1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

'14 Entune Audio Plus in '09 - no weather or traffic

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by abfackeln, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. Feb 16, 2014 at 6:38 PM
    #1
    abfackeln

    abfackeln [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Member:
    #97154
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Rul Hawl, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport
    For those of you that have retrofitted a 2014 Entune stereo (non nav) into an earlier truck, have you been able to access weather and traffic info?
    I installed a 2014 Entune Audio Plus (non nav, non JBL) into an '09 Sport, thanks to the many threads on the forum. Everything works great, including bluetooth, but I am unable to get any weather or traffic info on the unit. I've Googled a bunch, and searched the forum, according the the Entune documentation, weather and traffic info is available on these units via HD radio (I'm picking up plenty of HD stations). When I select either traffic or weather from the apps screen, the unit displays "Downloading data" for a moment, and then does nothing. Am I missing something? Do I need a GPS or Sat antenna for this function to work?
    This isn't a deal breaker for me, but would like to get it to work.
     
  2. Mar 31, 2014 at 5:31 PM
    #2
    warriors_03

    warriors_03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Member:
    #16125
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Marcos
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma DCLB Sport 4x4
    Did you have any luck with this? I am having the same problem in my '12
     
  3. Apr 1, 2014 at 10:25 AM
    #3
    mjs12

    mjs12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Member:
    #124753
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    N.E. Ohio
    Vehicle:
    SR5, 4x4
    You need the Navigation antenna installed for the weather and traffic to work.
     
  4. Apr 1, 2014 at 11:16 AM
    #4
    warriors_03

    warriors_03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Member:
    #16125
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Marcos
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma DCLB Sport 4x4
    That's what I was discovering with better search hits. Any chance you know where to source one cheap? ~220 is the best I have found which is a bit rich for my blood.
     
  5. Apr 1, 2014 at 3:25 PM
    #5
    abfackeln

    abfackeln [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Member:
    #97154
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Rul Hawl, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport
    Nope, haven't figured it out yet. I've received conflicting responses, some have said I need to use the satellite radio antenna, and some have said I need the GPS antenna. Hesitant to buy one and get the wrong thing without knowing for sure.
     
  6. Apr 1, 2014 at 6:01 PM
    #6
    mjs12

    mjs12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Member:
    #124753
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    N.E. Ohio
    Vehicle:
    SR5, 4x4
    Search for the member FLTrucks on the forum. I believe you can get a Navi antenna there. I'm not sure of the price but have heard they are a much better value
     
  7. Apr 1, 2014 at 6:03 PM
    #7
    mjs12

    mjs12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Member:
    #124753
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    N.E. Ohio
    Vehicle:
    SR5, 4x4
    FYI...I installed a 2014 Entune Plus in a 2011. Traffic/Weather did not work until I installed the GPS antenna. Now all works fine.
     
  8. Apr 2, 2014 at 9:41 AM
    #8
    warriors_03

    warriors_03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Member:
    #16125
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Marcos
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma DCLB Sport 4x4
    Where did you get your antenna, or did it come with the unit?
     
  9. Apr 2, 2014 at 6:05 PM
    #9
    mjs12

    mjs12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Member:
    #124753
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    N.E. Ohio
    Vehicle:
    SR5, 4x4
    I bought it from the same person where I got the unit. I contacted him when I found out I needed it and he happened to have one. Before that I looked everywhere trying to find one. Just got lucky he had it. Did you try a private message to FLTrucks?
     
  10. Apr 2, 2014 at 6:09 PM
    #10
    mjs12

    mjs12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Member:
    #124753
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    N.E. Ohio
    Vehicle:
    SR5, 4x4
    Check out the install thread by steveo27. He has a lot of good info.
     
  11. Apr 9, 2014 at 1:24 PM
    #11
    warriors_03

    warriors_03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Member:
    #16125
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Marcos
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma DCLB Sport 4x4
    Just wanted to update that simply adding the GPS unit got the traffic and weather working almost immediately. Took maybe 10 minutes to update to my current location.
     
  12. Apr 15, 2014 at 2:33 PM
    #12
    Ed4741

    Ed4741 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Member:
    #127740
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Baltimore
    Vehicle:
    14 Tacoma
    Picked up my new 2014 Tacoma with Entune Audio Plus (no navi) last week and I am wondering if there is a way to adjust the traffic map. My map seems to be "stuck" centered over the Chesapeake Bay bridge, and I live about 50 miles west of there. I'd love to learn more about this traffic app if anyone has more info about it. Thanks much.
     
  13. Apr 15, 2014 at 3:58 PM
    #13
    weendoggy

    weendoggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Member:
    #121868
    Messages:
    168
    Gender:
    Male
    Aptos, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 ACOR 4x4
    Access Original Tonneau Cover; Toyota Side Tube Steps; Focal ISS690 front speakers; Clarion XC1410 mini amp; Gentex 453 rearview mirror with Homelink, Compass, Temp and Autodim; Prodigy P2 trailer brake controller, Heated Seats from www.cobraheat.com, BriteAss LED H/L and Fogs
    I don't think you can adjust that. It works off the HD signal. Mine shows a little blue dot (sort of) showing where I am on the map, but to tell you the truth, that thing is useless when driving. You can't make it bigger, can't move it to another area, goes blank when I cross the Sierra Nevada (no HD signal)...so, I use and intend on using my Garmin which is TONS better. The same goes for the weather app...no HD signal, no weather, solution was to add the auto mirror setup. :)
     
  14. Apr 15, 2014 at 5:55 PM
    #14
    Ed4741

    Ed4741 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Member:
    #127740
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Baltimore
    Vehicle:
    14 Tacoma
    Thanks. What is the "auto mirror setup"?

    Ed
     
  15. Apr 16, 2014 at 6:53 AM
    #15
    weendoggy

    weendoggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Member:
    #121868
    Messages:
    168
    Gender:
    Male
    Aptos, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 ACOR 4x4
    Access Original Tonneau Cover; Toyota Side Tube Steps; Focal ISS690 front speakers; Clarion XC1410 mini amp; Gentex 453 rearview mirror with Homelink, Compass, Temp and Autodim; Prodigy P2 trailer brake controller, Heated Seats from www.cobraheat.com, BriteAss LED H/L and Fogs
  16. May 16, 2014 at 6:03 AM
    #16
    PMDclassics

    PMDclassics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Member:
    #128961
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Todd
    Bismarck
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport
    Just bought a 2014 and have the Entunes premium and I cannot get the weather to work. I have HD Radio selected but it will not connect. I am thinking at this point that there are no HD Radio stations near me and that is why I get nothing.

    Also I simply want an external temp display and am disappointed there is none on my 2014 TRD Sport.
     
  17. May 17, 2014 at 4:07 AM
    #17
    abfackeln

    abfackeln [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Member:
    #97154
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Rul Hawl, NC
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Sport
    I used this map to see if there were any HD stations near me that we're transmitting weather and traffic... I didn't see ND listed though:

    http://www.totaltraffic.com/index.php/solutions/2013-04-02-15-39-16/coverageareas
     
To Top