1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

03 Tundra vs. 06 Tacoma (Please help!)

Discussion in 'Toyota Trucks & SUVs' started by Renhalt, Oct 6, 2009.

1. Oct 6, 2009 at 6:57 PM
    Renhalt

Renhalt [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Tom
    Florida
    Hello all, I am a newbie and need your help. I have an 03 Tundra 2 wheel drive ext cab. I have racked up 190k on it and it runs like the day I bought it. I have always liked the Tacoma and am considering a change. So here is my problem. I am thinking of selling my Tundra for what i owe and buying a 06 Tacoma 4x4, quad cab, loaded up with 21k on it. My questions are as follows: what kind of REAL mpg ru getting, how does the 4.0 compare to the 4.7 as far as power and acceleration, how much difference in interior space and what about riding comfort? I am really torn, I have also looked at the newer Tundras but don't want to haul a tanker truck behind it to refuel. I have also heard that the new tundras ride like crap. I drive a lot of highway miles but also a lot of back roads. My tundra now runs and rides great and my wife seems to think I will not be happy with the tacoma. She seems to think they are a lot smaller. I guess the main reason I like the tacomas so much is the way they look, the after market parts that are available and so on. Plus some added saving on gas. Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2. Oct 6, 2009 at 7:15 PM
    Simon's Mom

Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

Member:
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    NEK Island Pond VT
    Vehicle:
    24 Tundra Trd Sport former 13 TRD OR
    Stock for now