1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

3" lift questions!

Discussion in 'Suspension' started by DEFsTACO, Feb 5, 2009.

1. Feb 5, 2009 at 11:35 AM
    DEFsTACO

DEFsTACO [OP] New Member

Member:
    St. Louis
    Vehicle:
    '06 Dbl Cab 4x4 TRD Sport
    K&N 77 kit
    For starters I have read many threads on this forum and others regarding 3" lift ideas. I'm new to Truck suspensions and more specifically Toyotas. I understand suspension principles from installing and modifying mustang suspensions and some from Nitro burning R/C stadium trucks. So don't hold back on technical terms. I'm thinking of light duty (no bumper, brush gaurd or winch) OME springs and OME shocks with a Total Chaos upper control arm for the front. Is a differential drop kit necessary to prevent premature wear of ANY suspension components? The rear will receive either an AAL or a new leaf pack. Does the AAL significantly reduce ride quality? Also is a differential carrier bearing drop kit necessary to prevent vibration or premature wear? With the stock TRD suspension I already have bad wheel hop when things get slippery. Will the AALs and carrier bearing drop kit help correct this or make it worse? Finally what are axle shims used to correct.

2. Feb 5, 2009 at 11:40 AM
    chris4x4

chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

Member:
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2019 Rubicon 4 Door,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Welcome to Tacoma World!
    Looks like you have thought this out very well. The OME and TC combo are GREAT!