1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2020 add amp AND powered sub

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by StraightHardCore, Dec 15, 2021.

  1. Dec 15, 2021 at 5:38 AM
    #1
    StraightHardCore

    StraightHardCore [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2020
    Member:
    #346453
    Messages:
    24
    Down in da southeast
    been reading alot about this and getting a headache. first time doing audio work want to add a sub and amp to the truck. looking at 4ch amp and a powered sub to save some change. A little confused here since im bassically adding 2 amps. the amp i want has hi inputs so i dont think i need a loc for the amp but it doesnt have RCA outs so would i need to run a loc irregardless? or get a amp with hi inputs and RCA outs?

    I dont think the Amazon harness would work since its just for subs?? Gonna have to get the expensive ttunes harness, cut it then run stock hu to the male tt harness connect that to the loc then split the RCAs so i can connect to the amp and powered sub?? Then run the female side of the tt harness back to the stock speaker connector?
     
  2. Dec 15, 2021 at 7:12 AM
    #2
    ZMan2k2

    ZMan2k2 “Hold my beer and watch this!”

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Member:
    #62491
    Messages:
    1,261
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Calgary, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 Rad Red DCLB SR5
    -Amplifiers don’t have RCA outputs, just speaker level outs - to go to the speakers.
    -TTunes has an add-an-amp harness, that’s all you need.
    -A 4channel amp can usually be used in a 3 channel configuration, 2 for the front speakers, 2, bridged, for the sub. To simplify, if you’re just planning to add a sub, a 2 channel or a mini amp will work.
     
  3. Dec 15, 2021 at 7:23 AM
    #3
    StraightHardCore

    StraightHardCore [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2020
    Member:
    #346453
    Messages:
    24
    Down in da southeast
    thanks but i want to run the amp to all four door speakers. thats why im looking at a 4 ch amp and a powered sub. a 5ch amp could work too i guess but might be to spendy for me.
    would using these https://www.amazon.com/Speaker-Spli...=&hvlocphy=9007915&hvtargid=pla-1327511997791 work?? send one set to the 4ch amp and the other set to the powered sub?
     
  4. Dec 15, 2021 at 7:40 AM
    #4
    ZMan2k2

    ZMan2k2 “Hold my beer and watch this!”

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Member:
    #62491
    Messages:
    1,261
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Calgary, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 Rad Red DCLB SR5
    You said you were hoping to use speaker level inputs, yes? If so, no those won’t work. To use RCAs to the amp you would need either a new headunit or an LOC. Either one would provide you with the RCA outputs you need. If using the factory deck, it’s been recommended to use the JL FiX by a few members, for its ability to reclaim the rolled off low end the factory dec is famous for.
     
  5. Dec 15, 2021 at 7:51 AM
    #5
    StraightHardCore

    StraightHardCore [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2020
    Member:
    #346453
    Messages:
    24
    Down in da southeast
    thanks for helping. i really appreciate it!! so ill get a loc. set up would be connect male tt connector to hu then other end of male tt wires to loc then loc to RCA splitter and connect RCAs to both amps. then run female TT connector to factory speakers

    dont think ill be able to swing the jl fix but thanks for the recommendation
     
  6. Dec 15, 2021 at 8:09 AM
    #6
    ZMan2k2

    ZMan2k2 “Hold my beer and watch this!”

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Member:
    #62491
    Messages:
    1,261
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Calgary, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 Rad Red DCLB SR5
    If you want to amplify the 4 door speakers, you’ll have to get aftermarket speakers too. The factory speakers won’t be able to handle 50w or more from an amp. They’re designed to get 5-10w from the factory deck.

    As for connections, sounds like you have it. Another option would be AudioControl amps. They have an LOC in them, so two for one.
     
  7. Dec 16, 2021 at 3:20 AM
    #7
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    1,187
    Gender:
    Male
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    Highly recommended the JL FiX because it not only solves all of your problems, but there is also a vast improvement to audio quality. You get 10 band output EQ for each channel as well.

    I know it’s not cheap, I know you’re on a budget. I’m just telling you that in terms of improvement, it’s the most important thing you can add to the Toyota factory radio.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top