Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

tire pressure light question??

Reply
 
* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2008, 11:03 PM   #21
Junior Member
08TurboTaco is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2008, #4324
Posts: 9
08TurboTaco's Tacoma Gallery
most of the replies to this are very close to being correct... The TPMS on the 05+ Tacoma DOES read actual pressure. Resetting the system is necessary anytime you change your tire pressures. When you reset the system by depressing the reset button, the TPMS ECU reads the current pressure and sets that pressure as the MEDIAN pressure, if the pressure is + or - 7.5psi after that point the light will illuminate. The pressure suggested on the door jamb is rated for stock tires, you have installed larger tires, and I assume that you are running a higher pressure. I also assume that you swapped the tire pressure sensors over to your new rims??? Try resetting the system and most likely your problems will be solved.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 04:50 PM   #22
Senior Member
eyball is on a distinguished road
 
eyball's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2008, #4886
Location: Quinebaug, CT
Posts: 181
eyball's Tacoma Gallery
I was trying to check my tire pressure on my truck for the first time and only two of my wheels out fo 5 had the sensors on them the other three(including the spare) just had regular valve stems. I snapped the front right one since it was stuck on and they are only alluminum. I had to put the spare on and take it to the tire place to have a new valve stem installed. They took out the sensor for me. I did not even realize my truck had sensors since I never had a light come on. I guess the previous owner disabled it? The tire guy said if any of the sensors were removed from the truck the light would come on. I also though only the TRD package came with the tire pressure monitor system. Mine is only SR5 with a log of other options but no TRD although the rims are the TRD rims.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 08:58 AM   #23
Junior Member
dave l is on a distinguished road
Air Force: pacaf
Joined: Jun 2008, #7058
Location: northeast
Posts: 4
dave l's Tacoma Gallery
tire pressure sensors,,,

if you change wheels and the sensors don't fit, put them inside the spare and air it up. The light will work as it used to. I recommend wrapping the sensors in bubble wrap. Mine have been like that for about 9000 miles and have been fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 09:17 AM   #24
Senior Member
eyball is on a distinguished road
 
eyball's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2008, #4886
Location: Quinebaug, CT
Posts: 181
eyball's Tacoma Gallery
My truck is a 2005 and I beleive it does not have the TP monitor system. I have since installed all new tires and no longer have any of the TPS sensors on my truck and there is no light on the dash. I do have one good sensor and one broken one if anyone wants to buy them. Cheap!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 09:52 AM   #25
Member
Fast Eddie is on a distinguished road
 
Fast Eddie's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2008, #5569
Location: Toronto, Ontario. Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 31
Fast Eddie's Tacoma Gallery
Thumbs down I'm knee deep in this one!

If you have the same TPS sensors then you should be able to turn the key to the "ON" position and hold the reset button untill the blinking does 3 slower blinks. ( You really have to pay attention).

If you replace the TPS sensor ( my spare was missing when I bought my truck), then you have to get the code off the new sensor and have the dealer re-program the ECU.

The dealer wanted $95 to program it and they said they would need the codes from all 5 tires so there would be a charge for breaking down all the tires to read the codes on the valves.

What a bunch of BS!! So I will leave the indicator light on and ignore it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 08:44 AM   #26
Senior Member
CometKat is a jewel in the roughCometKat is a jewel in the roughCometKat is a jewel in the rough
Joined: Apr 2008, #6182
Location: Carson City NV
Posts: 435
CometKat's Tacoma Gallery
I have a 08 SR5 with the steel wheels. I found a set of 08 wheels on Craigslist off a TRD off-road complete with sensors. I swapped them out thinking I’d then have to make a trip to the dealership to have them re-scanned (or whatever the procedure is). But the tire pressure warning light never came on. Go figure.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 09:12 AM   #27
Senior Member
CometKat is a jewel in the roughCometKat is a jewel in the roughCometKat is a jewel in the rough
Joined: Apr 2008, #6182
Location: Carson City NV
Posts: 435
CometKat's Tacoma Gallery
Well less than 12 hours after my above post the light came on and stayed on. Of course I checked for low air pressure all around. I did the swap about 3 weeks ago and now the light decides to come on? It flashes for a minute them stays on indicating a malfunction. Murphy’s Law I guess.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 11:29 AM   #28
Senior Member
CometKat is a jewel in the roughCometKat is a jewel in the roughCometKat is a jewel in the rough
Joined: Apr 2008, #6182
Location: Carson City NV
Posts: 435
CometKat's Tacoma Gallery
I took the truck to the dealer and the mechanic used a hand held scanner and was able to pull the codes from the new sensors. The whole job was done in about ten minutes. Interestingly, the guy at the service desk had never even heard of this new scanner that they had.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about low tire pressure light WABOOM 2nd Gen. Tacomas 21 07-29-2011 03:50 PM
tire pressure light johnny58 Wheels & Tires 8 04-08-2010 08:28 PM
Tire pressure light snowgod06 Wheels & Tires 42 12-21-2009 03:18 PM
Question about the low tire pressure light PA452 Wheels & Tires 8 01-06-2009 06:04 AM
Tire pressure light Jeff Wheels & Tires 10 11-19-2008 08:27 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.