Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

New wheel and TPMS question

* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2013, 02:43 PM   #1
JimmyRiddle is on a distinguished road
JimmyRiddle's Tacoma Gallery
New wheel and TPMS question

I just purchased a new Toyota Tacoma base model and am considering changing out the ugly OEM wheels (15 X 6). to black wheels. Are the TPMS transferable to the new wheels? I'm a bit of a noob at this. Any suggestions on 15 X 6 black wheels. I like the XD Series Enduro but they only come in 15 X 7. Thanks in advance.

Edit: Just noticed on Tirerack.com that steel wheel TPMS cannot be transferred to alloy wheels.
Old 05-05-2013, 06:15 PM   #2
Stealth Custom Series™
SCSPerformance is one of the sharper tools in the shedSCSPerformance is one of the sharper tools in the shedSCSPerformance is one of the sharper tools in the shedSCSPerformance is one of the sharper tools in the shedSCSPerformance is one of the sharper tools in the shedSCSPerformance is one of the sharper tools in the shedSCSPerformance is one of the sharper tools in the shedSCSPerformance is one of the sharper tools in the shedSCSPerformance is one of the sharper tools in the shedSCSPerformance is one of the sharper tools in the shedSCSPerformance is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Vin
SCSPerformance's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyRiddle View Post
I just purchased a new Toyota Tacoma base model and am considering changing out the ugly OEM wheels (15 X 6). to black wheels. Are the TPMS transferable to the new wheels? I'm a bit of a noob at this. Any suggestions on 15 X 6 black wheels. I like the XD Series Enduro but they only come in 15 X 7. Thanks in advance.

Edit: Just noticed on Tirerack.com that steel wheel TPMS cannot be transferred to alloy wheels.
You can reuse your sensors if you use a strap kit like this:

Talk to the tire shop first and check if the carry it.
Old 05-05-2013, 06:48 PM   #3