Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

Tire Presure Sensors

Reply
 
* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2012, 08:31 AM   #1
Deadpair [OP] Deadpair is offline
Junior Member
Deadpair is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2012, #89824
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Deadpair's Tacoma Gallery
Tire Presure Sensors

Bought a second set of wheels , one wheel has a bad sensor . The plan was to have two sets of tires , one winter tread the other the highway tires that came on the truck for the warmer months. The Toyota dealer tells me that it cost $100 to program the sensors when I change over every season . Or I can take the sensors off the winter tires and just ignore the low pressure warning light. Does anyone have any experience with this issue ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
TenBeers is one of the sharper tools in the shedTenBeers is one of the sharper tools in the shedTenBeers is one of the sharper tools in the shedTenBeers is one of the sharper tools in the shedTenBeers is one of the sharper tools in the shedTenBeers is one of the sharper tools in the shedTenBeers is one of the sharper tools in the shedTenBeers is one of the sharper tools in the shedTenBeers is one of the sharper tools in the shedTenBeers is one of the sharper tools in the shedTenBeers is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
TenBeers's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Jun 2009, #18067
Location: Wildwood, MO
Age: 47
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,544
TenBeers's Tacoma Gallery
The electrical tape mod works to cover up the warning light during the winter months. The only thing you lose is the ability to know early when a tire is going down.

NTB programmed the new ones on my previous Tacoma for free, but I bought tires from them. $100 is kind of high, I would think a tire shop with the right equipment would charge about $30.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:39 AM   #3
Senior Member
Ghost848 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGhost848 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGhost848 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGhost848 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGhost848 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGhost848 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGhost848 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGhost848 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGhost848 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGhost848 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGhost848 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Ghost848's Avatar
Name: Tony
Joined: Mar 2012, #74480
Location: Alberta,Canada
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,435
Ghost848's Tacoma Gallery
Go to a tire shop they will program for alot less...if not free. Kal tire up here in canada walked out did a loop around truck plugged in under dash and walked back inside took 5 min
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:41 AM   #4
Deadpair [OP] Deadpair is offline
Junior Member
Deadpair is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2012, #89824
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Deadpair's Tacoma Gallery
Ok , good advice I'll check at the tire shop . Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eliminating Tire Presure Sensors Mtnbker343 Wheels & Tires 7 02-12-2011 01:19 AM
Tire Presure Sensor on 33 inch Tire Pitorro Wheels & Tires 3 07-09-2010 06:52 AM
4 Tire Pressure Sensors UofA Taco Buy / Sell / Trade 1 06-05-2010 03:21 PM
tire pressure sensors =( OldG Wheels & Tires 7 07-09-2009 06:00 PM
Tire Pressure Sensors MyTaco Wheels & Tires 10 08-28-2008 06:09 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.