Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

You skinny 'tire'ers out there! 235's

* Tire Finding Tools Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2012, 09:27 PM   #1
brettb is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrettb is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrettb is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrettb is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrettb is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrettb is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrettb is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrettb is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrettb is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrettb is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrettb is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Brett
brettb's Tacoma Gallery
You skinny 'tire'ers out there! 235's

(Can skip to the bottom for main point)
I am currently in my first year of four years in college in Laramie Wyoming and snow will be an issue for me. Will be traveling down to CO a lot during winter as well.
I currently have 32x11.5 tires BFG AT's on my truck with little tread left. On a scale of 0-10 (10 being the best in snow) these get a 2 or so from me. I got stuck in such a little amount of snow it was ridiculous. It had almost no traction on packed snow.
Anyways I am going with 235/85/R16 GoodYear Duratracs. I have been a BFG lover at heart but these have the "severe snow use" rating on them and I'm impressed by that. And that they are more 'offroad tires' then other severe sun rating tires. (Getting for function not looks)
I've also read that skinnier tires aren't as great as wider tires at higher speeds. And that they don't do as well on asphalt, but...... not worried about mall crawlin'.

My question is how do you 235'ers like your tires being skinny? On the highway and on trails with or without snow?
Old 09-16-2012, 09:43 PM   #2
Bino9905 is on a distinguished road
Bino9905's Tacoma Gallery