Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

TPMS question

Reply
 
* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2010, 07:35 PM   #1
ARKTaco [OP] ARKTaco is offline
Junior Member
ARKTaco is on a distinguished road
Name: Brett
Joined: Nov 2010, #45656
Location: little rock ar
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
ARKTaco's Tacoma Gallery
TPMS question

I will be upgrading my tires and wheels soon and was wondering what most guys do about the tpms? Do you purchase new ones or remove them from the stock wheel? Is there a way to just deactivate the sensors or if you buy new ones where do you buy them? thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 08:14 PM   #2
Wag More Bark Less
Simon's Mom is one of the sharper tools in the shedSimon's Mom is one of the sharper tools in the shedSimon's Mom is one of the sharper tools in the shedSimon's Mom is one of the sharper tools in the shedSimon's Mom is one of the sharper tools in the shedSimon's Mom is one of the sharper tools in the shedSimon's Mom is one of the sharper tools in the shedSimon's Mom is one of the sharper tools in the shedSimon's Mom is one of the sharper tools in the shedSimon's Mom is one of the sharper tools in the shedSimon's Mom is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Simon's Mom's Avatar
Army: Retired 1983-2007 Signal O4
Name: Judy or Jude :)
Joined: Apr 2007, #1297
Location: SBurl Vermont
Gender: Chick
Posts: 8,150
Simon's Mom's Tacoma Gallery
Hi Welcome to the forum
Not sure if you have stock alloys or stock steel rims...
The stock alloy sensors move over to most aftermarket rims without issue. The tire installer can handle that.
The steel rims use a different angled sensor (40 vs 20 or visa versa i cannot remember),
its been said tire installers can turn them 180 degrees or others use a band kit inside the rim.
Either way, the sensors that came with your truck have ids on them which are programmed into your truck's tpms ecu. It only holds 5 codes at a time.
If you choose to buy new sensors, those codes need to get programmed into the ecu to work. $$ or you can buy a tool from tire rack and do it yourself $
Others fool the system by taking their sensors, putting them in a wheelbarrow tire or pipe bomb and pressured it up.
Other use a penny's worth of black tape and cover the idiot light blinking on the dash.
Some take out the bulb.
There are other mods too.

sooooo whew....there is a lot of info covered here and if you search tpms you will get a ton of threads...outlining just what I typed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 06:38 AM   #3
KPT KPT is offline
sees what you did there.
KPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shedKPT is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
KPT's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2009, #22227
Gender: Male
Posts: 32,404
KPT's Tacoma Gallery
Welcome to TW. Judy covered what you need to know...just wanted to add that if the new rims you get were made more than a few years ago (for example I bought BBS's from 2004 on craigslist), they were not designed to accommodate TPMS and the tire shop may have difficulty fitting them. Discount tire had to use TPMS straps to fit mine. I've had no issues with them though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:04 AM   #4
Senior Member
NetMonkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedNetMonkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedNetMonkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedNetMonkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedNetMonkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedNetMonkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedNetMonkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedNetMonkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedNetMonkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedNetMonkey is one of the sharper tools in the shedNetMonkey is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NetMonkey's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2008, #8536
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,647
NetMonkey's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon's Mom View Post
Hi Welcome to the forum
The stock alloy sensors move over to most aftermarket rims without issue.
yup. the stock tpms sensors worked on my moto metal rims.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS P/N question ??? bizjettech Wheels & Tires 1 12-26-2011 06:02 PM
Another TPMS Question blaurence50 Wheels & Tires 6 12-14-2010 12:37 PM
TPMS question SR54x4 Wheels & Tires 6 08-27-2010 10:03 AM
Another TPMS Question jdd22 Wheels & Tires 1 07-29-2008 09:58 PM
Question about my tpms dbossman69er Wheels & Tires 8 04-09-2008 04:16 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.