Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Towing

Notices

Tail Gate Strength for loading a Quad

Old 08-24-2012, 08:07 AM   #1
Cellmate is on a distinguished road
Cellmate's Tacoma Gallery
Tail Gate Strength for loading a Quad

Newbie here:

Just bought a quad that weighs 375 pounds without me on it so lets just say it will be over 600 when I get on.
The guy I am buying from says it will fit in the back of my truck (TRT Sport)

Width of quad 45.3 ehhh (might squeek in), length 72.2 puts the rear tires on the tail gate.

Question I don't trust the tail gate to take the load with 600 lbs on it.

He says no prroblem...what say this group?

Thanks

Cellmate
Old 08-24-2012, 08:13 AM   #2
BOOMSHAKALAKA
boardude has much to be proud ofboardude has much to be proud ofboardude has much to be proud ofboardude has much to be proud ofboardude has much to be proud ofboardude has much to be proud ofboardude has much to be proud ofboardude has much to be proud of

Name: Bomb.com
boardude's Tacoma Gallery
I think I read in the user manual to not exceed 200lbs on the tailgate. So you def might wanna reinforce the tailgate if you plan on driving it up on the tailgate
Old 08-24-2012, 08:25 AM   #3
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Mike
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
I load and transport a 750cc sport bike with the rear tire on the tailgate and no issues. The bike weighs in the mid 400# range so over 600 with my weight.