1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2011 Tacoma with Factory JBL AMP Wiring Questions

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Wizzard005, Nov 13, 2011.

  1. Nov 13, 2011 at 5:17 AM
    #1
    Wizzard005

    Wizzard005 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Member:
    #62412
    Messages:
    587
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Sacramento, CA
    Stock
    Aloha all,

    First off yes i searched! . Here is the question, I found this on crutchfield:

    [​IMG]
    FUNCTION PIN WIRE COLOR Mute 21 VT Left - Input 22 GN Left + Input 23 RD Right - Input 24 WT Right + Input 25 BK Audio Signal Shield 26 BARE Data Line 27 RD/WT Data Line 28 OG Accessory 12 Volt 32 GY

    [​IMG]
    FUNCTION PIN WIRE COLOR Constant 12 Volt 1 WT/BU Subwoofer Coil 1 + 2 BN Subwoofer Coil 2 + 3 BU/BK Left Rear Spkr + 4 BK Right Rear Spkr + 5 RD Left Front Spkrs + 6 PK* Right Front Spkrs + 7 L.GN* Constant 12 Volt 10 WT/BU Subwoofer Coil 1 - 11 GN/WT Subwoofer Coil 2 - 12 BU/RD Left Rear Spkr - 13 YW Right Rear Spkr - 14 WT Chassis Ground 15 BN Chassis Ground 16 BN Left Front Spkrs - 17 VT* Right Front Spkrs - 18 BU*

    If i am reading this correct, the small connectors have the output the the speakers and the larger connecter has the inputs from the radio?

    This may be my blond moment, but wouldn't the thicker wires be for the AMP sig to the speakers? and the smaller is for inputs?

    I also see on pin 1 is the power, but why such a small wire, unless the wires are not small and its just the pictures....

    I still don't have my 2012 yet, I can only assume its the same as 2010 , 2011 etc...

    I ordered all my audio gear, i really want to tag the wires at the amp so i don't have to tag them at the door jams..

    Will be installing this:

    [​IMG]

    Just want to make sure i tag the wires correctly...

    Any input would be great!
     
  2. Nov 17, 2017 at 6:40 PM
    #2
    Raysan210

    Raysan210 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Member:
    #215840
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vehicle:
    2010 grey Tacoma TRD
    Were you able to get this wired up? Curious cause I'm trying to do something similar
     
  3. Nov 20, 2017 at 5:33 AM
    #3
    bear263

    bear263 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87716
    Messages:
    505
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2013 PreRunner TRD SP
    LED interior lights. Steering wheel mod. New radio. Amp, speakers and sub woofer.
    I have done this in my '13 jbl. You have to keep the jbl amp. What you do is tap into the out wires of the jbl amp to your new amp.
     
  4. Nov 20, 2017 at 7:54 AM
    #4
    Raysan210

    Raysan210 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Member:
    #215840
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vehicle:
    2010 grey Tacoma TRD
    So you're basically daisy chaining the amps?
     
  5. Nov 20, 2017 at 2:50 PM
    #5
    bear263

    bear263 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87716
    Messages:
    505
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2013 PreRunner TRD SP
    LED interior lights. Steering wheel mod. New radio. Amp, speakers and sub woofer.
    Yes
     
  6. Dec 10, 2017 at 9:45 AM
    #6
    Friedtacolover

    Friedtacolover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Member:
    #137481
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Travis
    Ontario, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB Off Road 4x4
    my build tread: https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/wife-hates-my-addiction-build.513084/
    Adding aftermarket sub and amp to factory jbl system


    For anyone coming across this tread. You do not need to remove head unit at all to add a amp/sub to factory jbl setup. Infact, i feel its easier than the non jbl setup to do. Simply use the wires coming out of the factory amp going to factory subwoofer and either add those to an line out converter or to the high level inputs on the new amp. Then you just have to wire the new 2nd amp with a hot, ground, remote wire. Some amps even dont need a remote wire anymore if you use the high level inputs instead of an external line output converter. I did this on my 15’ with zero issues and added an amp and 10” subwoofer. Even mounted the factory jbl amp and new amp side by side and it looked great. Sorry no pics. Did not remove anything in dash for this.

    Now i have a 17’ non jbl and going through the mess of creating a metra wiring harness etc to adapt an amp
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2017

Products Discussed in

To Top