1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

3rd Gen with JBL - Full system upgrade questions

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by PalmTrixx, May 1, 2022.

  1. May 1, 2022 at 7:17 AM
    #1
    PalmTrixx

    PalmTrixx [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2022
    Member:
    #396232
    Messages:
    4
    Vehicle:
    2022 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Hey all, I recently got myself a 2022 TRD Offroad (double cab) that came with the JBL Premium stereo. I'm planning on going all out and doing a full upgrade with new speakers, new subs, powered by new amps. I've been looking into integrating with the stock head unit and have a few questions to fully understand my options.

    What I've read on here is that the JBL stock head unit and amp are well intertwined (the amp may even be powering the head unit?), so it is difficult to replace one or the other while maintaining the factory head unit features. The PAC AmpPro and DSR1 seem to be the solution to this problem, but I want to make sure I fully understand the implications before I decide if I also want to replace the head unit or not. I've also read here that the factory outputs from the head unit are filtered and trash, which require summing to get a full signal. Maybe it's better to just get a new head unit, rather than depend on one of these harnesses to get a full, clean signal? I will have an AudioControl DSP amp for the door speakers anyway to tune the signal.

    Note: I plan to run new speaker wire for all of the door speakers, so I believe don't need to hook into factory wiring


    Here are the options as I understand them today:

    Option 1: PAC AmpPro AP4-TY13

    This harness hooks into the factory head unit, adding line outputs from the existing factory signal, but requires the factory amp to remain installed. Keeps all factory stereo features. I don't like this option because of space requirements; I want to completely remove the JBL amp+sub so I can fit all of my other equipment.


    Option 2: Rockford Fosgate DSR1

    Apparently this would allow me to completely remove the JBL amp, and hook into that factory wiring to get my pre-amp outs. I don't really understand how this would work if the factory amp is powering the factory head unit. Crutchfield says it's incompatible and points me back to the AmpPro. Can anyone clear up how the DSR1 would (or wouldn't) interact with the stock head unit?


    Option 3: Replace head unit

    This is seeming like the most realistic option if I want to get the JBL amp/sub out of my truck completely. And if I plan on running new speaker cable anyway, I'm not gaining all that much from using a harness with the factory wiring. Plus if I get a Maestro RR I can keep most factory features (minus navigation which I don't care about). I was kind of being hopeful that I could keep the head unit and that would be one less thing to install, but after reading many threads here it seems like the head unit is just garbage for audio and should be replaced.


    tl;dr: Can someone explain how the DSR1 would work with the factory JBL head unit and without the factory JBL amp? Or, should I just forget about all this and replace the damn head unit


    Here's the full build I'm planning for those curious:

    Front speakers: Kicker 47KSS6904
    Rear speakers: Kicker 47KSS6504
    Speaker amp: AudioControl D-4.800

    Subwoofers: 2 x JL Audio 10TW3-D4
    Sub amp: JL Audio HD750/1

    The subs are going behind the backseats, and the amps are going under the backseats, leaving me little room to keep that factory amp around.

    If I do get a new head unit I'm looking at a Pioneer DMH-2660NEX

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. May 1, 2022 at 9:17 AM
    #2
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,600
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    So the JBL amp has an internal computer that decides a signal it gets from the head unit.

    the AmpPro is a replacement for that computer, and decodes the signal to give you flat pre-outs

    the dsr1 is the same thing, but also adds in a DSP.

    since you’re getting the AudioControl D series with the DSP, you want the AmpPro.

    I’m not sure the amps you selected will fit under the back seat, so make sure to double check all your measurements, and leave a few extra inches on the sides your wiring goes in.
     
    soundman98 likes this.
  3. May 1, 2022 at 10:47 AM
    #3
    PalmTrixx

    PalmTrixx [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2022
    Member:
    #396232
    Messages:
    4
    Vehicle:
    2022 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Thank you for the info. Can you confirm one thing though? The AmpPro instructions state that the JBL stock amp needs to stay in the car and connected for everything to work, however I'm trying to remove that amp completely. Looking at the AmpPro T-harnesses it looks like that's supposed to go in between where the amp cables plug into the stereo. If I only have one side of the T-harness connected (to the head unit), and the other side (to the amp) disconnected, will I still get a full signal and have a functional head unit?

    And for fitting the amps under the backseat, I plan to take out the plastic cubbies and make an amp rack, taking notes from this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlCJxVk-v3s
    Will definitely spend some time measuring twice to make sure it'll all fit
     
  4. May 1, 2022 at 11:09 AM
    #4
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,600
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    It looks like there is still plenty of room to put the factory amp. Just extend all the wires and call it a day.
     
  5. May 1, 2022 at 11:32 AM
    #5
    PalmTrixx

    PalmTrixx [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2022
    Member:
    #396232
    Messages:
    4
    Vehicle:
    2022 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Fair point, I'm sure I can find a spot for it. I was hopeful to remove that amp completely, but maybe it is just the best way to keep the factory head unit and features intact
     
  6. May 1, 2022 at 2:00 PM
    #6
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,600
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    It’s my understanding that the DSR1 can take the place of the factory amp so it can be removed, but I haven’t researched to verify this. You still have to use the dsr1 software to set everything completely
    flat, but then you can use your AudioControl DSP to do the real work
     
  7. May 1, 2022 at 2:13 PM
    #7
    TruckGuy63

    TruckGuy63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Member:
    #285930
    Messages:
    650
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gilbert
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2019 Barcelona Red Dbl Cab TRD Offroad
    Get a new head unit
    You’ll be glad you did
    In the end I went that way and no regrets at all
     
    soundman98 likes this.
  8. May 1, 2022 at 4:09 PM
    #8
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    3,600
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    They’re nice if you have the coin to spend on a good one and need the features. Don’t do it for sound quality
     
  9. May 1, 2022 at 4:16 PM
    #9
    PalmTrixx

    PalmTrixx [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2022
    Member:
    #396232
    Messages:
    4
    Vehicle:
    2022 Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Do you still have warning indicator sounds like if you leave the lights on or door open?
     
  10. May 1, 2022 at 4:37 PM
    #10
    soundman98

    soundman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2021
    Member:
    #367288
    Messages:
    3,360
    Gender:
    Male
    NW Indiana
    Vehicle:
    '18 Taco Sport, '14 Ranger
    yes, that's just a GM hackjob thing.

    only thing you lose changing the head unit is the oem programming menu and interfacing with the gauge display from the radio controls--like map directions. backup camera is dependent on which head unit you select.

    i added a 5v power adapter, and then changed the center mirror for one with a display in it-- installed a prs-80 that doesn't have a screen, but didn't want a big screen in my dash anyways. i outgrew that fad 10 years ago.
     
  11. May 3, 2022 at 5:51 AM
    #11
    Cedric781

    Cedric781 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2021
    Member:
    #377516
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Removed all jbl in my 21 pro

    3FF46A07-B568-47D0-95F3-B37BA660EDB2.jpg
    1E75B32E-C09C-42A0-989B-A093BB2AE9A1.jpg
     
  12. Jun 8, 2022 at 4:35 AM
    #12
    Scot-t7

    Scot-t7 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Member:
    #248998
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma
    So I just went down this road. The dsr1 isn’t compatible to I believe 20 and above jbl systems. I purchased it and called them and they haven’t developed the program to make it compatible. After selling it I went with the pac amp pro and installed the toslink to run to my processor. So far I have no regrets for going this route. Hope this helps.
     
  13. Jul 25, 2022 at 9:43 AM
    #13
    Miketacomatrdpro

    Miketacomatrdpro Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Member:
    #377055
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2021 White TRDPro
    Do you still have all the functionality of the cameras and all the other wizbang stuff? I want better sound and I have this JBL setup in my 21 pro. I dont want to loose the tech stuff but I am open to installing amps and speakers...
     
  14. Jul 25, 2022 at 10:06 AM
    #14
    TruckGuy63

    TruckGuy63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Member:
    #285930
    Messages:
    650
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gilbert
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2019 Barcelona Red Dbl Cab TRD Offroad
    You can keep all that stuff as long as you buy a radio with multiple inputs
     
    Miketacomatrdpro likes this.
  15. Aug 15, 2022 at 5:38 AM
    #15
    CMENTTACOKID

    CMENTTACOKID Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Member:
    #331625
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    18 Tacoma DCSB Off Road Cement Gray
    do you by chance still have the stock amp?
     
  16. Sep 3, 2022 at 5:57 PM
    #16
    kekiku11

    kekiku11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2022
    Member:
    #387523
    Messages:
    6
    Vehicle:
    2022 tacoma
    cedric781, did you have the jbl sub? i'm asking because i have the sub so i cannot install the stealthbox. did you buy a non-jbl plastic panel or did you cut the jbl plastic panel? here's what my plastic panel looks like.

     
  17. Oct 18, 2023 at 6:29 PM
    #17
    jiriza84641

    jiriza84641 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2023
    Member:
    #432376
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Inhabe the 23. I talked to a few people that say the pac amp pro works but the can bus wires need to be repined from the harness. That is the option ill be going. Waiting till CES is going and they should have an updated harness.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top