Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

I'm looking for definitive physics for tire/lift vs. fuel efficiency

* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-01-2011, 09:56 AM   #1
Taco-in-training
Mr G has much to be proud ofMr G has much to be proud ofMr G has much to be proud ofMr G has much to be proud ofMr G has much to be proud ofMr G has much to be proud ofMr G has much to be proud ofMr G has much to be proud of

Name: Steve
Mr G's Tacoma Gallery
I'm looking for definitive physics for tire/lift vs. fuel efficiency

Everyone I talk to says if I lift and put bigger tires my fuel efficiency would decrease. Can anyone prove this?

Logically, having a bigger tire should increase your fuel efficiency by increasing the gear ratio of your tire to your axle. Is it a lift thing, or a tire thing?

Note: I'm still a newb, and very limited auto-knowledge, but I'm a math guy and understand the physics.
Old 02-01-2011, 09:59 AM   #2
The Man!
JLee is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLee is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLee is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLee is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLee is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLee is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLee is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLee is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLee is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLee is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLee is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Jerry
JLee's Tacoma Gallery
Larger tires = more mass to turn thus giving you less mileage
Old 02-01-2011, 09:59 AM   #3
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)