1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Recovery/Tow Straps

Discussion in 'Recovery' started by phil217, Nov 26, 2013.

1. Nov 26, 2013 at 3:02 PM
    phil217

phil217 [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Phil
    Seattle
    Vehicle:
    09 DC LB Silver Tacoma

I am new to the whole Recovery/Tow strap thing. I wanted topurchase a good strap and have found some good info on the forums (ARB,Wheeler, etc). My question is where do you guys hook up the D rings either tothe back or front of the Tacoma?

Also, If towing someone else out, where would you attach thestrap on the other vehicle? Would you attach another Ring?

Thanks!

2. Nov 26, 2013 at 3:28 PM
    MudFlap

MudFlap Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Tim
    Memphis (north mississippi)
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Off Road
    First thing is there is a difference between a tow strap and recovery strap. Youll want to use a tow strap for simple type towing (like on road type use). A recovery strap (AKA snatch strap) is used for stuck vehicles and they are made to give a little stretch to use kenetic energy to help get the stuck vehicle out. Keep in mind a TOW strap will have HOOKS and will not stretch and are dangerous if yanked on for stuck type situations. A RECOVERY strap will have looped ends.

As far as the D rings go (AKA recovery shackles), make sure ya dont go cheap here (dont go cheap on any of this stuff really), make sure to get a properly rated shackle. When a cheap shackle fails it can become a leathal projectile and seriously injure or kill someone.