Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

TPMS with Enkei RT-6's?

Reply
 
* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2008, 12:42 PM   #1
signosis [OP] signosis is offline
Junior Member
signosis is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2008, #9721
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16
signosis's Tacoma Gallery
TPMS with Enkei RT-6's?

I was wondering if the original TPMS's from the original Tacoma 17" TRD Sport wheels can be used and installed on a set of Enkei RT-6's?

If not, how would I be able to disable the Pressure Sensor?

Thanks ahead.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 12:57 PM   #2
Founder Socaltacomas.com
SocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
SocalMan22's Avatar
Name: Steve-0
Joined: Mar 2007, #1146
Location: So*Cal
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,128
SocalMan22's Tacoma Gallery
I would say yes because those 20's that you see on the xsp tacomas have enkei's on them Enkei WT4 wheels.
And how to disable the tpms you cant one of those things you would have to live with.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 01:05 PM   #3
signosis [OP] signosis is offline
Junior Member
signosis is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2008, #9721
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16
signosis's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalman22 View Post
I would say yes because those 20's that you see on the xsp tacomas have enkei's on them Enkei WT4 wheels.
And how to disable the tpms you cant one of those things you would have to live with.
Do you know how much each TPMS's are new and the going rate for used (ea)?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 01:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
Taco's for All has much to be proud ofTaco's for All has much to be proud ofTaco's for All has much to be proud ofTaco's for All has much to be proud ofTaco's for All has much to be proud ofTaco's for All has much to be proud ofTaco's for All has much to be proud ofTaco's for All has much to be proud of
 
Taco's for All's Avatar
Law Enforcement:
Joined: Sep 2008, #8937
Location: Vermont
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Posts: 218
Taco's for All's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by signosis View Post
Do you know how much each TPMS's are new and the going rate for used (ea)?

Thanks.
Ebay had one going for about $45.00 with 2 days left last time I checked. New I've heard stories of $100 - $150 new. The tire guy I deal with said look for the used ones and have Toyota reprogram them.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 02:00 PM   #5
Founder Socaltacomas.com
SocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
SocalMan22's Avatar
Name: Steve-0
Joined: Mar 2007, #1146
Location: So*Cal
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,128
SocalMan22's Tacoma Gallery
true my dealership told me 120 but try and do what taco for all is saying find some and get them reprogrammed
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 09:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
KaliTaco is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2008, #9675
Posts: 125
KaliTaco's Tacoma Gallery
if you looking to buy i have a set of 4 that im not using. just shoot me a pm. it was also pulled from a 17 inch trd sport rims. 08 model
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:01 PM   #7
signosis [OP] signosis is offline
Junior Member
signosis is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2008, #9721
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16
signosis's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalman22 View Post
true my dealership told me 120 but try and do what taco for all is saying find some and get them reprogrammed
Reprogrammed? How much would that cost?

Can't you "reprogram" the TPMS sensor by pressing on the TPMS reset button in the vehicle?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:07 PM   #8
Founder Socaltacomas.com
SocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
SocalMan22's Avatar
Name: Steve-0
Joined: Mar 2007, #1146
Location: So*Cal
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,128
SocalMan22's Tacoma Gallery
since they are new sensors toyota needs to use there magic wand to reprogram the new sensors to the computer or else you will have the light on in your truck, the reset button is only when you change tires etc.. And they shouldn't charge since you are spending that kind of money might be included
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:13 PM   #9
abides.
Brunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Brunes's Avatar
Coast Guard: LT- CG MH-65C/D Driver- CGAS NOLA
Name: Mark
Joined: May 2008, #7011
Location: Big Easy, USA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 17,732
Brunes's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Brunes
Quote:
Originally Posted by signosis View Post
Reprogrammed? How much would that cost?

Can't you "reprogram" the TPMS sensor by pressing on the TPMS reset button in the vehicle?
The sensors use a radio signal...They have to mate up your reciever with the radio transmitters in tires. Once that's done you can reset the pressure that the TPMS triggers the light at.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:25 PM   #10
signosis [OP] signosis is offline
Junior Member
signosis is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2008, #9721
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16
signosis's Tacoma Gallery
Ahh....didn't know that.

Thanks for the info guys!

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalman22 View Post
since they are new sensors toyota needs to use there magic wand to reprogram the new sensors to the computer or else you will have the light on in your truck, the reset button is only when you change tires etc.. And they shouldn't charge since you are spending that kind of money might be included
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrunesDoesTRD View Post
The sensors use a radio signal...They have to mate up your reciever with the radio transmitters in tires. Once that's done you can reset the pressure that the TPMS triggers the light at.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:29 PM   #11
Founder Socaltacomas.com
SocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
SocalMan22's Avatar
Name: Steve-0
Joined: Mar 2007, #1146
Location: So*Cal
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,128
SocalMan22's Tacoma Gallery
no prob
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Enkei Deep 6 or Enkei WT4 jospur Buy / Sell / Trade 6 07-07-2012 11:03 PM
WTB: RT Door, power, rt mirror, Rt/rr cab glass 1st Gen Coolidge Buy / Sell / Trade 0 01-19-2011 07:48 AM
UFC at RT O'Sullivan's Seabass Arizona 0 07-02-2010 03:47 PM
I need a Rt tail lens Turbo 1st Gen. Tacomas 5 09-17-2009 11:26 AM
goodyear wrangler rt/s tacomaman06 Wheels & Tires 31 03-18-2009 08:22 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.