1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2 amp sytem ?`s

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by 07speedwayblue, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. Mar 20, 2010 at 3:51 AM
    #1
    07speedwayblue

    07speedwayblue [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Member:
    #26595
    Messages:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    michael
    nineveh, Indiana
    Vehicle:
    07tacoma sport 4x4 doublecab
    Jason Rage lid, husky floorliners, Procomp 6" stage 1 lift , bilstein 5100 upfront, 33x12.50r17 MT ATZ tires MT 17x9 Classic Locks,stainless steel brake lines,N-Fab ss nerf bars,smittybuilt grille saver, Amp bed extender,Mbrp cool dual t409 exhaust. KCHiLites Daylighter Driving Lights 6", Pioneer AVH-P4300DVD, HD Tunner, Rear Camera, Focal K2 Power 6.5" Component Speakers Front/Back, Infinity Kappa Four and Kappa One Amps, Infinity Kappa 10" DVC Subs,PowerStop Drilled/Slotted Rotors ,PowerStop Heavy Duty Towing Brake Pads, Blue Painted calipers.
    I was looking at running a 2 amp set up , 1st amp Alpine pdx-4.150 4 ga wire and and has 2-30 amp fuses and the second amp is an Alpine pdx-1.600 uses a 4 ga wire and has 4 20 amp fuse . So thats a total of 140 amps, how much can the stock charging sytem handle/provide ? If I were to use both of these amps wouldi/should I upgrade the altrnator? (SP) it`s early and I only slept 5 hours .
     
  2. Mar 20, 2010 at 3:56 AM
    #2
    AvsFanTRD

    AvsFanTRD Oh gravity, thou art a heartless bitch!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Member:
    #20761
    Messages:
    3,259
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2008 TRD Off Road Black
    rear suspension TSB, sockmonkey bed decals, weathertech floor liners, TRD seat covers, tailgate pop n lock, rear diff breather relocation, center console lock, Viper Alarm, extra D-rings in bed, 5100's on all 4 corners
    may want to consider adding a battery
     
  3. Mar 20, 2010 at 4:00 AM
    #3
    07speedwayblue

    07speedwayblue [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Member:
    #26595
    Messages:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    michael
    nineveh, Indiana
    Vehicle:
    07tacoma sport 4x4 doublecab
    Jason Rage lid, husky floorliners, Procomp 6" stage 1 lift , bilstein 5100 upfront, 33x12.50r17 MT ATZ tires MT 17x9 Classic Locks,stainless steel brake lines,N-Fab ss nerf bars,smittybuilt grille saver, Amp bed extender,Mbrp cool dual t409 exhaust. KCHiLites Daylighter Driving Lights 6", Pioneer AVH-P4300DVD, HD Tunner, Rear Camera, Focal K2 Power 6.5" Component Speakers Front/Back, Infinity Kappa Four and Kappa One Amps, Infinity Kappa 10" DVC Subs,PowerStop Drilled/Slotted Rotors ,PowerStop Heavy Duty Towing Brake Pads, Blue Painted calipers.
    Thanks!! I`m a diesel man my truck is an 02 f250 has dual batteries and dual alternators, so power isn`t a problem , these tacoma`s i don`t know much about!! Thanks for the battery tip!!
     
  4. Mar 20, 2010 at 2:22 PM
    #4
    polox40

    polox40 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Member:
    #6574
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    ONTARIO
    Vehicle:
    TRD SPORT 4X4
    TOYOTA ALUMINUM STEP BAR, 3M HOOD FILM, WEATHERTECH FLOOR MATS, 7" DD WITH BACKUP CAMERA, TRD SEAT COVERS
    from my research you add up the RMS outputs of you amps, multiply by 2 (safety thing i think) divide by 13.8V and thats max amps you will be drawing.

    most alternators have 40% overcapacity, in the Tacoma case, (with TRD) package the alternator output is 130 amps, so should have 52 amps to spare, but this is the upgraded amp, the regular amp is 90 amps, so using that 40% rule of thumb there should be 36 amps left, that also means that the truck should draw 54 amps , thus meaning there is actually 76 amps to spare with the upgraded alternator.

    Feel free to correct me if I am wrong , I just figured this out by doing searches and stuff and is in no way 100% but I used general rules of thumb that I found on the internet.
     
  5. Mar 20, 2010 at 2:48 PM
    #5
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    add a capacitor and you'll be fine.
     
  6. Mar 20, 2010 at 5:02 PM
    #6
    dreamnz

    dreamnz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Member:
    #15964
    Messages:
    150
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner
    Suspension: Camburg Spindles, Bilstein 5100s, Deaver Leafs, BFGs Audio: IDQ 10 in "Marv" box - Hybrid Audio L6 mid bass/ L4 mids / L1 ProSE tweets - RF Power / Arc Amps...BitOne.1 to control it all.
    The PDX amps are class D, so they're pretty efficient. You should be fine with either alternator. I've never heard of anyone having issues with these trucks.

    I checked the p/n on the alternator in my truck to make sure it was the 130 amp. I'm running 3 amps (class A/B @~800, class D @~800, class H @~500 ) for around ~2100 total watts now and I have no problems at all.

    I'm sure the battery life will be shortened, but no biggie. :rolleyes:
     
  7. Mar 20, 2010 at 9:09 PM
    #7
    DaytonLax14

    DaytonLax14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Member:
    #25531
    Messages:
    502
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    98 extended cab TRD Off Road
    capacitors are worthless in car audio
     
  8. Mar 21, 2010 at 11:45 AM
    #8
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    2,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    You don't need to upgrade the stock alternator. If you want you can do the Big 3:

    Definition: the "Big Three" upgrade means improving the current capacity of three cables: 1) alternator positive to battery positive, 2) battery negative to chassis, and 3) engine ground to chassis.
     
  9. Mar 21, 2010 at 2:29 PM
    #9
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    You are 100% wrong.
     
  10. Mar 21, 2010 at 2:47 PM
    #10
    DaytonLax14

    DaytonLax14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Member:
    #25531
    Messages:
    502
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    98 extended cab TRD Off Road
    haha you're kidding right?
     
  11. Mar 21, 2010 at 2:58 PM
    #11
    Crownedcustoms

    Crownedcustoms Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Member:
    #32385
    Messages:
    178
    Gender:
    Male
    Gilbert
    Vehicle:
    07 dc 4x4 fox coilovers 20's & toyo mudders
    Fox coil-overs, Fox shocks, 20" Helo wheels, blowthough, Jl and focal system, Grillcraft grill, Toyo Mud terrains
    I've got Four amps in my tacoma with a stock alternator and a Kinetik 2400 under the hood. Just get a good battery and you'll be fine.
     
  12. Mar 22, 2010 at 8:26 AM
    #12
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    absolutely not. do you have any reason behind that or is it just something you "think"?
     
  13. Mar 22, 2010 at 11:41 AM
    #13
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    2,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    I have a Optima Red Top and 1.0 Farad cap and it still dims my light. ;)
     
  14. Mar 22, 2010 at 11:59 AM
    #14
    eskamo23

    eskamo23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Member:
    #24463
    Messages:
    389
    Gender:
    Male
    Pasadena, CA
    Vehicle:
    trd sport
    TRD cai with (AFE dry flow filter), de-flapped, tint, weathertech floor liners,coverking neoprene seat covers, rear TSB, Billy 5100's set at 1.75'', Pro Comp 7005's 17x8 BS4.5, any time fogs, tailgate theft mod, led lights in the int., slim cubby HID headlights and fogs, TRD skid plate, bed mat
    You will be fine running the 2 amps without doing any other upgrades. I've done several big stereo systems and never had to upgrade alternators or add batteries or install a cap. for only two amps.
     
  15. Mar 22, 2010 at 12:02 PM
    #15
    thegreatsam

    thegreatsam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Member:
    #32996
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sam
    Vancouver, WA
    Vehicle:
    06 Double Cab TRD Off-Road
  16. Mar 22, 2010 at 12:02 PM
    #16
    Burgman

    Burgman I KEEEEEL YOU

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Member:
    #16072
    Messages:
    26,682
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Stephen
    Ric VA
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner TRD sport Silver
    K&N intake, Boston Acoustic SL 60 6.5 components up front, Rockford Power T16 6.5 in rear, Pioneer P4100 HU, Soon to be Pioneer Prs 4200f
    my lights dim with an 800watt and a 500watt, have the 130 amp alt also
     
  17. Mar 22, 2010 at 3:20 PM
    #17
    DaytonLax14

    DaytonLax14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Member:
    #25531
    Messages:
    502
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    98 extended cab TRD Off Road
  18. Mar 22, 2010 at 5:37 PM
    #18
    07speedwayblue

    07speedwayblue [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Member:
    #26595
    Messages:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    michael
    nineveh, Indiana
    Vehicle:
    07tacoma sport 4x4 doublecab
    Jason Rage lid, husky floorliners, Procomp 6" stage 1 lift , bilstein 5100 upfront, 33x12.50r17 MT ATZ tires MT 17x9 Classic Locks,stainless steel brake lines,N-Fab ss nerf bars,smittybuilt grille saver, Amp bed extender,Mbrp cool dual t409 exhaust. KCHiLites Daylighter Driving Lights 6", Pioneer AVH-P4300DVD, HD Tunner, Rear Camera, Focal K2 Power 6.5" Component Speakers Front/Back, Infinity Kappa Four and Kappa One Amps, Infinity Kappa 10" DVC Subs,PowerStop Drilled/Slotted Rotors ,PowerStop Heavy Duty Towing Brake Pads, Blue Painted calipers.
    Thanks for all the great input!!!!!!!!!! I have the sport trd model with the tow package , so I should have the 130 amp alternator. Again, thanks for the reply`s!! I love this site , you all give out alot of great info and help!! Hats off to you all!!!!! :thumbsup:
     
  19. Mar 23, 2010 at 12:01 PM
    #19
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter

    Nah young one, the reason I think they work is because I have been installing 12 volt systems for almost as long as you have been alive and I have owned my own car audio company for the past 4 years. I have had PLENTY of customers that have had problems with current draw on their vehicles and have GREATLY reduced the draw by wiring a cap in line....or maybe it's just because everyone with "dem crazy sick systemzz haz them":rolleyes:

    I'll go ahead and trust my DMM, but thanks for posting the article....
     
  20. Mar 23, 2010 at 12:10 PM
    #20
    Daudio

    Daudio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Member:
    #32940
    Messages:
    400
    Gender:
    Male
    North Jersey
    Vehicle:
    '02 SR5
    avic-d1 sirius tuner Ipod adapter
    ^^^ Oh, also forgot to mention that I'm a first class MECP (mobile electronic certified professional) but you're probably right...
     
To Top