1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

1998 tacoma remote start need help

Discussion in 'Toyota Trucks & SUVs' started by CVLVNB, Dec 11, 2008.

  1. Dec 11, 2008 at 2:14 PM
    #1
    CVLVNB

    CVLVNB [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Member:
    #11480
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    hi i bought a remote start, hood up for my 1998 tacoma . i hook everything
    up except the purple wire ENGINE SENSING WIRE. i have no idea where that
    wire go. i got it start, engine running for a few second and it shut off and restart again, over and over.

    on the start relay with yellow wire hook up to the (black ) start wire . onthe sketch. do i have to hook up the the alternator. if yes which wire to
    the alternator please help

    SENS.PDF
     
  2. Dec 11, 2008 at 2:17 PM
    #2
    dually

    dually Low and slow

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8205
    Messages:
    3,127
    Gender:
    Male
    Interstate underpass
    Vehicle:
    05 Indigo 4wd Longbed
    Not as many as the 98..
    Thats wierd. Sorry im no help, but WTF is the engine sensing wire!!
     
  3. Dec 11, 2008 at 2:21 PM
    #3
    moserjjx

    moserjjx Tacoma Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Member:
    #10772
    Messages:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    Eau Claire, WI
    Vehicle:
    08 DC TRD 4x4
    Weathertech liners, bed mat, rear spring TSB, extra 12V outlets in center console, seat belt chime off
    sounds like the tach wire. the remote start needs a tach signal to know its running. some remote start units can be programmed for voltage sensing without needing a tach sensor wire. if yours can't do that, you'll have to hook the tach sensor wire up - usually under the hood. i dont know which wire that would be but i usually get that info from 12volt.com
     
  4. Dec 12, 2008 at 3:04 AM
    #4
    CVLVNB

    CVLVNB [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Member:
    #11480
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    how about the relay wire in sketch , yellow wire for the relay go to start
    wire and it also show connect to the alternator. do i have to hook that wire
    up. what the purpose for that wire hook up the the alternator . if yes please
    advise thanx you
     
  5. Dec 13, 2008 at 12:24 PM
    #5
    CVLVNB

    CVLVNB [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Member:
    #11480
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    need help please, i found the tachometer wire test it have 4 volt .
    bought a tach fr autozone hook it up and it good reading the rpm ok.
    however. when i hook the up the engines sensing ( on my fist post see sketch pdf). i stilll have same problem the engine is start after the running
    for 5 second it shut of and restart again please help.
     
To Top