Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Towing

Notices

Weight Distribution Hitch

Old 08-30-2010, 01:12 PM   #1
belfoos is on a distinguished road
Name: Stefaan
belfoos's Tacoma Gallery
Weight Distribution Hitch

I am planning on towing a pop-up tent trailer (dry weight 1700lbs, GVWR 2600lbs, 10foot box) with my 2008 tacoma manual, 4 cylinder, standard cab. The trailer has electric brakes and I will definitely get an anti sway device.

Should I get a weight distribution hitch as well or is the trailer too light to use this?

Since this is my first time towing with a manual, will taking off be quite different from when I am not towing (i.e. will I need to use more clutch,...)?
Old 08-30-2010, 01:41 PM   #2
Kazz is a name known to allKazz is a name known to allKazz is a name known to allKazz is a name known to allKazz is a name known to allKazz is a name known to all
Kazz's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by belfoos View Post
I am planning on towing a pop-up tent trailer (dry weight 1700lbs, GVWR 2600lbs, 10foot box) with my 2008 tacoma manual, 4 cylinder, standard cab. The trailer has electric brakes and I will definitely get an anti sway device.

Should I get a weight distribution hitch as well or is the trailer too light to use this?

Since this is my first time towing with a manual, will taking off be quite different from when I am not towing (i.e. will I need to use more clutch,...)?

The anti sway device is all you really need with that weight. Saying that a weight distribution device will not hurt, I thinks it overkill. I pull a 16ft cargo trailer loaded to 5000lbs with no weight distribution hitch and it pulls nicely. Remember overkill is never a bad thing and its your comfort level and experience that counts.
Old 08-30-2010, 01:46 PM   #3
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983