1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

12v outlet not working

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Front sight, Feb 7, 2012.

  1. Feb 7, 2012 at 11:47 AM
    #1
    Front sight

    Front sight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Member:
    #10408
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    SW Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner TRD Sport
    ProComp 3"lift, LR UCA's,Destination 285/70/17's, 1.25 spidertrax, K&N drop in, 2nd filter removed, Dynomax catback, Weathertech liners,Toyota bed mat, Silverstar Ultra's, reverse lights,Wet Oklee's,bedlights and other small stuff.
    My 12v outlet is not working. My cig outlet is working fine, I checked the fuses behind the change bin and they were fine. Is there any other fuses in this system? Maybe behind the outlet? I just don't want to take apart the dash if I don't have to.
    Thanks

    Oh and I did a search and could not find an answer.
     
  2. Feb 7, 2012 at 1:15 PM
    #2
    wing103

    wing103 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7807
    Messages:
    1,130
    Gender:
    Male
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD Sport / Dark Gray
    Grill Craft upper & Lower Grill WetOK Seat Cover, Devil Horn, Bug, Windows Deflector, Side step Bar, HID 55W 8000K Headlight, HID 35W 4000K Foglight, Fog Light Mod, Interior LED Map Light Mod, Electric Tail Gate Lock, Leer Cab, Key ring light, Bed LED lights Mod, Kenwood DNX5120, Signal Mirror with Heat
    anoyther fuse box under the hook, behind the battery
     
  3. Nov 9, 2012 at 7:14 PM
    #3
    jpaw30

    jpaw30 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Member:
    #19726
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Im still having the same problem. My cig fuse blew so I changed that one in the coin fusebox.

    The 12v outlet is still not working
    I looked at the one under the hood and I have a 120alt fuse there but the 100 fuse is not in there. Could that be the reason?

    Thing is that it worked when I bought it from the previous owner, it did require that the power cord on my gps be in the right place to light up, however one day you couldnt get anything out of the outlet
     
  4. Nov 9, 2012 at 7:22 PM
    #4
    Front sight

    Front sight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Member:
    #10408
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    SW Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner TRD Sport
    ProComp 3"lift, LR UCA's,Destination 285/70/17's, 1.25 spidertrax, K&N drop in, 2nd filter removed, Dynomax catback, Weathertech liners,Toyota bed mat, Silverstar Ultra's, reverse lights,Wet Oklee's,bedlights and other small stuff.
    I found the problem with my outlet. I had to take apart the dash to get to it. The outlet has an inline fuse directly behind it. I deleted it. I'd rather change one fuse under my dash than take my dash apart. I used a thicker gauge of wire and soldered it in. No problems since.
     
  5. Dec 6, 2012 at 9:21 AM
    #5
    Devog7

    Devog7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Member:
    #65764
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Glendale, AZ
    Vehicle:
    07 DCSB TRD-Sport
    5% Tint USA Spec Bluetooth Wet Okole Seat Covers OME 2.5' Lift 1.25" Wheel Spacers

    How did you get the outlet out or get behind it?
     
  6. Dec 6, 2012 at 11:00 AM
    #6
    Front sight

    Front sight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Member:
    #10408
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    SW Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner TRD Sport
    ProComp 3"lift, LR UCA's,Destination 285/70/17's, 1.25 spidertrax, K&N drop in, 2nd filter removed, Dynomax catback, Weathertech liners,Toyota bed mat, Silverstar Ultra's, reverse lights,Wet Oklee's,bedlights and other small stuff.
    Getting to the fuse was kind of a pain-which is why I deleted it. You have to undo the center console and then remove the section of dash the outlet is connected to. The outlet does not pop out. The fuse is on one of the wires on the rear of the fuse. Hope it helps you some.
     
  7. Dec 6, 2012 at 3:24 PM
    #7
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    6,583
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    That is not a factory configuration. That would be an aftermarket outlet with an inline fuse.
     
  8. Dec 6, 2012 at 3:27 PM
    #8
    SOSHeloPilot

    SOSHeloPilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Member:
    #15422
    Messages:
    4,440
    Gender:
    Male
    U.S.A.
    Vehicle:
    2016 SR5, AC/LB, 4x2, V6, Auto, w/Tow, SiriusXM, Stock
    UnderCover SE, Bed Mat, Tint, Weather Techs & DashGoPro
    .
    . . . Sub'd
    .
     
  9. Dec 7, 2012 at 9:40 AM
    #9
    Front sight

    Front sight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Member:
    #10408
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    SW Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner TRD Sport
    ProComp 3"lift, LR UCA's,Destination 285/70/17's, 1.25 spidertrax, K&N drop in, 2nd filter removed, Dynomax catback, Weathertech liners,Toyota bed mat, Silverstar Ultra's, reverse lights,Wet Oklee's,bedlights and other small stuff.
    Don't know what to tell you :confused:. Fuse was there, I know that I didn't add it. It took me forever to figure out where the problem was. I wish I would have taken pic's. The fuse was sodered to the back of the outlet.
     
  10. Dec 7, 2012 at 9:43 AM
    #10
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,822
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    x2, someone was messing with your wiring. Do your outlets stay hot all the time or only when the ignition is on? Reason I ask is I re-wired another member's truck so his outlets were hot all the time and put the in-line fuse behind the dash, near the outlet.
     
  11. Dec 7, 2012 at 10:06 AM
    #11
    Front sight

    Front sight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Member:
    #10408
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    SW Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner TRD Sport
    ProComp 3"lift, LR UCA's,Destination 285/70/17's, 1.25 spidertrax, K&N drop in, 2nd filter removed, Dynomax catback, Weathertech liners,Toyota bed mat, Silverstar Ultra's, reverse lights,Wet Oklee's,bedlights and other small stuff.
    In the process of tying to find the problem to my none working outlet, I did wire my outlet's to be hot. But I did that. :notsure:
     
  12. Dec 8, 2012 at 2:02 PM
    #12
    jpaw30

    jpaw30 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Member:
    #19726
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    check all of my fuses in the box and they all appear to be fine?? Is there instructions somewhere for taking apart the dash to look at that outlet? or a different way to test it?
     
  13. Dec 8, 2012 at 6:23 PM
    #13
    canucktacoma

    canucktacoma Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Member:
    #92387
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    gta area, ontario canada
    Vehicle:
    sr5
    is it possible to add 12v up where garage door holder is,would like to add something there for the gps,
     
  14. Dec 8, 2012 at 11:43 PM
    #14
    landphil

    landphil Wishin' I was Fishin'

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Member:
    #52290
    Messages:
    2,384
    Gender:
    Male
    BC, Canada
    Vehicle:
    RIP 2006 Tacoma DCSB
    Tundra 5.7 mod
    Unless you have a regular cab or a five lug, it should already have the connector for the overhead display that the trd trucks get sitting above that roof console. Two of the pins will be ign+ and gnd, would be easy to connect to that for gps or other small loads. Pretty sure its been done and documented on here.
     
  15. Dec 9, 2012 at 2:04 PM
    #15
    canucktacoma

    canucktacoma Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Member:
    #92387
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    gta area, ontario canada
    Vehicle:
    sr5
    i've got a 2008 with holder & vanity lites there.probably missed post re how to,,if you know where to look let me know,,new to site & still finding my way.thanks mike
     
To Top