1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Weight Distribution Hitch

Discussion in 'Towing' started by belfoos, Aug 30, 2010.

1. Aug 30, 2010 at 12:12 PM
    belfoos

belfoos [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Stefaan
    Fresno, CA
    Vehicle:
    2.7l Tacoma 4 cyl
    I am planning on towing a pop-up tent trailer (dry weight 1700lbs, GVWR 2600lbs, 10foot box) with my 2008 tacoma manual, 4 cylinder, standard cab. The trailer has electric brakes and I will definitely get an anti sway device.

Should I get a weight distribution hitch as well or is the trailer too light to use this?

Since this is my first time towing with a manual, will taking off be quite different from when I am not towing (i.e. will I need to use more clutch,...)?

2. Aug 30, 2010 at 12:41 PM
    Kazz

Kazz Active Member

Member:
    Calgary
    Vehicle:
    2010 SR5 4x4
    No Mods yet

The anti sway device is all you really need with that weight. Saying that a weight distribution device will not hurt, I thinks it overkill. I pull a 16ft cargo trailer loaded to 5000lbs with no weight distribution hitch and it pulls nicely. Remember overkill is never a bad thing and its your comfort level and experience that counts.

3. Aug 30, 2010 at 12:46 PM
    Pugga

Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

Member:
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '19 Ford F-250 6.7 SCrew
    F-250 Land Yacht Mod