1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2008 Tacoma Questions

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by mdiehl, Feb 26, 2009.

1. Feb 26, 2009 at 5:43 AM
    mdiehl

mdiehl [OP] Member

Member:
    NE California
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma 4x4
    helper springs
    Newbie here. I have some questions about my 2008 Tacoma 4x4 regular cab, 5spd manual:

The plastic/rubber black boot around the shifter is hokie. Keeps jumping out of the tabs on the plastic console, with help from my dog. Has anyone come up with a better idea..maybe like a little storage bin on the bottom (inside the console) or some type of cover for the shifter hole in the console?

I removed the rear view mirror for better visibility. How do your remove the plastic/stud that is attached to the windshield. Also, there is a decorative cross-hatch pattern at the top of the windshield on the inside. I assume this is not an antenna, as I have the regular stick type on the fender. How do you remove this?

The mudflaps look really cool, but they seem way too long to be practical for any serious offroading. Are there after-market ones that are shorter?

All in all, I really like this truck. It is my third Toyota pickup, the others being 2wd. (an ancient '72 Hilux-long deceased- and a '89 with 240K on it-still running)

2. Feb 26, 2009 at 6:38 AM
    Brunes

Brunes abides.

Member:
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black