Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Towing

Notices

Recovery/Tow Straps

Old 11-26-2013, 03:02 PM   #1
phil217 has much to be proud ofphil217 has much to be proud ofphil217 has much to be proud ofphil217 has much to be proud ofphil217 has much to be proud ofphil217 has much to be proud ofphil217 has much to be proud ofphil217 has much to be proud of
Name: Phil
phil217's Tacoma Gallery
Recovery/Tow Straps

I am new to the whole Recovery/Tow strap thing. I wanted topurchase a good strap and have found some good info on the forums (ARB,Wheeler, etc). My question is where do you guys hook up the D rings either tothe back or front of the Tacoma?

Also, If towing someone else out, where would you attach thestrap on the other vehicle? Would you attach another Ring?

Thanks!
Old 11-26-2013, 03:28 PM   #2
MudFlap is a splendid one to beholdMudFlap is a splendid one to beholdMudFlap is a splendid one to beholdMudFlap is a splendid one to beholdMudFlap is a splendid one to beholdMudFlap is a splendid one to beholdMudFlap is a splendid one to behold

Name: Tim
MudFlap's Tacoma Gallery
First thing is there is a difference between a tow strap and recovery strap. Youll want to use a tow strap for simple type towing (like on road type use). A recovery strap (AKA snatch strap) is used for stuck vehicles and they are made to give a little stretch to use kenetic energy to help get the stuck vehicle out. Keep in mind a TOW strap will have HOOKS and will not stretch and are dangerous if yanked on for stuck type situations. A RECOVERY strap will have looped ends.

As far as the D rings go (AKA recovery shackles), make sure ya dont go cheap here (dont go cheap on any of this stuff really), make sure to get a properly rated shackle. When a cheap shackle fails it can become a leathal projectile and seriously injure or kill someone.