1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Travel Trailer Assistance Request

Discussion in 'Towing' started by liveload, Jul 10, 2014.

1. Jul 10, 2014 at 11:58 AM
    liveload

liveload [OP] Active Member

Member:
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    07 Tundra 5.7L 4x4 Dbl Cab
    Hello All,

FNG here. I read through the Tacoma Towing Bible and it has been a tremendous help; however, I am now left with a conundrum: what travel trailer to buy. Also I am a true newbie when it comes to towing. While my 06 4x4 Access Cab v6 TRD Off Road comes with a towing package, I bought it used and I don't know what this pigtail is that is being described in the bible thread. Do I need to go find and buy one?

I am in Colorado Springs and am looking to spend 10K on a travel trailer to live aboard for the foreseeable future. I have been looking at several of them, but all the different brands/"made by" labeling has me confused. I confess I know nothing about the brands or their reputations. The more I look into it, the less I feel I know.

That having been said, is there information any of you care to share about what travel trailers are best, with respect to my truck's capacity? Are there brands and/or makes to stay away from? Thanks in advance.

Very Respectfully,

Ll

Edit: I would like to add that I am not married to a travel trailer as a live-aboard. I am open to other RV suggestions as well if there are better solutions out there for the same money. I've never thought about towing my Tacoma behind a larger RV type vehicle, I don't even know if that's possible, tbh.

Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
  2. Jul 10, 2014 at 12:40 PM