1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2009 TPMS ?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Rodallg, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. Oct 10, 2010 at 9:36 AM
    #1
    Rodallg

    Rodallg [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Member:
    #35256
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    CA
    Looking at buying a 2009 and was wondering if it has TPMS would the display be seen by pressing the ODO button?
    Thanks
     
  2. Oct 10, 2010 at 9:43 AM
    #2
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    there is no display for the TPMS. all 09s have TPMS in the 4 main tires from the factory. if you want to see if it has the sensors, check to see that all 4 tires have a silver metal valve stem.
     
  3. Oct 10, 2010 at 9:46 AM
    #3
    Rodallg

    Rodallg [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Member:
    #35256
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    CA
    Thank you, so if it has them and a tire goes low I would assume a dash light would come on then?
     
  4. Oct 10, 2010 at 9:47 AM
    #4
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    yes...you would get a yellow light on the dash that looks like this....

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:06 AM
    #5
    tegdog

    tegdog Taco Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Member:
    #15262
    Messages:
    772
    Gender:
    Male
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma Dbl TRD Sport
    ventvisors,seatcovers, bug shield,TRD CAI,TRD CAT BACK,blacked out emblems,bed extender, TSB leaf pack,Pro Dry filter, Grill craft upper, lower, & triangles, Hella 500 Black magics
    So the spare doesn't have the sensor? My light came on a cold morning mid 40's I checked all four 29PSI I figured it was the spare was off the next day.
     
  6. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:07 AM
    #6
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    09 was the first year they stopped the sensor in the spare.
     
  7. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:13 AM
    #7
    mlbdriver

    mlbdriver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Member:
    #12170
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    #oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 Black Tacoma TRD Sport
    I have aftermarket rims and tires. I didnt put the tpms in them, how do I clear the light?
     
  8. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:21 AM
    #8
    ppham444

    ppham444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34175
    Messages:
    1,709
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phuong
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 Double cab 4X4 TRD Sport with JBL
    Redline Tuning hood struts, tinted windows, FX-R HID projector retrofit headlights, AMP power steps
    You can't, just have to learn to ignore it or put a place a tape over the light.
     
  9. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:24 AM
    #9
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    4,272
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    2012 F150
    A piece of black electrical tape and some scissors.

    29 psi may have been too low. As the tires warm up the pressure will increase which would explain the light going out.
     
  10. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:25 AM
    #10
    toyotatacomaTRD

    toyotatacomaTRD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Member:
    #43379
    Messages:
    1,204
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    2005 4x4 DC TRD Off Road
    11 Color Matched Grille, Pro comp 7089s, 265/70/17 Wrangler Duratracs, Black Running Boards, Tinted Windows, Bed mat, Weathertech Floorliners
    Put a piece of electrician's tape over it:)

    I don't know if they have gotten better, but someone I work with has been dealing with that same issue on his Titan. He bought the TPMS sensors for his after-market rims, but he still constantly battles the light. Sounds like more of a hassle than anything.

    I am glad my truck doesn't have them...
     
  11. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:27 AM
    #11
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    29 PSI is the recommended pressure by the sticker on the stock tires/wheels for the Sport
     
  12. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:28 AM
    #12
    J Mill

    J Mill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Member:
    #43840
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Racine, Wi
    Vehicle:
    2011 SR5 DC LB
    I know you can change the TPMS settings by pressing and holding the button. Can you do the same thing with no sensors or just have them in the glove box?
     
  13. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:32 AM
    #13
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    IIRC, the button simply resets the sensors to the pressure that is in the tires. throwing them in the glove box wont do anything b/c they need the valid pressure to make the light go off. some people have built a PVC tube (looks like a pipe bomb) w/ a valve stem sealed to one end, throwing them in, and pressurizing the tube. this will make the light go off. or others have mentioned sticking them in a wheelbarrow tire and essentially does the same thing
     
  14. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:40 AM
    #14
    Jerry299

    Jerry299 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Member:
    #42341
    Messages:
    264
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Santa Barbara
    Vehicle:
    4X4 2nd Gen

    This is true, but someone could have reset the thresholds. thats what pushing the button does. if someone pushed the button with the tire inflated at 36 or higher, 29 would be enough to turn the light on.
     
  15. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:41 AM
    #15
    Jerry299

    Jerry299 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Member:
    #42341
    Messages:
    264
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Santa Barbara
    Vehicle:
    4X4 2nd Gen
    hahahaha i would just deal with light being on but this sounds funny as hell.
     
  16. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:42 AM
    #16
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    my light has been on since the day i bought it and swapped wheels/tires off the 07. no biggie here
     
  17. Oct 10, 2010 at 10:44 AM
    #17
    Jerry299

    Jerry299 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Member:
    #42341
    Messages:
    264
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Santa Barbara
    Vehicle:
    4X4 2nd Gen
    yee thats how ide think of it if i had the money for wheels lol
     
  18. Oct 10, 2010 at 11:54 AM
    #18
    tegdog

    tegdog Taco Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Member:
    #15262
    Messages:
    772
    Gender:
    Male
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma Dbl TRD Sport
    ventvisors,seatcovers, bug shield,TRD CAI,TRD CAT BACK,blacked out emblems,bed extender, TSB leaf pack,Pro Dry filter, Grill craft upper, lower, & triangles, Hella 500 Black magics
    That would make sense except I drove it for 10 miles & it didn't go off & 29PSI is the correct pressure for the tires per sticker on door. The next day the light was off with the tires cold.
     
  19. Oct 18, 2010 at 4:50 PM
    #19
    k9cop116

    k9cop116 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42661
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Southeast Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 PreRunner DC...Black
    Painted Factory Alloys, 265 Terragrapplers, Whelen LED's in the foglight hole
    I went the "pressure tube" route....used 3" SCH40 pvc....and I have less than $10.00 invested. I put 3 of the TPMS thingys inside the tube (used some bubble-wrap to keep them from banging around) and I installed the 4th TPMS through one of the end cap. I waited 24hrs before giving the tube a couple of quick puffs of air from my compressor.....works great, and I keep it stored in the cubby behind the back seat. 2 Months now and I havent had to add any more air.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Oct 18, 2010 at 7:24 PM
    #20
    supralight

    supralight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21479
    Messages:
    674
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Earth
    Vehicle:
    2013 4Runner limited
    I did the same as K9 above. Used 3" PVC (in which the sensors fit exactly), 2 PVC caps and PVC glue which all can be found at hardware stores.

    I have put some paper between the sensors for a cushion, since those sensors are fragile to impact.

    I have used a normal valve on one of the PVC cap, you just have to drill a hole correct size, then insert the valve with some glue (so you will be sure to have a tight seal).

    Wait a few hours for the glue to fit.

    Use a compressor with a pressure needle, or if you have a home compressor, turn it on untill there are 35 PSI in the compressor, then turn it off, and fill the pipe with that pressure. It fills up quickly so carefull not to make it explose, so don't fill it with your home compressor at 150 psi loaded!
     
To Top