Tire Rot?

* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2012, 08:18 AM   #1
mojoe is on a distinguished road
Name: Joe
mojoe's Tacoma Gallery
Tire Rot?

Good Morning!

I've recently became a proud owner of Tacoma Prerunner! Because I'm a noob when it comes to cars and Trucks, I grew up in NYC, I took the truck to a trusted mechanic in Tempe to do a buyer's inspection. The Truck is in great condition and I got a fairly good deal. The problem is the mechanic told me I had dry rot on the tire.

Well naturally I took it back to the dealership and he gave me a bunch of blah blah blah tire pressure blah blah blah. I took his word for it that rot wasn't the issue, mainly because it's a large dealership here in the area and I kinda figured they wouldn't want to jeopardize their reputation.....right?

I've done some research on tire rot and seen some really nasty pics. The tires I have on there are no where near what I've seen and people were still saying, "it's cool to drive, around town NOT highway"

I've got a trip coming up where I'm going to be heading up to Lake Powel, 5 hours away and I want to make sure the tires are in good condition to make the trip. Please have a look and let me know what you think. Thank you

FYI - The tire code puts them somewhere april 2010. Tire Brand is BFG All-Terrain T/A LT285/7-R17(121/118r) The tire shown is the back left one. I can take a photo of each one if necessary. Thanks again.
Attached Thumbnails
Tire Rot?-tacoma-tire2.jpg  
Old 10-09-2012, 08:20 AM   #2
Banned