Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

Low Tire Pressure Indicator

Reply
 
* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-02-2008, 02:27 AM   #1
JWWPHOTO [OP] JWWPHOTO is offline
Member
JWWPHOTO is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jun 2008, #7162
Location: Westlake, Louisiana
Posts: 50
JWWPHOTO's Tacoma Gallery
Low Tire Pressure Indicator

How does this gizmo work?

I had my first tire rotation yesterday. I have never owned a vehicle with this feature and was wondering how the truck can sense when tire pressure falls below the threashold.



Thanks

Jeff W. Waldrop
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 02:38 AM   #2
Senior Member
45longcolt is one of the sharper tools in the shed45longcolt is one of the sharper tools in the shed45longcolt is one of the sharper tools in the shed45longcolt is one of the sharper tools in the shed45longcolt is one of the sharper tools in the shed45longcolt is one of the sharper tools in the shed45longcolt is one of the sharper tools in the shed45longcolt is one of the sharper tools in the shed45longcolt is one of the sharper tools in the shed45longcolt is one of the sharper tools in the shed45longcolt is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
45longcolt's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2007, #3663
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 545
45longcolt's Tacoma Gallery
The valves in our tires are special as they are actually pressure sensor units, spare included. When the pressure level drops below a certain level, the TPMS lamp goes on and stays on until the faulty pressure is corrected.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 02:35 PM   #3
Senior Member
fritzthecat will become famous soon enough
 
fritzthecat's Avatar
Navy:
Joined: Jun 2008, #7217
Location: Virginia Beach
Gender: Male
Posts: 109
fritzthecat's Tacoma Gallery
The valvestems in the 5 tires contain a pressure sensor and an RF transmitter.
The truck has a receiver.
The 'reset' button underneath the dash sets the current pressure in the tires.
When the pressure changes +/- 4 psi, the TPMS light in the dash will come on solid.
If the TPMS light flashes you have a malfunction in the system.
Steel wheel and aluminum wheel sensors are not interchangeable.
Each sensor is about U$120 at the dealer.
Each sensor has a unique GUID number that must be programmed into the truck ECU.

Fritz
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 03:07 PM   #4
JWWPHOTO [OP] JWWPHOTO is offline
Member
JWWPHOTO is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jun 2008, #7162
Location: Westlake, Louisiana
Posts: 50
JWWPHOTO's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks, thats bout explains matters.....

I appreciate both responses!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 04:46 PM   #5
JWWPHOTO [OP] JWWPHOTO is offline
Member
JWWPHOTO is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jun 2008, #7162
Location: Westlake, Louisiana
Posts: 50
JWWPHOTO's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks, that explains matters.....

I appreciate both responses!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 05:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
linkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud of
 
linkfeeney's Avatar
Name: link the stink!
Joined: Dec 2006, #393
Location: aberdeen, nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,531
linkfeeney's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by fritzthecat View Post
The valvestems in the 5 tires contain a pressure sensor and an RF transmitter.
The truck has a receiver.
The 'reset' button underneath the dash sets the current pressure in the tires.
When the pressure changes +/- 4 psi, the TPMS light in the dash will come on solid.
If the TPMS light flashes you have a malfunction in the system.
Steel wheel and aluminum wheel sensors are not interchangeable.
Each sensor is about U$120 at the dealer.
Each sensor has a unique GUID number that must be programmed into the truck ECU.

Fritz
so another word, when u get new tires, the new stems will work for the sensors?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 05:47 PM   #7
This is TW. One never knows what is a joke anymore
beastlytaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeastlytaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeastlytaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeastlytaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeastlytaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeastlytaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeastlytaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeastlytaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeastlytaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeastlytaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeastlytaco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
beastlytaco's Avatar
Name: Ian
Joined: Jun 2008, #7660
Gender: Dude
Posts: 4,086
beastlytaco's Tacoma Gallery
yeah and rims as well?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 08:13 AM   #8
Member
marvin02 is on a distinguished road
 
marvin02's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3427
Posts: 73
marvin02's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by linkfeeney View Post
so another word, when u get new tires, the new stems will work for the sensors?
You may want to read Tire Pressure Monitoring Systems info at the Tire Rack site.

Here is a good thread about the Tacoma sensor system at Toyota Nation.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 04:03 PM   #9
eLTacoMaN
gizbo is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2008, #9757
Location: Deweyville, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
gizbo's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to gizbo Send a message via Yahoo to gizbo
Does this also include the spare? My light has been on for months, I have the four tires all at the same pressure. When I have tried to reset the switch, the indicator light does not go off.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 04:18 PM   #10
UnderWater Monopoly Champion
TicTacOma is one of the sharper tools in the shedTicTacOma is one of the sharper tools in the shedTicTacOma is one of the sharper tools in the shedTicTacOma is one of the sharper tools in the shedTicTacOma is one of the sharper tools in the shedTicTacOma is one of the sharper tools in the shedTicTacOma is one of the sharper tools in the shedTicTacOma is one of the sharper tools in the shedTicTacOma is one of the sharper tools in the shedTicTacOma is one of the sharper tools in the shedTicTacOma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
TicTacOma's Avatar
Air Force: F-15 Crew-Chief
Name: Anastatia Beaverhausen
Joined: Dec 2007, #3840
Location: Columbia,SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,942
TicTacOma's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via Yahoo to TicTacOma
If you still have all the original paperwork for your truck, look in the owners manual pouch. There is a sheet with 5 bar code labels. Those are for the tire pressure doo-hickies.
(I think)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 04:25 PM   #11
eLTacoMaN
gizbo is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2008, #9757
Location: Deweyville, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
gizbo's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to gizbo Send a message via Yahoo to gizbo
Thumbs up Low tire pressure indicator

Thanks for the info. I will review this when I return home on Wednesday.

gizbo
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 05:26 PM   #12
Senior Member
linkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud of
 
linkfeeney's Avatar
Name: link the stink!
Joined: Dec 2006, #393
Location: aberdeen, nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,531
linkfeeney's Tacoma Gallery
i dont have to buy new senors when i get new tires??? do I? does not sound cheap!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 05:44 PM   #13
Who needs 4WD?
neslerrah is one of the sharper tools in the shedneslerrah is one of the sharper tools in the shedneslerrah is one of the sharper tools in the shedneslerrah is one of the sharper tools in the shedneslerrah is one of the sharper tools in the shedneslerrah is one of the sharper tools in the shedneslerrah is one of the sharper tools in the shedneslerrah is one of the sharper tools in the shedneslerrah is one of the sharper tools in the shedneslerrah is one of the sharper tools in the shedneslerrah is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
neslerrah's Avatar
Name: Harrelsen
Joined: Feb 2008, #4803
Location: Tucson
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,910
neslerrah's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by fritzthecat View Post
The valvestems in the 5 tires contain a pressure sensor and an RF transmitter.
The truck has a receiver.
The 'reset' button underneath the dash sets the current pressure in the tires.
When the pressure changes +/- 4 psi, the TPMS light in the dash will come on solid.
If the TPMS light flashes you have a malfunction in the system.
Steel wheel and aluminum wheel sensors are not interchangeable.
Each sensor is about U$120 at the dealer.
Each sensor has a unique GUID number that must be programmed into the truck ECU.

Fritz
All good information to know. Thanks fritzthecat!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 05:55 PM   #15
Senior Member
Okkine is a splendid one to beholdOkkine is a splendid one to beholdOkkine is a splendid one to beholdOkkine is a splendid one to beholdOkkine is a splendid one to beholdOkkine is a splendid one to beholdOkkine is a splendid one to behold
 
Okkine's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2008, #7590
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 772
Okkine's Tacoma Gallery
Does anyone know if tire pressure sensors are mandatory here in Canada. Sounds like it could be a handy tool, but not worth replacing should it become damaged.


Quote:
Originally Posted by linkfeeney View Post
i dont have to buy new senors when i get new tires??? do I? does not sound cheap!!
It looks like you only need new sensors if you change to the steel rims from aluminum, or vice-versa. But it also looks like you can only program 5 sensors at a time. So it will make things difficult if you want to have a set of winter tires.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 06:11 PM   #16
Senior Member
linkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud oflinkfeeney has much to be proud of
 
linkfeeney's Avatar
Name: link the stink!
Joined: Dec 2006, #393
Location: aberdeen, nj
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,531
linkfeeney's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrunesDoesTRD View Post
Nope....Only if you get rims that the TPMS sensors you have are not compatable.

Get your new rubbers put on- and reset the TPMS value after they are done.
bless u!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 06:45 PM   #17
Crazy Person.....
br217398 is just really nicebr217398 is just really nicebr217398 is just really nicebr217398 is just really nicebr217398 is just really nice
Joined: Jul 2008, #7920
Location: Orlando Florida
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 481
br217398's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to br217398
well i dont know if im special, or if toyota just likes me, but when i replaced my wheels and tires, the tpms sensors would not fit on the new rims. took the sensors out went to toyota ad asked if they had sensors that had more of a bend to fit the curvature of my wheel better, they came back with 2005 Corolla Sensors and did a trade really. no extra charge. Had them installed, and i still have my sensors
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
low tire pressure Barry J 2nd Gen. Tacomas 23 01-05-2012 10:21 AM
Tire Pressure Indicator Light ryane3681 Wheels & Tires 21 10-21-2009 04:12 AM
Low tire pressure sensor tanktodd Wheels & Tires 4 09-09-2009 02:28 PM
tire pressure, why so low? danteisme Wheels & Tires 5 08-24-2009 06:32 PM
Tire pressure is low Tino4980 Wheels & Tires 17 11-25-2008 08:35 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.