1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

1986 4runner engine will not idle please help!

Discussion in '4Runners' started by sbarn5390, Apr 2, 2013.

  1. Apr 4, 2013 at 1:50 PM
    #21
    Boomtacoma01

    Boomtacoma01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Member:
    #27162
    Messages:
    868
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    09 BSP SR5 DC 4x4
    285/70/17 Dynapro MTs, Shrockworks front bumper, Armortech rear bumper
    Try checking the TPS and IAC too. I just went through all of this myself. Ended up being a small hole in the return line from the charcoal canister under the hood to the fuel tank. Now it runs like a top.

    Keep posting what you have checked out and we can suggest other things to try.

    Good luck.
     
  2. Apr 8, 2013 at 4:51 AM
    #22
    sbarn5390

    sbarn5390 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Member:
    #85216
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Sylva,NC
    Vehicle:
    86 4runner
    Yes checked that and there is pressure. I also pulled off the throttle body again and cleaned up the inside and the flap real good thought maybe it was sticking and causing the issue but still no help with keeping it idle. I am now checking all sensors that would possibly cause this issue.....anyone have any ideas at to if a sensor would cause this and where to start? ?
     
  3. Apr 8, 2013 at 5:31 AM
    #23
    Millertime187

    Millertime187 I'll be your huckleberry!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87698
    Messages:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Clay City, KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4 Single Cab Taco!
    EZ Lift/Pro Comp 3" lift. Spacer in front, add a leaf in rear, Bilstien 5100 shocks, TC UCA, 5% Tint all around, Painted all trim to match. Magnaflow muffler dumped, drop in k&n air filter, tinted tail lights
    Try to clean and check the TPS(throttle position sensor) an mass air flow sensor, with the mass air pull it out your air box if you can and clean with brake cleaner.

    So no idle when engine cold or hot(warm)

    Do you have a RPM gauge? If so what's the lowest it will run when you feather gas to keep it idle, running?
     
  4. Apr 8, 2013 at 5:49 AM
    #24
    sbarn5390

    sbarn5390 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Member:
    #85216
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Sylva,NC
    Vehicle:
    86 4runner
    I don't have an rpm gauge in mine. So I'm not sure how to go about letting you guys know where it idles when I feather the throttle. And no it wont idle at either engine temp hot or cold. It started having this issue where I had to crank it about five times and kinda rev a little to keep it to idle before I replaced the head and all the new parts.
     
  5. Apr 8, 2013 at 6:07 AM
    #25
    Millertime187

    Millertime187 I'll be your huckleberry!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87698
    Messages:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Clay City, KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4 Single Cab Taco!
    EZ Lift/Pro Comp 3" lift. Spacer in front, add a leaf in rear, Bilstien 5100 shocks, TC UCA, 5% Tint all around, Painted all trim to match. Magnaflow muffler dumped, drop in k&n air filter, tinted tail lights
    You could try and post in the technical part and maybe get a little more feedback. I'm not really sure. Have you checked the TPS? You can use a ohm meter and see the range it's putting out. Should change as gas is pressed between a certain range.
     
  6. Apr 8, 2013 at 6:19 AM
    #26
    sbarn5390

    sbarn5390 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Member:
    #85216
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Sylva,NC
    Vehicle:
    86 4runner
    This afternoon once I get off work I am going to be checking all sensors I haven't checked them yet just trying to rule out bad gaskets or bad vac lines first.
     
  7. Apr 8, 2013 at 4:02 PM
    #27
    sbarn5390

    sbarn5390 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Member:
    #85216
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Sylva,NC
    Vehicle:
    86 4runner
    Alright checked my MAF sensor even had two spares and plugged them all up and I can hear the flap and see it open when cranking but then after it starts it wont stay engaged. If you stick a screw driver in and hold the flap open the 4runner will continue to run and idle real smooth. So my question is does anyone know what would cause the MAF sensor from engaging properly? Is there a fuse for it or is it run by the computer?
     
  8. Apr 8, 2013 at 4:20 PM
    #28
    2012tacolover

    2012tacolover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Member:
    #93607
    Messages:
    1,921
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Norm
    CA/AL
    Vehicle:
    White PreRunner TRD Sport DCSB
    Tinted Windows, Black Nerf Bars, LED Dome & Map Lights, Snugtop Xtra-Vision, WeatherTech Digitalfit front and rear, trimmed Front Mud Flaps, BFG A/T KO's, Matt123 White Skid, Devil Horn Emblem Wet Okole front and rear seat covers! Future Stuff: Lift and new Wheels! :)
    I had a friend back in the 80's who had a Ford Escort that did the same thing, the car would run perfect, but would not idle at all, it ended up being the ECM, the program forgot how to idle. I know in the 86 4runner they also have an Engine Control Module, you may want to check that out, its easy to short out. Good luck in finding the trouble!
     
  9. Apr 8, 2013 at 6:26 PM
    #29
    sbarn5390

    sbarn5390 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Member:
    #85216
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Sylva,NC
    Vehicle:
    86 4runner
    Alright little update after installing a different ECM and 2 different AFM the truck will not idle still. However if you move the flap that is inside the AFM it will run just fine but if you let go of that flap it will stop instantly. Is it possible for an ECM just to forget how to idle? And what are the chances that @ ECM's are bad and 3 AFM's are bad as well?
     
  10. Apr 9, 2013 at 6:06 AM
    #30
    Millertime187

    Millertime187 I'll be your huckleberry!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87698
    Messages:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Clay City, KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4 Single Cab Taco!
    EZ Lift/Pro Comp 3" lift. Spacer in front, add a leaf in rear, Bilstien 5100 shocks, TC UCA, 5% Tint all around, Painted all trim to match. Magnaflow muffler dumped, drop in k&n air filter, tinted tail lights

    very slim, probally something else, i never did see, have you messed with the TPS yet?
     
  11. Apr 9, 2013 at 6:35 AM
    #31
    sbarn5390

    sbarn5390 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Member:
    #85216
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Sylva,NC
    Vehicle:
    86 4runner
    No would that cause the AFM to not want to engage?
     
  12. Apr 9, 2013 at 6:36 AM
    #32
    Millertime187

    Millertime187 I'll be your huckleberry!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87698
    Messages:
    1,920
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Clay City, KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 4x4 Single Cab Taco!
    EZ Lift/Pro Comp 3" lift. Spacer in front, add a leaf in rear, Bilstien 5100 shocks, TC UCA, 5% Tint all around, Painted all trim to match. Magnaflow muffler dumped, drop in k&n air filter, tinted tail lights
    not sure, have you tried to check and see if the AFM is getting any time of current, maybe the wire to it is broke???
     
  13. Apr 9, 2013 at 7:17 AM
    #33
    sbarn5390

    sbarn5390 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Member:
    #85216
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Sylva,NC
    Vehicle:
    86 4runner
    I will double check and see but I am sure that everything is hooked up a friend of mine that has gone through a bunch of these engines is helping me and even this has him stumped as to why it was running great with the bad parts and as soon as we put the new parts on it runs like this. But we have double checked every connection that we unplugged but I will look and see if we left something out at the AFM.
     
  14. Apr 9, 2013 at 11:31 AM
    #34
    2012tacolover

    2012tacolover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Member:
    #93607
    Messages:
    1,921
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Norm
    CA/AL
    Vehicle:
    White PreRunner TRD Sport DCSB
    Tinted Windows, Black Nerf Bars, LED Dome & Map Lights, Snugtop Xtra-Vision, WeatherTech Digitalfit front and rear, trimmed Front Mud Flaps, BFG A/T KO's, Matt123 White Skid, Devil Horn Emblem Wet Okole front and rear seat covers! Future Stuff: Lift and new Wheels! :)
  15. Apr 9, 2013 at 4:23 PM
    #35
    sbarn5390

    sbarn5390 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Member:
    #85216
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Sylva,NC
    Vehicle:
    86 4runner
    Thanks for the help I also found that guys post and my friend had an extra ECM that matched mine in one of the 4runners he has we tried swapping and still no idle but not sure if that computer is bad as well or not and I don't really have the money to take a gamble on purchasing a new one and then it not solving my problem. But guess I have to do what I have to to be able to cross things off my list of what it isn't.
     
  16. Apr 10, 2013 at 5:26 AM
    #36
    stroked383z

    stroked383z Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Member:
    #100276
    Messages:
    129
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2012 Spruce Mica DC SR5 TRD Offroad
    You shouldn't have alot of air coming from the oil fill tube. You might have a broke ring on the piston... Have you done a compression check? Reason I know this is my sts turbo camaro was doing the same thing and wouldn't idle.
     
  17. Apr 10, 2013 at 5:49 AM
    #37
    sbarn5390

    sbarn5390 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Member:
    #85216
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Sylva,NC
    Vehicle:
    86 4runner
    Ok I'll give it another check today between work, class, and daughter being sick this week has stacked itself up pretty good. I will see if I can't find someone to run a compression test for me.
     
  18. Apr 10, 2013 at 2:25 PM
    #38
    2012tacolover

    2012tacolover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Member:
    #93607
    Messages:
    1,921
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Norm
    CA/AL
    Vehicle:
    White PreRunner TRD Sport DCSB
    Tinted Windows, Black Nerf Bars, LED Dome & Map Lights, Snugtop Xtra-Vision, WeatherTech Digitalfit front and rear, trimmed Front Mud Flaps, BFG A/T KO's, Matt123 White Skid, Devil Horn Emblem Wet Okole front and rear seat covers! Future Stuff: Lift and new Wheels! :)
    Best of luck in finding your problem! When I have more free time ill see what I can dig up. Saw something about a Idle Control Valve on a 4Runner having caused issues, if I find the link again ill post!
     
  19. Apr 11, 2013 at 6:17 PM
    #39
    sbarn5390

    sbarn5390 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Member:
    #85216
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Sylva,NC
    Vehicle:
    86 4runner
    No luck with anything I jumped the e1 and te1 and read the check engine code and it's reading 1. A/c switch 2. Throttle position sensor 3. Throttle position circuit 4. ECM

    I've never had a/c in this truck it has it but doesn't have a belt on the compressor so i've never hit the switch for it.
     
  20. Apr 13, 2013 at 1:18 PM
    #40
    sbarn5390

    sbarn5390 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Member:
    #85216
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Sylva,NC
    Vehicle:
    86 4runner
    Does anyone have any knowledge on how you check to see if the ECM has gone bad? I think its the TPS that's gone out but a friend of mime had his doubts but before I sank some money into a new ECM I just thought I would ask.
     
To Top