1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

First Towing rig...

Discussion in 'Towing' started by winker2112, Aug 4, 2009.

1. Aug 4, 2009 at 6:11 PM
    winker2112

winker2112 [OP] Member

Member:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    09 MG 4x4 TRDsport DC
    Well I finally decided that I'm gonna put the taco to work. Bought this used from someone in NJ...

trailer1_9ca192ce43139f3cfd1727a54adef278af0266c6.jpg

Gonna be towing this back and forth to the track...

bluey2_a3ba52ad7d60d298a169540bd7ee667401aaac37.jpg

It will also be helpful because I'm a mechanic, and I do alot of side work out of my garage. Now I have something to tow broken cars down to the garage with, which is a big deal, because most of my customers are high boost turbo cars that tend to need constant attention.

This is my first time towing a trailer (towed a car dolly with no brakes once, but that was a short distance), so I'm a lil nervous. I have a tekonsha prodigy brake controller on the way, and a set of firestone air bags too. The track is easily over 90miles one way, so I figured instead of keep taking the risk of breaking at the track (face it, it's a dodge!), and having to pay to get it towed all the way back to my shop, now I can just load it up, and tow it home.

I read the towing bible, but I did have a question that I did not see covered.