Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > Toyota Trucks & SUVs

Notices

AWD vs 4WD

Old 08-01-2012, 06:49 PM   #1
undersc0re is on a distinguished road
undersc0re's Tacoma Gallery
AWD vs 4WD

I am looking to buy a tacoma, prob new or close to it. I notice some say awd and some say 4wd, is one better than the other, I would rather have 4x4 when I want it only don't like it kicking in and out on the snowy highway, I will be using the truck in snow, light mud, gravel hilly terrain, so I was hoping to get an option for a locking rear diff for extra traction on my adventures...not sure if there is an option for front locking diff...

I would like advice on options I should seek on my new purchase...and options I should steer away from! I am new to toyota...my last truck was too big to fit down most bush trails and I would like a good solid smaller 4x4 and the toyota seems like a real good truck!

Looking for a good lift kit/larger tire and rim combo, I am sure they all work well, but would like to know what to stay away from! What size works well in terms of lift size and tire/rim combo for clearance issues etc...I am not doing any hardcore 4x4ing just don't want to get stuck in deep snow and mud/sand, and need to clear some bumpy hilly backroad obstacles. Going to keep reading and I will probably answer most of these questions over the next couple weeks I am sure but would love to know what combo works best for the money etc...
Old 08-01-2012, 06:53 PM   #2
Banned