1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2014 Needs Entune Firmware Update

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by chubrok, Aug 18, 2016.

  1. Aug 18, 2016 at 12:52 PM
    #1
    chubrok

    chubrok [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Member:
    #128799
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Yorkville, Illinois
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport W/ Nav
    Hello all... I like many other people on here am having trouble with the entune + NAV system in my 2014 Tacoma. It will freeze up at random times... sometimes it would do it 3 times in 1 hour... then sometimes it won't do it for 4 days... Its 100% random... I contacted the dealer about it and they told me that it most likely needs a firmware update. To bring it in and they will update the firmware for it. I explained that I have 48000 miles on it and am out of warranty... they then told me that it would cost between $65-$120. I can't afford to dump cash to have a "mechanic" place a usb stick in the truck and hit go. Especially not having a guarantee that it will fix the problem. Does anyone on here have the firmware that they would be willing to share? I really appreciate your help...
     
  2. Aug 18, 2016 at 12:57 PM
    #2
    Jester243

    Jester243 rabble rabble rabble

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7552
    Messages:
    10,300
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Trail Premium 4Runner w/ KDSS
    what version do you have now?
     
  3. Aug 18, 2016 at 1:00 PM
    #3
    chubrok

    chubrok [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Member:
    #128799
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Yorkville, Illinois
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport W/ Nav
    This is the only thing I can find...

    IMG_7448.jpg
     
  4. Aug 18, 2016 at 4:35 PM
    #4
    mshultz

    mshultz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Member:
    #120939
    Messages:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Wooster, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    Barcelona Red
    My 2015 Nav Entune has
    Audio: 0101D1 5/7/16
    Audio System: 000084
    DSP Module: 820010

    It was updated before I bought it, and has been working flawlessly.
     
  5. Aug 20, 2016 at 5:59 AM
    #5
    starforsaken

    starforsaken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Member:
    #162450
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Star
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 MGM DCSB OR
    You can update the software by downloading the Entune app to your phone and pairing it with the head unit. You will get a pop-up notice saying if there is an update available that you can install via the phone. I don't know if the firmware is included in the update, but it won't cost you anything but a few minutes to find out.
     
  6. Aug 20, 2016 at 8:39 PM
    #6
    tomminator855

    tomminator855 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Member:
    #107346
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Midland , TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB 4x4 TRD Sport
    EDDO likes this.
  7. Aug 20, 2016 at 9:19 PM
    #7
    jokker1978

    jokker1978 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Member:
    #78870
    Messages:
    490
    Gender:
    Male
    southeast texas
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD sport 4dr 4x4 white
    I called Entune about my 2012 , they sent me an email with the file. And the directions. I put it on a thumb drive. It was easy.
     
  8. Aug 20, 2016 at 9:35 PM
    #8
    Tdkrum5

    Tdkrum5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Member:
    #135966
    Messages:
    355
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ted
    Oly, Wa/Sun City West AZ.
    Vehicle:
    14 DCSB TRD OR 4x4
    Icon Stage 5, 265/75/16 BFG All Terrain KO2, Fuel wheels, KMFB sliders, Baja Design Squadron Sport WC
    Keep us posted if this all works.
     
  9. Aug 22, 2016 at 1:07 PM
    #9
    chubrok

    chubrok [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Member:
    #128799
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Yorkville, Illinois
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport W/ Nav
    I tried calling Entune... They said that they don't do that anymore.. They referred me to Toyota....

    App is up to date... that updates the software.. I believe its the firmware that is the problem... Hard to tell what firmware I am on and what is the current firmware.
    This appears to be for previous versions of the stereo... I have formatted the usb stick named it 14A as others have suggested..put this on it and inserted in the stereo... Nothing... as if no usb stick was inserted... maybe I did something wrong... frustrating!!!
     
  10. Aug 22, 2016 at 2:12 PM
    #10
    EDDO

    EDDO                     

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Member:
    #125165
    Messages:
    3,487
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    13 DC TRD OR MG
                                                                                        CBI Moab 2.0 front bumper CBI Trail Rider 2.0 rear bumper B.A.M.F. sliders All-Pro IFS, transmission and transfer case skids Exhaust crossover relocate Warn M-8000s winch NorthStar AGM 27F battery, BamaToy1997 Stage 1 Wiring Icon 2.5 front and rear Camburg balljoint UCAs Welded stock alignment tabs Dakar Leaf Springs and 14" x 700 lb. coils Wheeler's SuperBumps (front) Icon Hydro Bumps with U-bolt flip Relentless Fab tailgate plate Total Chaos Bed Stiffeners 265/75R16 BFG T/A KO2 on black TRD faux beadlocks PTR18-35090 Custom Double Cardan Driveshaft from South Bay Driveline 2.5" dia .134" wall front, 3.0" dia .125" wall rear. Spicer 1310 joints, Spicer CB
  11. Aug 22, 2016 at 5:49 PM
    #11
    UBYBC

    UBYBC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Member:
    #161622
    Messages:
    400
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tacoma TRD OR
    Updating via phone only works in App suite capable units. Its misleading.
    Non app suites units have to be done at the dealer or with a USB drive.
     
    BrokenMech and Naveronski like this.
  12. Aug 24, 2016 at 9:15 AM
    #12
    chubrok

    chubrok [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Member:
    #128799
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Yorkville, Illinois
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport W/ Nav
    No luck... I insert the usb stick into the port as directed.. and nothing... no prompt... Stick is properly formatted because I can see it listed under devices... but cannot seem to access the files on it... I go to software update screen and I only get the pic I posted previously.. I was hoping that there was a mechanic on here that had the update they can fwd.... frustrating to have to pay another $60-120 for a "firmware" issue..
     
  13. Aug 24, 2016 at 9:26 AM
    #13
    3slowto4woah

    3slowto4woah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Member:
    #193766
    Messages:
    262
    Gender:
    Male
    Lake Tahoe
    Vehicle:
    2015 Super White Tacoma DCSB TRD Sport
    Icon Stage 4 + Dakars
    Did you try another thumb drive?

    Are you absolutely positive the thumb drive has only ONE partition?
     
  14. Aug 24, 2016 at 9:33 AM
    #14
    chubrok

    chubrok [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Member:
    #128799
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Yorkville, Illinois
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport W/ Nav

    Yes.. tried several thumb drives... from 2GB ... 4GB ... 8GB... formatted fat32 via mac.. and fat32 via pc w/ windows 10... when formatted with mac... the stereo didn't even recognize it under devices... Formatted via windows 10... the stereo at least sees it as a device... but file is not accessible...

    '14 Tacoma TRD Sport..
    Entune plus Nav
    out of warranty... 49,000 miles
    Dealer wants to charge $60-120 for update... seems crazy to me.
     
  15. Aug 24, 2016 at 9:53 AM
    #15
    buzzkill911

    buzzkill911 Desk pilot

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Member:
    #158053
    Messages:
    242
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Buzz
    Middle West, USA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Blue DCLB 4x4 V6
    Stay tuned...
    That is crazy. I'd put that money toward an aftermarket headunit because you can't be sure that this update will keep it working well into the future. Replace it and be done with it. Just my $.02, good luck!
     
  16. Aug 24, 2016 at 10:36 AM
    #16
    chubrok

    chubrok [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Member:
    #128799
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Yorkville, Illinois
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport W/ Nav
    This has crossed my mind much as of late... Money is tight... so I was hoping to fix what I've got for as cheap as possible... Shouldn't have to fix at all.. should just work for what I paid for this truck...
     
  17. Aug 24, 2016 at 11:34 AM
    #17
    buzzkill911

    buzzkill911 Desk pilot

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Member:
    #158053
    Messages:
    242
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Buzz
    Middle West, USA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Blue DCLB 4x4 V6
    Stay tuned...
    I totally agree. I don't have any Entune problems yet but planning for the worst with my warranty quickly coming to an end too.

    Obviously by the posts above you've tried many things and have a good grasp of what people are suggesting to you. So I can't think of anything to add other than trying to simply disconnect the negative terminal on the battery of the truck for about a half hour. My Entune has acted up here and there with powering it off working for me every time. However, it doesn't seem to me that powering it off is really resetting or rebooting anything so just to exhaust all 'free' options I'd try disconnecting the battery for a while. Seems that's an easy way to chase some electrical gremlins on modern vehicles.

    Sorry I can't help more and good luck!
     
  18. Aug 24, 2016 at 3:14 PM
    #18
    whiting1977

    whiting1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Member:
    #127682
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 PreRunner
    My 2014 Entune was running version 0101A5 same as yours and was having similar issues so I took it to the dealer back in May. They upgraded it to version 0101D1 and all issues are gone. My truck is still under warranty so they didn't even mention trying to charge me but my understand is that all firmware upgrades are free regardless of warranty-The map upgrade on the other had they charge for.
     
  19. Aug 24, 2016 at 3:32 PM
    #19
    Ridgeline001

    Ridgeline001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Member:
    #160587
    Messages:
    601
    Gender:
    Male
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB Sport 4wd
    I'm on my second unit in mine, and still have the lock up issue and the weather app takes over the screen randomly. They updated it at the dealership last week, and have another appointment tomorrow because the update did not help. If they figure it out then I'll update you guys with what was done.
     
  20. Aug 24, 2016 at 7:43 PM
    #20
    UBYBC

    UBYBC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Member:
    #161622
    Messages:
    400
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tacoma TRD OR
    My dealer in Houston did an update for free. I am still under warranty though.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top