Notices

Tire and Lift Questions

* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2012, 06:33 PM   #1
Texantaco is on a distinguished road
Name: Josh
Texantaco's Tacoma Gallery
Tire and Lift Questions

So heres the low down. I'm looking for new tires and I want something thats good both off-road and on pavement. However, I am a college student so money isn't exactly something I have copious amounts of.

I am looking at Pro comp Xtreme All Terrains, Toyo M/Ts, and Nitto M/Ts in 285/75/16. Any other suggestions that are cheaper?

Currently, I have Bilstein 5100's on my truck and I am aware that I will need more lift and possibly spacers so the tires don't rub. Should I also look into 885 coils?

Sorry for all the questions, I just don't know where to start.
Old 10-03-2012, 09:23 AM   #2
brianpdx is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrianpdx is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrianpdx is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrianpdx is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrianpdx is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrianpdx is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrianpdx is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrianpdx is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrianpdx is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrianpdx is one of the sharper tools in the shedbrianpdx is one of the sharper tools in the shed
brianpdx's Tacoma Gallery
I wouldn't cheap out on the tires. Especially if you're a college student on a budget. If you're already on 5100s, why not stick with a more standard width tire? 285s are going to equate to some moderate trimming from what I understand, and you're probably going to have to consider some new components like you've identified.

I recommend staying in the 265mm width range and buy a reputable, proven brand like BFG or Goodyear.
Old 10-03-2012, 09:27 AM   #3
"Pick up some speed.. You'll make it."