Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Towing

Notices

Auto vs. standard 6 speed trans????? what are your thoughts??

Old 09-25-2012, 09:49 PM   #1
88 burban is on a distinguished road
Name: Justin
88 burban's Tacoma Gallery
Auto vs. standard 6 speed trans????? what are your thoughts??

Hello everyone,
I am new to this awesome website!!

So I am currently shopping around for a used Tacoma (2004 - 2008)... 4x4 with the TRD package and tow package....

here is my dilemma..... I do not know which transmission I should go with...???
I am use to off-roading and pulling with a V8 suburban... now I know better than to try to pull what my suburban can!!!

For those of you out there that have the Auto trans (V6)... how does the tacoma handle? taking off, up hills, or when off-roading and your tires are simi-covered by sand or mud.... is there enough power to spin the tires and keep on trucking through those tough off-roading conditions?????

And those of you with the manual trans...... how does the clutch hold up while taking off at a light with a trailer behind you?? or even in rough off-road conditions??

My concern is that I dont want to be under powered with an Automatic trans but I also don't want to have clutch issues??

Any help at this point would be great...
Old 09-26-2012, 08:07 AM   #2
Banned
shemp is a splendid one to beholdshemp is a splendid one to beholdshemp is a splendid one to beholdshemp is a splendid one to beholdshemp is a splendid one to beholdshemp is a splendid one to beholdshemp is a splendid one to behold
shemp's Tacoma Gallery
Poor handling of a clutch can obviously lead to premature failure. The key to engaging the clutch with a huge heavy load is that you want to engage it gently with little throttle. Its better to slip it a bit at a low power output than to grind it together under the full power of the engine and at high rpms. If you're running rough off-road conditions, your best bet is probably low range.