1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Any idea about these trailer brakes?

Discussion in 'Towing' started by TDubber, Mar 20, 2013.

1. Mar 20, 2013 at 7:31 PM
    TDubber

TDubber [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Dale
    Pinole, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB MT
    Sweet ones.
    So I'm new to owning a trailer and of course trailer brakes. I got this older 1993 Pace American 6x10 single axle trailer for a pretty good price. The guy that sold it to me said there were no trailer brakes, however I noticed a thick red wire running to the back of each hub. I believed him simply because 1) its old, and 2) it is a single axle 3000lb GVWR trailer. I took apart the hub to clean and re-pack the bearings. Thankfully they were pretty solid, but SURPRISE I have trailer brakes!

photo1-1_664e44e7f9328c7c519a96067148ad7742ab452d.jpg

They had plenty of spider webs and looked like they hadn't been touched/used/serviced in ages. I'm pretty familiar with drum brakes and how they operate but this one has me a little stumped since there is no brake master cylinder. Does anyone have any experience with something like this? How do they operate? How would I go about checking to see if they are even still functioning/able to function properly?

photo2_90f01b872805a84e3ee706cf227dcf3c6e45e442.jpg