Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

Noob questions about 33"s on stock 15x7 rims, with 2.5" lift

* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-07-2011, 01:13 PM   #1
woodpost is on a distinguished road
woodpost's Tacoma Gallery
Noob questions about 33"s on stock 15x7 rims, with 2.5" lift

hey guys, sorry, i'm new to tire/wheel sizing, and i leave for a road trip on Tuesday so am in a rush to figure this out.

i just had a 2.5"-3" suspension lift installed on my '99 4WD Xtra cab (awesome toytec kit) and it makes my 31" tires look like mini-donuts. i'm looking to get a set of 33" BFG T/A KOs, but i have a few questions:

1) with the lift + 33" tires, my truck will be 4"+ higher than before. should i be very concerned about stability/tip-over with the higher center of gravity and tire flex? or is the difference fairly inconsequential?
2) will the 33x10.5 fit without spacers/adapters/mods?
3) should i even consider the 33x12.5? i know it's pushing the upper limit and would be a bit bulgey and wear quicker, but maybe it's worth the wider stance? but if these require spacers/adapters, it's probably not worth it.

thanks!
Old 09-07-2011, 01:17 PM   #2
ilove_taco_ma has a brilliant futureilove_taco_ma has a brilliant futureilove_taco_ma has a brilliant futureilove_taco_ma has a brilliant futureilove_taco_ma has a brilliant futureilove_taco_ma has a brilliant futureilove_taco_ma has a brilliant futureilove_taco_ma has a brilliant futureilove_taco_ma has a brilliant futureilove_taco_ma has a brilliant futureilove_taco_ma has a brilliant future

ilove_taco_ma's Tacoma Gallery
i also have 31' bfg at on mine with 2.5 of lifts. i think with the 33 on 2.5 will rub on the pitch well and at the lower front plastic bumper. hopefully someone can chim in more.
Old 09-07-2011, 01:18 PM   #3
The Man!