Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > Toyota Trucks & SUVs

Notices

New to "off roading" which Toyota question

Old 03-30-2013, 10:35 PM   #1
Jedi5150 is on a distinguished road
Law Enforcement:
Jedi5150's Tacoma Gallery
New to "off roading" which Toyota question

Hello all, FNG here, and I'm new to off-roading. I don't have the cash or the time to dive head over heals into a new hobby at the moment, but I'd still like to get a bit into off roading.

For starters, I'm going to be attending my first Overland Expo in AZ this May. My primary question is about which Toyota to use as my off-roading vehicle. I have a 2002 4Runner "sport" edition w/ V6 (195k miles), and a 2009 dual-cab Tacoma short bed, with the 17" wheel option (100k miles). I've done light offroading with both, and have very little preference between them. I've owned both since they were new.

Not being the least bit mechanically inclined, I don't know which of these two is generally believed to be the better for off roading...or the better base vehicle if I ever really got into upgrades.

Thanks in advance for any help.

PS- Out of curiosity, would the 17" wheels from my 2010 Taco mount just fine on the 2002 4Runner? The 4Runner is fully paid off, so if I messed it up off roading I'd probably cry less.
Old 03-30-2013, 10:36 PM   #2
braaap
steve o 77 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsteve o 77 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsteve o 77 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsteve o 77 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsteve o 77 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsteve o 77 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsteve o 77 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsteve o 77 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsteve o 77 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsteve o 77 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsteve o 77 is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Steven
steve o 77's Tacoma Gallery
which one is 4wd?
Old 03-30-2013, 10:39 PM   #3