Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Towing

Notices

4.88 Gears

Old 03-27-2011, 04:43 AM   #1
spaulding88 is a splendid one to beholdspaulding88 is a splendid one to beholdspaulding88 is a splendid one to beholdspaulding88 is a splendid one to beholdspaulding88 is a splendid one to beholdspaulding88 is a splendid one to beholdspaulding88 is a splendid one to behold

Army: 3/8 CAV 1CD
Name: Sam
spaulding88's Tacoma Gallery
4.88 Gears

I have very little knowledge when it comes to gearing on our trucks. I have a 08 DC TRD off road that I use as my dd and wheel occasionally on the weekends, plus during the summer I haul a 18ft bass boat around. I'm currently running 285/75/16's. I feel like the truck struggles a little while hauling the boat down the freeway at 60mph and its very noticeable while climbing hills. Ive been looking around the threads to find what gears I should try to go with, 4.88's sound like they would do the trick but I'm not sure if that's going to run my rpm's to high and kill my gas mileage while cruising at 60mph

Any feed back would be very much appreciated.
Old 03-27-2011, 08:06 AM   #2
tig1 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtig1 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtig1 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtig1 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtig1 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtig1 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtig1 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtig1 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtig1 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtig1 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtig1 is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Paul
tig1's Tacoma Gallery
myself I'm hoping to upgrade to 4.56's,I'm just a 4 banger so 4.88's on your truck should do the trick.

later tig1
Old 03-27-2011, 10:18 AM   #3