1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tire and Suspension upgrade help

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by GT_Taco, Oct 7, 2014.

1. Oct 7, 2014 at 6:16 PM
    GT_Taco

GT_Taco [OP] Newbie here

Member:
    Marietta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2016 4Runner 4x4 Limited Metallic Gray
    5K LED interior lighting
    I did use the search function, and did not really find direct answers to what I was looking for, so I figured I would make a new thread to consolidate some information.

I have a STOCK (as far as tires/suspension are concerned) 2011 DC Long bed 4x4 TRD Sport Taco.

I have the original P265/65R17 Bridgestone Dueler H/T tires with about 45k miles on them. Honestly, it looks like I could easily get another 3-5k miles out of these based on tread wear and tire condition, but I am starting to shop.

This truck is my daily driver and is mostly highway with some limited off-road (nothing crazy) use. Based on what I have read so far, I am considering a replacement tire with a little more sidewall for better on road comfort. Will a LT265/70R17 fit the bill without any other modifications? (Looking at the Michelin LTX M/S2 based on reviews)

Related to that, I know I should start looking at suspension replacement around the 50k mi mark just based on life of existing parts. Can I get some decent suspension recommendations for improved highway ride to go along with that? I was leaning in the direction of one of the Icon packages like a Stage 2 or 3.

I would consider myself a novice in suspension components for trucks but I have definitely performed such upgrades on cars and my motorcycles before. Any advice welcome.