Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Wheels & Tires

Notices

tire pressure light question??

Reply
 
* Tire Finding Tools Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2008, 11:41 PM   #1
tacoma74 [OP] tacoma74 is offline
Junior Member
tacoma74 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2007, #3897
Posts: 3
tacoma74's Tacoma Gallery
tire pressure light question??

just lifted my 06 tacoma with 6" suspesion and 3" body lift and put 35 mickeys thompson baja claws on it. now my tire pressure light goes on for a little while and then turns off and does it over and ever again. is there any way to prevent it from going on again???
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 12:31 AM   #2
Piss off
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 25,655
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
well...u can make sure all the pressures are good...and if u really want to stop it, u can have the sensors reset to accomidate (sp) the new psi that ur running

and also make sure that the spare has good pressure....if u still have one that is
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 01:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
mmatheny is on a distinguished road
Air Force: Aircraft Instrumentation Specialist
Joined: Feb 2008, #4818
Location: Dickinson, Tx
Gender: Male
Posts: 144
mmatheny's Tacoma Gallery
How does the tire pressure monitoring system work?? (technical)
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 01:45 PM   #4
My other ride has sails
Roland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Roland's Avatar
Army: Combat Arms Instructor, HQ Detachment, RING
Joined: Jan 2008, #4149
Location: Rhode Island
Age: 51
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,409
Roland's Tacoma Gallery
In short each tire including the spare has a pressure sensor that sends a radio signal to the truck. When any of the sensors send a result lower than a few PSI below what the truck is expecting it sets off the warning light. (low technical)
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 01:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
mmatheny is on a distinguished road
Air Force: Aircraft Instrumentation Specialist
Joined: Feb 2008, #4818
Location: Dickinson, Tx
Gender: Male
Posts: 144
mmatheny's Tacoma Gallery
Are they battery powered, or RF activated?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 02:22 PM   #6
My other ride has sails
Roland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Roland's Avatar
Army: Combat Arms Instructor, HQ Detachment, RING
Joined: Jan 2008, #4149
Location: Rhode Island
Age: 51
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,409
Roland's Tacoma Gallery
I can't remember where I read it but I think it is battery powered with an expected 10 year life.... But I've been wrong before.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 02:32 PM   #7
Senior Member
j4x4ar3 is a splendid one to beholdj4x4ar3 is a splendid one to beholdj4x4ar3 is a splendid one to beholdj4x4ar3 is a splendid one to beholdj4x4ar3 is a splendid one to beholdj4x4ar3 is a splendid one to beholdj4x4ar3 is a splendid one to beholdj4x4ar3 is a splendid one to behold
Name: Jay
Joined: Feb 2008, #4725
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 46
Gender: Male
Posts: 416
j4x4ar3's Tacoma Gallery
I know the TP system is different than on some other Toyota vehicles but I don't think it actually senses the real pressure in the tire but more the rotation speed. I could be wrong. HOWEVER you should have a button that allows you to reset the TP monitor which basically tells the truck that what it's currently got is the baseline and it monitors from there.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 02:44 PM   #8
My other ride has sails
Roland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Roland's Avatar
Army: Combat Arms Instructor, HQ Detachment, RING
Joined: Jan 2008, #4149
Location: Rhode Island
Age: 51
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,409
Roland's Tacoma Gallery
I know that on at least the 06 and up it measures actual pressure. The spare is the most likely tire to read low because no one remembers get under there to add air to it. I know it scared the heck out of me when the low pressure light came on while I was on the highway heading to work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:27 PM   #9
tacoma74 [OP] tacoma74 is offline
Junior Member
tacoma74 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2007, #3897
Posts: 3
tacoma74's Tacoma Gallery
jhodge83 how do i reset the sensor? do i have to get the ecu tuned for that?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:29 PM   #10
tacoma74 [OP] tacoma74 is offline
Junior Member
tacoma74 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2007, #3897
Posts: 3
tacoma74's Tacoma Gallery
thanks 4 da info everybody....
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:37 PM   #11
Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell outta my way
tacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacomaman06's Avatar
Name: Will
Joined: May 2007, #1475
Location: York,South Carolina
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 26,353
tacomaman06's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacoma74 View Post
jhodge83 how do i reset the sensor? do i have to get the ecu tuned for that?
you may actually have to have the dealer reset it for you. pushing the button under the dash usually works, but with the way your light comes/goes, im not really sure.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 03:30 PM   #12
Senior Member
Dutch will become famous soon enough
Joined: Feb 2008, #4609
Location: Wilmington, NC
Age: 57
Gender: Male
Posts: 155
Dutch's Tacoma Gallery
I had the same problem with mine. The TPMS seems like a good idea for the person that rarely checks or cannot properly check their own tire pressure. I disconnected mine after the tires and lift. The TPMS ecu is behind the dash and requires a lot of work to get to it. You can just unplug it, but then you still have to override the indicator lamp. Nothing too hard and no special tools required.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 03:34 PM   #13
`
rick is one of the sharper tools in the shedrick is one of the sharper tools in the shedrick is one of the sharper tools in the shedrick is one of the sharper tools in the shedrick is one of the sharper tools in the shedrick is one of the sharper tools in the shedrick is one of the sharper tools in the shedrick is one of the sharper tools in the shedrick is one of the sharper tools in the shedrick is one of the sharper tools in the shedrick is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
rick's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2007, #993
Location: clearwater, fla
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,477
rick's Tacoma Gallery
new rims?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 03:38 PM   #14
My other ride has sails
Roland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Roland's Avatar
Army: Combat Arms Instructor, HQ Detachment, RING
Joined: Jan 2008, #4149
Location: Rhode Island
Age: 51
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,409
Roland's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacoma74 View Post
jhodge83 how do i reset the sensor? do i have to get the ecu tuned for that?
There are instructions on how to set it in the owners manual. I don't remember the exact steps and don't want to steer you wrong by guessing.... I also don't want to walk out to my truck to look it up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 03:51 PM   #15
Senior Member
evile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
evile's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2007, #1290
Location: Orlando, Fl
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Posts: 573
evile's Tacoma Gallery
you have to set the tire pressures to what ever the door sticker says any thing else will cause the light to come on.

to reset the light it usually involves using a special tool that the dealer will have. certain type of sensors are mounted inside the tire called rim mounted these take a special tool to train, others are valve stem type these take a round magnet to train

trust me on this guy im a professional
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 04:14 PM   #16
Piss off
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 25,655
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by evile View Post
you have to set the tire pressures to what ever the door sticker says any thing else will cause the light to come on.

to reset the light it usually involves using a special tool that the dealer will have. certain type of sensors are mounted inside the tire called rim mounted these take a special tool to train, others are valve stem type these take a round magnet to train

trust me on this guy im a professional
my door said 29psi in all 5 for mine...but my 4 mains are running 35psi and my spare is still at 29psi and stock...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 04:50 PM   #17
My other ride has sails
Roland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shedRoland is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Roland's Avatar
Army: Combat Arms Instructor, HQ Detachment, RING
Joined: Jan 2008, #4149
Location: Rhode Island
Age: 51
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,409
Roland's Tacoma Gallery
OK Here it is from the 2006 tacoma owners manual.

To initialize the system perform the following:

1. Park the vehicle at a safe place and apply the parking brake. Stop the engine.

2. Adjust the pressure of all the installed tires (including the spare) to the specified level.

3. Turn the ignition key to "ON".

4. Push and hold the reset switch until the low tire pressure warning light blinks three times.


There is a notice as follows:

Do not push the reset switch without adjusting the tire inflation to the specified level. Otherwise, the low pressure warning light may not come on even if the tire pressure is low, or it may come on when the tire inflation pressure is actually normal.

_____________________________________________
Quotes over

The TPWS sets whatever pressure the five individual sensors are reading when you reset the system as correct. If you reset the system and you only have 20 PSI in one of your tires the truck will consider that to be correct and not display a low pressure warning until the tire would be almost flat. Also if you have a pressure of 45 PSI in a tire the system would end up displaying a low pressure warning when that tire would get down to about 35ish PSI. Yes I'm using extremes for my examples.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 05:00 PM   #18
Senior Member
evile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shedevile is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
evile's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2007, #1290
Location: Orlando, Fl
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Posts: 573
evile's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhodge83 View Post
my door said 29psi in all 5 for mine...but my 4 mains are running 35psi and my spare is still at 29psi and stock...
then your light is probably on i think its +/- 3psi
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 05:05 PM   #19
Piss off
jhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shedjhodge83 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
jhodge83's Avatar
Air Force: former TSgt/E6, 3D172, Cyber Transport, NC Air Guard and prior AD
Name: Jamie
Joined: Apr 2007, #1432
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 25,655
jhodge83's Tacoma Gallery
nah...my light hasnt been on at all. and when the dealer installed the new rubber, they didnt recalibrate them.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 10:16 AM   #20
Wherever I May Roam
SteelCity will become famous soon enoughSteelCity will become famous soon enough
 
SteelCity's Avatar
Navy: Navy Corpsman, LT, FMF (RET), U.S. Marines 4th LSB, Shock-Trauma Platoon
Joined: Dec 2007, #3921
Location: Charleston, SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
SteelCity's Tacoma Gallery
There is a thread on either TN or Custom Tacos to disable / bypass the whole system. I tried to pull up TN, but the site is down right now. Access to bypass it is done by removing the glove box to get to the harness. The guy who did the mod also made it so it can be reversed if needed. I haven't had any issues with mine yet, but if I do I'm going to disable it.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about low tire pressure light WABOOM 2nd Gen. Tacomas 21 07-29-2011 03:50 PM
tire pressure light johnny58 Wheels & Tires 8 04-08-2010 08:28 PM
Tire pressure light snowgod06 Wheels & Tires 42 12-21-2009 03:18 PM
Question about the low tire pressure light PA452 Wheels & Tires 8 01-06-2009 06:04 AM
Tire pressure light Jeff Wheels & Tires 10 11-19-2008 08:27 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.