Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

Another TPMS question

Reply
 
* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2007, 02:35 PM   #1
hammerdog [OP] hammerdog is offline
Member
hammerdog is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jun 2007, #1967
Posts: 63
hammerdog's Tacoma Gallery
Another TPMS question

I already did a search and could not find the answer to this, but if it has already been answered, I apologize.

I read the posts regarding TPMS and found the sensors on the steel wheels do not fit alloy wheels. If you buy new alloy wheels and new sensors, will you have to have the system reprogrammed by Toyota or just reset the system yourself?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 04:43 AM   #2
SC Member
sdupp is on a distinguished road
 
sdupp's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2007, #767
Location: SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
sdupp's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerdog View Post
I already did a search and could not find the answer to this, but if it has already been answered, I apologize.

I read the posts regarding TPMS and found the sensors on the steel wheels do not fit alloy wheels. If you buy new alloy wheels and new sensors, will you have to have the system reprogrammed by Toyota or just reset the system yourself?
Yes, you will need to have the system reprogramed....
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 12:00 PM   #3
hammerdog [OP] hammerdog is offline
Member
hammerdog is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jun 2007, #1967
Posts: 63
hammerdog's Tacoma Gallery
thanks....hopefully the dealer will not charge for this service
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 06:29 AM   #4
SC Member
sdupp is on a distinguished road
 
sdupp's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2007, #767
Location: SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
sdupp's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerdog View Post
thanks....hopefully the dealer will not charge for this service
Good luck on that one..
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 08:44 AM   #5
Member
nceguystaco is on a distinguished road
 
nceguystaco's Avatar
Joined: Jul 2007, #2086
Location: southern cali.
Posts: 53
nceguystaco's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via ICQ to nceguystaco Send a message via AIM to nceguystaco
just had rim installed on my 06 first set (16") would not fit because of over sized calipers but they had got them all mounted and they used them out of my steel wheels and just reset them and they would have worked fine they only charged me an extra 10.00 a wheel but when i had to change wheel to a 17" that i bought at 4wheelparts they used them as well but charged me 30. a wheel to reset them
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS question ARKTaco Wheels & Tires 3 11-04-2010 08:04 AM
TPMS question 0BlackTaco6 2nd Gen. Tacomas 13 10-24-2010 07:14 PM
TPMS question tacoma08MZ Wheels & Tires 16 02-24-2010 10:56 AM
Another TPMS question.... IndigoTaco Wheels & Tires 3 08-31-2009 03:47 PM
Another TPMS Question jdd22 Wheels & Tires 1 07-29-2008 10:58 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.