1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

07 Tacoma Prob...any ideas?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by DLaw, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. Feb 13, 2012 at 10:27 AM
    #1
    DLaw

    DLaw [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Member:
    #72736
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Fernandina Beach, FL
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma
    I have a 2007 Tacoma V6 XC. Automatic. When I put it in h4 or Lo 4, all that happens is the icons(axle and Lo4) on the dashboard blink and beep, but it's not going into H4 or Lo 4. I have had a Tacoma since 2000...this one is my 2nd one...never had this happen before, but seems like "it gon b e'spensive". ANY THOUGHTS?:confused:
     
  2. Feb 13, 2012 at 10:56 AM
    #2
    BlueT

    BlueT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Member:
    #15341
    Messages:
    5,645
    Gender:
    Male
    NorthEast
    Vehicle:
    07 Dbl Cab LB with LSD
    I moded 1999 Taco so much it had turned to Land Cruiser
    Right there, it sounds like you are not quite sure what you doing.
    in order to engage 4wd you need to be moving slowly on dirt road and then you simply turn the knob to 4wd position. You can get to 4L only after 4 hi is engaged (light stops blinking) and only when standing with truck in Neutral .
     
  3. Feb 14, 2012 at 6:58 AM
    #3
    DLaw

    DLaw [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Member:
    #72736
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Fernandina Beach, FL
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma
    Like I stated, This is my 2nd Tacoma. I have used 4wd several times in both trucks over the past 12 years. I have done what you suggested many times, and nothing seems to work. Something isn't right. Any other ideas?
     
  4. Feb 14, 2012 at 9:13 AM
    #4
    badger

    badger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Member:
    #70102
    Messages:
    773
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5
    It could be something as simple as a disconnected wire, or it could be a problem with the ADD or the actuator on the Tcase. Could be the 4wd ECU. I would check to see if any of these things are fused. Beyond that you start at the switch and work your way along.
     
To Top