Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Towing

Notices

Tow ball gets scratched

Old 08-30-2013, 09:56 AM   #1
mr2mki is one of the sharper tools in the shedmr2mki is one of the sharper tools in the shedmr2mki is one of the sharper tools in the shedmr2mki is one of the sharper tools in the shedmr2mki is one of the sharper tools in the shedmr2mki is one of the sharper tools in the shedmr2mki is one of the sharper tools in the shedmr2mki is one of the sharper tools in the shedmr2mki is one of the sharper tools in the shedmr2mki is one of the sharper tools in the shedmr2mki is one of the sharper tools in the shed
mr2mki's Tacoma Gallery
Tow ball gets scratched

I'm pretty new to towing, so I thought I'd seek some advice. I have a little harbor freight trailer that hooks up to a 1-7/8" ball. I used to tow it with a Subaru, and the ball got all covered in copper marks that seemed like scratches- mostly on the left and right sides of the ball.

With the Tacoma, I got a new hitch tongue and ball, and hoped that this time now that I was better with lubricating the ball and getting the hitch to the right snugness, I wouldn't scratch up the ball. Yet here I am today, towed the damn trailer maybe twenty miles and the ball already has those copper markings.

Does anyone know what they are? What they are from? Do I need to care about them? I'm not sure they actually are scratches- the ball could easily be plated, that part I buy, but the only copper-colored metals I know of would make terrible hitch balls.

Right now I use a very light coating of hi-temp axle grease.
Old 08-30-2013, 10:16 AM   #2
Spindifferent has a spectacular aura aboutSpindifferent has a spectacular aura about
Spindifferent's Tacoma Gallery
Normal and nothing to worry about. I have 3 recently purchased hitch balls and all have had the chrome surface scratched to show copper-like scratches. Reese, Draw-Tite, Curt balls have all scratched.

Keep some grease on them and all will be good.