Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

TPMS & New Tires & Rims Question

Reply
 
* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2009, 08:23 AM   #1
thebigk [OP] thebigk is offline
6 Double 5 3 2 1
thebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
thebigk's Avatar
Name: Ken....
Joined: Aug 2008, #8770
Location: Odessa, TX
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,350
thebigk's Tacoma Gallery
TPMS & New Tires & Rims Question

When you guys order your tires & rims mounted and balanced online, do you just do away with your TPMS system?

Are most rims able to have the TPMS mounted on them?

Never changed tires & rims on a vehicle with TPMS so just wondering what most people do.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 03:16 PM   #2
thebigk [OP] thebigk is offline
6 Double 5 3 2 1
thebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebigk is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
thebigk's Avatar
Name: Ken....
Joined: Aug 2008, #8770
Location: Odessa, TX
Age: 39
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,350
thebigk's Tacoma Gallery
You mean NO ONE has info on this???

C'Mon
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 03:17 PM   #3
Do Work Son!
rossk35 is one of the sharper tools in the shedrossk35 is one of the sharper tools in the shedrossk35 is one of the sharper tools in the shedrossk35 is one of the sharper tools in the shedrossk35 is one of the sharper tools in the shedrossk35 is one of the sharper tools in the shedrossk35 is one of the sharper tools in the shedrossk35 is one of the sharper tools in the shedrossk35 is one of the sharper tools in the shedrossk35 is one of the sharper tools in the shedrossk35 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Mar 2009, #15197
Location: hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 879
rossk35's Tacoma Gallery
All new rims should/are designed for TPMS sensors. Just have to remember steel TPMS sensors are different then alloy TPMS sensors has to do with the mounting surface.

I swapped mine over when I got new rims.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 03:21 PM   #4
Lieutenant Dan.
DeeKay21 is one of the sharper tools in the shedDeeKay21 is one of the sharper tools in the shedDeeKay21 is one of the sharper tools in the shedDeeKay21 is one of the sharper tools in the shedDeeKay21 is one of the sharper tools in the shedDeeKay21 is one of the sharper tools in the shedDeeKay21 is one of the sharper tools in the shedDeeKay21 is one of the sharper tools in the shedDeeKay21 is one of the sharper tools in the shedDeeKay21 is one of the sharper tools in the shedDeeKay21 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
DeeKay21's Avatar
Firefighter: Lieutenant
Joined: Nov 2008, #10651
Location: Nevada/Utah
Gender: Guy
Posts: 13,774
DeeKay21's Tacoma Gallery
Not sure how you do it if you get it already mounted and balanced. They just took them out of my stock rims and put them into my aftermarket ones when I got mine done.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 07:17 PM   #5
Mall Cruiser Pilot
SuperD is a jewel in the roughSuperD is a jewel in the roughSuperD is a jewel in the roughSuperD is a jewel in the rough
 
SuperD's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2008, #11923
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 153
SuperD's Tacoma Gallery
Not sure if you are ordering new sensors with your wheels and tires, but if you had planned to, unless you are going from steelies to aftermarket wheels, I would order them without the sensors. Once you receive the new wheels and tires, take them down to the tire shop or dealership and have the sensors swapped over to the new wheels.

Here's why, you will have to get the new sensors programmed anyway, which will cost $$. New sensors are not plug & play with the Toyota system. It will, however, cost money to have the tires broken down and the sensors swapped, but it shouldn't be as much as the new sensors. If, whoever does the swap, happens to break a sensor it will be their responsibility to replace the sensor and pay to have it programmed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 07:24 PM   #6
Addicted Mod'r
ToyoComp is on a distinguished road
 
ToyoComp's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2008, #5684
Location: Tampa, FL
Gender: Dude
Posts: 113
ToyoComp's Tacoma Gallery
I didn't bother to add the TPMS to my new wheels as I don't need some dumbass light to come on the dash reminding me to check my tire pressure. I agree that if you still want this system then I would swap over the ones that came on your stock alloy wheels.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 07:33 AM   #7
College.
PatHLC128 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPatHLC128 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPatHLC128 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPatHLC128 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPatHLC128 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPatHLC128 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPatHLC128 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPatHLC128 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPatHLC128 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPatHLC128 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPatHLC128 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
PatHLC128's Avatar
Marines: Sgt/6153 - CH-53E Airframe/Hydraulics Mechanic, HMH-464, MAG 29, 2nd MAW
Name: Pat
Joined: Aug 2008, #8867
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,262
PatHLC128's Tacoma Gallery
if im just getting new tires put on my stock rims do i need to do anything or will the tpms work like normal?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 07:46 AM   #8
Senior Member
Joe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to beholdJoe B is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Oct 2008, #10290
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Joe B's Tacoma Gallery
Don't know how true this is but I've heard you can mount the tires with the sensors and the sensors can be programed at a Toyota dealer if you have the numbers that are on the sensors.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 08:19 AM   #9
Founder Socaltacomas.com
SocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
SocalMan22's Avatar
Name: Steve-0
Joined: Mar 2007, #1146
Location: So*Cal
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,102
SocalMan22's Tacoma Gallery
I had mine put on my rims, they came off the steelies and before that i the black tape mod lol.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 06:24 PM   #10
Senior Member
fibertop has a brilliant futurefibertop has a brilliant futurefibertop has a brilliant futurefibertop has a brilliant futurefibertop has a brilliant futurefibertop has a brilliant futurefibertop has a brilliant futurefibertop has a brilliant futurefibertop has a brilliant futurefibertop has a brilliant futurefibertop has a brilliant future
Name: roger
Joined: Sep 2009, #22912
Location: Ontario, Wasaga beach
Gender: Male
Posts: 563
fibertop's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToyoComp View Post
I didn't bother to add the TPMS to my new wheels as I don't need some dumbass light to come on the dash reminding me to check my tire pressure. I agree that if you still want this system then I would swap over the ones that came on your stock alloy wheels.
If you don't swap them over then the dumbass light comes on and stays on. this will drive you crazy. trust me.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'95 Tacoma on 14in rims looks like a toy need 15in rims & tires kai38` Wheels & Tires 0 01-13-2012 09:16 PM
17" TRD Sport wheels & tires w TPMS & lug nuts KevMc Buy / Sell / Trade 9 10-10-2011 08:38 AM
Ordering new tires, do I need tpms rebuilt kit & valve stems? mountain lion Wheels & Tires 5 02-20-2010 04:30 PM
2010 Taco Rims & Tires Question FastEd1500 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 02-19-2010 10:36 AM
Switching from the OFF Road RIMS& Tires to the Sport 17" Rims and Tires xraymikey 2nd Gen. Tacomas 30 09-30-2009 03:05 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.