #93641
Location: /etc/hosts
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,172
127.0.0.1's Tacoma Gallery
OK

I bet a shitty crimp on the cable, shorting core to shield when wet

anywhere outside from pole to house

you can fix all these yourself, except climbing a pole.

that will get you in trouble
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:16 AM   #16
There's an evil monkey in my truck
Evil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Evil Monkey's Avatar
Navy: Tradevman (flight simulator tech), Aviation Electrician (F-14a), Computer Scientist(civ)
Name: Robert
Joined: Aug 2007, #2352
Location: Escondido, CA
Age: 52
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,371
Evil Monkey's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07TacoRidah View Post
my house. I think it's Charter. dam, just sucks cause at time I need to do money related things online and when I try to do things, every now and then the signal drops and I'm stuck waiting for something to load/transfer ... or just stuck and I have to do things all over again and then have to verify that nothing was messed up in the process while I had issues. thanks though, other than talking to the provider, nothing else I can do huh?
My guess is it's not your router since that would be inside, unaffected by rain. Unless, of course, you have water dripping on your router. As others have said, plug your computer into one of the ethernet ports on the back of the router. That will elimnate the wifi altogether. If the problem is still there, it's not a wifi issue. Next, if there's a splitter (for tv) try disconnecting the cable from the wall and bringing it directly to the modem. That will eliminate the splitter and indicate that the problem is the feed from the cable company. You could also try connecting directly to the cable modem but there's some configuration you have to do to get it working (http://answers.yahoo.com/question/in...3222616AAJy8D8).

The problem is probably outside though. Since it happens only when it rains, something is getting wet in the cable circuit. It would be best to just call the cable company and register a complaint. They'll usually fix it for free and they have tools to test the line's signal strength. I would not recommend trying to fix it yourself. A friend of mine works for Cox Cable and he has told me many stories about people changing out their splitters and cables with pretty gold-plated crap that made their problems worse.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:24 AM   #17
LRGRNR
Sandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Sandman614's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2010, #45273
Location: Boone, NC\Cary, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 7,006
Sandman614's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Monkey View Post
My guess is it's not your router since that would be inside, unaffected by rain. Unless, of course, you have water dripping on your router. As others have said, plug your computer into one of the ethernet ports on the back of the router. That will elimnate the wifi altogether. If the problem is still there, it's not a wifi issue. Next, if there's a splitter (for tv) try disconnecting the cable from the wall and bringing it directly to the modem. That will eliminate the splitter and indicate that the problem is the feed from the cable company. You could also try connecting directly to the cable modem but there's some configuration you have to do to get it working (http://answers.yahoo.com/question/in...3222616AAJy8D8).

The problem is probably outside though. Since it happens only when it rains, something is getting wet in the cable circuit. It would be best to just call the cable company and register a complaint. They'll usually fix it for free and they have tools to test the line's signal strength. I would not recommend trying to fix it yourself. A friend of mine works for Cox Cable and he has told me many stories about people changing out their splitters and cables with pretty gold-plated crap that made their problems worse.
^^ TH!S!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 04:36 PM   #18
Senior Member
khx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkhx73 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
khx73's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2011, #63950
Location: Saint John NB, CAN
Gender: Male
Posts: 600
khx73's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Monkey View Post
A friend of mine works for Cox Cable and he has told me many stories about people changing out their splitters and cables with pretty gold-plated crap that made their problems worse.
The same people who buy Monster cables and $30 gold plated patch cables cause the sales guy said they'll make a big diff.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 06:10 PM   #19
Senior Member
Yota1 is a glorious beacon of lightYota1 is a glorious beacon of lightYota1 is a glorious beacon of lightYota1 is a glorious beacon of lightYota1 is a glorious beacon of lightYota1 is a glorious beacon of light
 
Yota1's Avatar
Joined: May 2009, #17777
Location: auburn, ma
Gender: Male
Posts: 287
Yota1's Tacoma Gallery
Your problem is outside. Tell the tech your Internet doesn't work when it rains, he will be looking for water damage.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 12:05 PM   #20
There's an evil monkey in my truck
Evil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedEvil Monkey is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Evil Monkey's Avatar
Navy: Tradevman (flight simulator tech), Aviation Electrician (F-14a), Computer Scientist(civ)
Name: Robert
Joined: Aug 2007, #2352
Location: Escondido, CA
Age: 52
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,371
Evil Monkey's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by khx73 View Post
The same people who buy Monster cables and $30 gold plated patch cables cause the sales guy said they'll make a big diff.
Exactly. He'll tell them it's their splitter and they swear up and down it's better until he puts the Cox splitter on and it fixes the problem.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: GoPro Hero2, Wifi BacPac, Wifi Remote, SD Card & Battery Pilot68 Buy / Sell / Trade - Other 7 07-15-2013 09:36 PM
Starting to get Irritated All-Pro logcabinwc All-Pro Off Road 6 04-28-2012 02:28 AM
WiFi antennas for access to wifi hotspots epa4wd Technology 14 10-15-2009 07:44 PM
i need wifi RoyB Off-Topic Discussion 2 10-17-2008 07:30 PM
irritated tigerfan00 Off-Topic Discussion 27 09-19-2008 03:49 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.